We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“third Visit - needs some changes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Niagara, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“third Visit - needs some changes”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

this was our third visit to this resort and the people who put together this group trip (of 17 adults and teens) have been here 7 years in a row. We always stay on the Sirenas side of the resort and the young people stay on the Coral side. I can't review the Coral side because I didn't go there at all during our stay.
The customer service staff are always fabulous and take care of us like we are royalty. This year they had us in the same rooms that we had last year and they were, as always, clean and functional. The staff are almost all very welcoming, friendly and efficient and I have never had to ask more than once for something to be corrected or fixed.
The only thing that I was unhappy with this year was the food in the buffet. Although there was lots of food, it seemed boring and repetitive this year. Also there is usually a good selection of cheeses but these were absent this year. I would hope that this changes for next year. I would recommend this hotel for people who have been to Cuba before and know what to expect from a 4 Star hotel in Cuba.

Room Tip: If you are an older person that is looking for a quieter vacation, I would suggest asking for rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panacea97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorRSSC, Gerente at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Mr panacea97

We heartly thank you for writing this nice review on our resort. It feels indeed very rewarding for us to acknowledge how guests are able to appreciate our efforts to achieve their full satisfaction. I understand there are certain issues concerning our food variety that require some improvement, so we are already working on them.
I hope future travellers will take into account this reliable source of information when choosing the right destination for their next vacation.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again in Sol Sirenas Coral so you can enjoy another lovely and relaxing stay among us.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    1,559
    1,099
    665
    568
See reviews for
1,314
1,810
236
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were at this resort for 2 nights total and then moved. We payed extra for "ocean view" but it was just a regular room on the 4th floor of the main building. One of the elevators was broken and the one that was working was pretty gross looking. The room had old, chipped and cracked tiles and no toilet seats or toilet paper in several of the hotel bathrooms. Duvets were old and definitely need to be replaced. The bar music can be heard loud and clear even with the doors closed (which makes it hard to put kids to sleep). NOT stroller friendly - there are 3 inch up and downs all over the place. Food was Ok, nothing to write about. Pools were shallow and the 'swim up bar' was shallow enough for our three year old to stand up - so not very deep at all. Beach was lovely - you do have to get your own chairs and set them up which left the beach a bit chaotic with beach chairs everywhere. The staff at the front desk were not very helpful when we asked to change sides as we were with a toddler. Instead we spoke with our vacations rep and changed resorts. It was like night and day when we changed. Difference was only $130 for all three of us to upgrade for 6 days. HIGHLY recommend Ocean El Patriarca in Varadero!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorRSSC, Gerente at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Mr Sjeynes

Thanks a lot for your valuable comments and feedback, we really appreciate it and on behalf of all of us I would like to thank you for your visit and we are really sorry we haven't fully meet your expectations.
In any case and once again I thank you for your visit and comments and we hope to have the opportinuty to welcome you back some time in the near future and being able to offer our best hospitality.

With our best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Wainfleet, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The title of ths review was the most used expression by staff at this resort....please dont give this resort a glowing review if you have never travelled or have never been to Cuba before and readers look at those glowing reviews with great care.
Because this was as I had read a large resort I decided to upgrade my daughter and I to the Cosmonautus a smaller more service friendly and private area:-) It was made to sound very good and it was for the most part.
I am not a new traveller to Cuba I have been there at different locales a total of five times so knew what to expect. This was far below the Cuban norm. The food at both buffets was terrible with the exception of the rice pudding and my daughter and I are not picky eaters.
So we took most of our meals at the Cosmonautus. At the Cosmonautus there is a revolving wait staff who did their best to accomadate..thank you, Alexis and Annalise and Hanoi and Tania. The cleaning and kitchen staff did a great job also thanks to all at the Cosmonautus.

Good points of this resort overall... the beach was excellent, the water shallow and no rocks great fun :-) Mother Nature did a good job here :-)
Entertainment was great the shows were wonderful the choreography would put some shows here to shame, they do alot to make it entertaining.

The bad points, I joked with my daughter about the fact that someone on the Coral side had quite a sense of humour with the amount of stairs around, two here, flat area, turn, three there it was like a stair maze, give people all you can drink and a stair maze :-):-)you get the picture:-) I am not a senior but this would be a nightmare for some and quite hazardous. Bring a flash light...areas of this resort are very dimly lit.
Staff....other than the staff at the Cosmonautus it seemed as if we were an inconvenience...not typical Cuban response. ..it is changing...not for the better..,when asking for something like fries it was a surly look and a maybe or a no like how dare we ask. Not cool!
Tips are expected I am of the mindset that a tip no matter where you are in the world is given for good service and not the norm. Cuba is no exception to that rule and you do them and other visitors a great disservice thinking otherwise.

