We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place to go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Varadero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Varadero
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good place to go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed in Melia Varadero beginning of March and we truly enjoyed our vacation! The hotel is a bit old, but still very good and clean. The service was good everywhere (thanks Gustavo from the buffet!), even at the reception desk (thank you for the great room!). The best is to get a room facing the ocean, it is so-o-o good, you can hear the waves at night! No problem with food at all, we liked it. Restaurants are good. We really liked the violin player at the International restaurant, he was just amazing. Muffins and croissants at 24h snack bar were really good too. You must try the food at the Beach grill. The only downside is the beach is not long enough to go for walks. We would not hesitate to come back.

Room Tip: Room 2515 is facing the ocean. It has not been renovated yet, but it is still a very good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hello dear Guest,
Great review and what a beautiful pictures!. Thank you so much! I am very happy that you enjoyed everything in the hotel, especially the food and service. It would be a great pleasure to host you once again at our resort.
Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,111
    1,655
    617
    230
    146
See reviews for
1,106
2,199
152
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We just returned from an amazing stay at the Melia Varadero, March 7 -14, 2014. My wife and I and our 13 year old daughter and her friend. I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel, they are very friendly and go above and beyond expectations. When we first arrived at the hotel late in the evening on March 7th, looking tired and hungry. the porter indicated that the main buffet restaurant was closing in 15 minutes and so quickly got us our hotel bracelets before check-in and stored our luggage. The hotel is impeccably clean and our rooms were perfect with a welcome letter and bottle of rum. Beds were comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was great. Shampoo and body gel are included.

Food - The buffet had a large selection and overall was pretty good. We tried 3 a la carte restaurants. The food and service were excellent at the Fuerteventura (international cuisine) and the Las Reses (steakhouse), however, we had lobster at the Trinidad (Caribbean) and did not enjoy it as much. The lobster was dry. There is a 24 hour café where we had great pizza at lunch on the terrace.

Entertainment - every evening, guests dress up and hang out in the lobby bar area where there is piano, jazz etc. - the atmosphere is great ! At 9:30 every evening there is also a show and dancing thereafter.

Sports/beach - The hotel is on a cliff overseeing the ocean and one has to walk down to the beach - needless to say the view is amazing. The grounds are beautiful, as is the pool with bar in the centre. Part of the pool lounge area also oversees the ocean. There is a massage hut, tennis, volleyball, golf nearby, ping pong, yoga classes, and aerobics on the beach. There is also volleyball on the beach and various water craft. The beach is beautiful and the water is clear (no seaweed). The beach on left side when facing the hotel from the ocean is not really used by guests as it is too rocky. Please note that you cannot walk for miles and miles on the beach as there are cliffs by the golf course, however you can still go for a good long walk - more than adequate. The beach has a bar and at lunch they have a barbecue. There are enough lounge chairs (no need to bring your hotel beach towel at 6 am to reserve a spot).

Guests - From Europe, Latin America, Russia and Canada and of all ages. Teenagers hang out at the café and needless to say we hardly saw our daughter for the week as they hung out with other kids and played volleyball on the beach or in the pool.

Negatives - none, except smokers in the bar/lobby area that smoke in your face who could very well do so on the terrace. Smoking inside the hotel should be banned as is the case in Canada.

All in all I would definitely go back to this amazing hotel ! Thank-you Melia Varadero staff for your warmth and smiles, and for a wonderful stay!

Philip & family

Ottawa, Canada

Room Tip: Try the ocean side. All rooms are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Philip,
Thank you so much for your glorious review, which I have been so glad to share with my team. I do hope to see you again, we will be delighted in providing you with another great time in our hotel.
With warmest regards,
Gabriel García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
244 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Large All Inclusive hotel along the Varadero peninsular. Its set on a small bend in the shoreline with the very nice beach to the left and with some rocks at the point. It has a central atrium with the large bedrooms set on 7 'spokes' leading off the centre. There are fewer rooms on higher floors. Rooms were clean and have a balcony, higher floors have views out to sea, some rooms will not get the sun at all during the day. Rooms closer to the central atrium will have views onto other bedrooms. Room towels changed every day and pool towels available. Hotel has a large buffet restaurant with plenty of choice with several chef stations cooking fish and meat on the spot. There are several other restaurants that can be booked in the early morning if you want a change and they are all included. The Trinidad fish restaurant is also available during lunchtime and you don't need to make a reservation. We stayed as part of a tour group, and so we were checked in automatically. The hotel staff are all very pleasant. Hotel is all inclusive and has wide selection of drinks included in the deal

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guests:
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! It was a pleasure to read you!
Your comments give a fair view of our hotel to our future clients. Thank you for sharing it with us!
We look forward to welcoming you back once again at MELIA VARADERO, your relaxation hotel!
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at the Melia Varadero Feb/March of this year and had another great holiday. We were there in March of 2013 as well. We planned our trip last minute and decided to return based on our previous trip. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are really what make the place. From Yanitisis/Mario/Ruis/Pepito the staff go above to make your stay great. And of course the hard working Senior Garcia.
Our room was large and clean, facing the pool, which was quieter location that we would have thought. Great view, the Xanadu hotel, ocean, palm trees, pool very pretty.
The food was something we had no problems with at all. Every cook station takes requests from no salt to garlic please