There is so much more wrong with this resort, I dont have enough room to say it all..other than our upgrade this is not a good place to stay...it is a fixer upper. The over all resort is a hedgy two the Cosmonautus a strong three.

Mr Manuel Vazquez ...,you have a problem its now time to fix it....you have too many unhappy visitors. No need to answer with your reply of sorry it was not good etc...not acceptable..do travellers to your beautiful country the service of making this resort the best it can be, overhaul staff, look at food prep, ..treat visitors like paying guests not bank accounts.

I have never given such a harsh review before...buyer beware..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJMS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorRSSC, Gerente at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Mrs PJMS64

I would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinions about your stay in our Hotel, it really helps to improve our daily work.

We will check very carefully all the details you are writing in your review, concerning the problem with the food variety in our buffets,so we are already working on it.
I’m offering my sincerest apologies for all the inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We will really appreciate your confidence vote in your next visit to Varadero, we assure you that you will be received with the excellence has always distinguished us.

Our best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We recently stayed at Sol Sirenas Coral (January 17-January 24) and had a great time. Here is a breakdown review:

Check-in:
It was a breeze, and the staff were very friendly. We asked them for information many times throughout our stay and they were just as friendly every time.

Resort:
There are TWO sides to this resort! For most people who check in on the Coral side and don’t walk around at all, then you likely won’t discover that there is a duplicate of everything on the Sirenas side, and it is much better over there! We spent ALL of our time on the Sirenas side… we ate all of our meals there, hung out on that side of the beach (although the entire beach is beautiful), and took advantage of the recreational activities on that side (games, tennis, etc.). All of the restaurants are on this side too, except the Oriental one, which is along the way to the Sirenas area.

The beach is absolutely beautiful. We took a walk in both directions and it is by far one of the nicer areas on the beach. There is no seaweed, and you can walk out fairly far before it gets too deep, and there are a few sand bars too. Other than someone occasionally asking if you wanted to do a horseback riding excursion, we didn’t have anyone bothering us or soliciting anything.

Rooms:
I say rooms because we did end up switching our room after the first day. Our first room was in the Club House building. The Club House itself is really nice, with a two-storey waterfall wall. The elevators were out of order, but anyone without a mobility issue should have no problem walking up the stairs. Our first room was quite disappointing. We are avid travelers and have had our fair share of run down and bad hotels around the world, but this room was the second worst I’ve ever seen. Although clean, the bed was directly on the floor (no bed frame) and we could hardly get the screen door open . . . once we did we found that we looked out over a roof covered in garbage. There was mold around the closet doors, and the baseboards, moulding and headboard were painted onto the wall (there weren’t actually any). While we understand that we were not likely to spend much time in our room, we would still like a nice comfortable room to start and end our day in, not one that we want to stay away from.

We went back to the front desk and nicely asked if there was a newer/renovated room that we could switch to. Although there wasn’t that night, we were able to get a new room the next day. Our new room was great (Room 1206)! It was in the main building and overlooking the pool. The bed was off the floor and there was no mold. The walls are paper thin and this is a louder area of the resort, but we had no problem sleeping. Housekeeping was great, never an issue, and even got a few towel decorations on our bed :)

Food/Drinks:
The buffet on the Coral side is awful. We learned very quickly that there is a wonderful buffet on the Sirenas side! Same types of food, but they were fresher and the lines were almost non-existent compared to the Coral side. The snack bars are great too, offering great burgers, fries, etc. And they make delicious paella near the beach (Sirenas side near the beach bar).

We tried the Oriental, Italian and Mexican restaurants. The Oriental one was ok, and the other two were great. TIP: you have to get up super early to make a reservation on the Coral side as they book up very quickly (by 7:30am usually) . . . BUT you can make reservations by going to the Sirenas side too! We discovered this one afternoon and had no issues booking dinner for that evening.
The bars were all great, and the bartenders were very friendly! Were happy to make drinks for us to try when we asked for their recommendation. The piano bar is on the Sirenas side, and they make great mojitos there.

We did leave the resort a few times. We took a great trip to Havana – we opted to book a private tour for $150, and we would do that again in a heartbeat. We travelled to Havana in a 1958 Ford Fairlane with the taxi driver and our tour guide (booked through the excursion desk at the resort). Our tour guide was great and very informative, and personalized the excursion to what we were interested in, rather than a “by the book tour” (ie. He found out my husband is a firefighter and made a stop on the way to Havana at a local fire department and waited so we could have a tour, he even helped translate some of our questions/answers). We did buy him a couple of drinks (Hemmingway rooftop bar and La Floridita), but we did not feel obligated to at all. He took us to a private restaurant for lunch, and even though we offered to buy him lunch he politely declined. This was the best way to see Havana for sure! Our tour guide was Raidel Nieves and his email is raynieve@gmail.com. We also took a taxi into the market area of Varadero – lots of fun to look at everything, and if you get there first thing in the morning (9-9:30am) they vendors are not pushy at all.

Overall, if you spend the time to read reviews/tips, be NICE to the hotel staff and actually take the time to look around the resort, you will have a great time.

Room Tip: Specify you'd like to stay on the Sirenas side, although it is only a minute walk from the Coral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keeley_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorRSSC, Gerente at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Ms keeley_marie,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We always appreciate genuine comments and no doubt that you have been quite detailed in your overview.
Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us.
I read very carefully all your comments, and certainly we will take seriously your feedback and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.

with best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

so we got married in varadero at the blau marina which was fantastic. we thought for our second week honeymoon we would try somewhere different and went to the sol palmeras. we left after one night. We came back to the sol sirenas coral as we had been there two years prior and had really enjoyed it. We had a suite both times and they are great, in between the two different areas of sirenas and coral so not much of a walk between the two. the coral side is a little louder and the sirenas side quieter. This resort is older and does need some work for sure but always its always clean. it has three pools, two with swim up bars and one in the middle with no bar so its used a little less which is good if ur just looking for a swim:) but the beach is the best part:) they have a lot of beach and a lot of loungers and we never had a problem finding one no matter what time of day, you didnt need to go reserve a seat at 7 in the morning like in other resorts i have read about. the pool area well im not sure as we didnt ever go to the pool:) the food is okay, but there is a bbq ranch restaurant down by the beach that is open for lunch and its really really good:) it would be great if they could put a little extra work and maintenance into this resort because its really great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorRSSC, Gerente at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Ms Holly C

We are pleased to receive your valuable opinion about your experiences in our Resort, thank you very much for letting us know, it is a very important tool to keep working with high standards.

Is great to know you have left our hotel happy and satisfied, that’s the main objective of our staff. For sure we will let them know about your review. Sol Sirenas Coral family will love to have you back in your next visit to Varadero!

My best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I can not believe that this resort even has a rating. We arrived on Feb 27, 2014 and only stayed 1 night before transferring to another hotel. We were placed standard rooms even though we paid extra for 3 ocean view rooms. The rooms were disgusting, broken lamps, stained sheets, mold on the mirrors, paint peeling off the walls, water leaking through the ceilings. There were no lights in the hallway outside our rooms as they were either broken off of burnt out, half of the room numbers were missing and replaced by hand written ones. The buffet on the Coral side was not fit to eat in. I strongly suggest that you do not waste your hard earned money on this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms 2208, 2218, 2223
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorRSSC, Gerente at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Ms Lynn S

Thanks a lot for your valuable comments and feedback, we really appreciate it and on behalf of all of us I would like to thank you for your visit and we are really sorry we haven't fully meet your expectations.
again I thank you for your visit and comments and we hope to have the opportinuty to welcome you back some time in the near future and being able to offer our best hospitality.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

we stayed here for 10 nights on all incluseve bases...fantastic! nice food, from all the different restaurants there, nice and cold drinks roght on the beach and the sea right in front of you was a paradise. love it

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TSBS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorRSSC, Gerente at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Mr TSBS2014

I have read with great pleasure your review regarding your stay at Sol Sirenas Coral.
I deeply appreciate your valuable and rewarding comments on our staff, facilities and services. Through them we can acknowledge how guests are able to appreciate our efforts to achieve their full satisfaction. I really thank you taking the time to write these valuable comments which certainly may contribute to the good advertisement of our resort and which will help future clients to find the right destination for their next holidays.
I’d be very honored to welcome you once again in Varadero so you can enjoy another fabulous stay among us.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#22 of 64 in Varadero
1,895 reviews
0.7 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,245 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brisas del Caribe Hotel
Brisas del Caribe Hotel
#27 of 64 in Varadero
3,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Solymar
Barcelo Solymar
#31 of 64 in Varadero
7,000 reviews
4.9 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#25 of 64 in Varadero
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Live Experience Varadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Sirenas Coral Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Sirenas Coral Resort

Property: Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Address: Las Americas Ave. and K St., Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#27 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Sirenas Coral Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four Star resort with 651 rooms. Located alongside the beach in Varadero. Hotel complex surrounded by tropical gardens which convey an informal atmosphere. The property excels for its superb entertainment program. Recommended for families traveling with children.Guest Rooms651 rooms: 505 Standard, 63 Standard Ocean View, 10 Standard Superior, 55 Junior Suite, 6 Suite, 12 Family SuiteDining7 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet), 1 Cafeterias, 8 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Sirenas Coral Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Sirenas Coral Hotel Varadero
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Varadero
Sol Sirenas Coral Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing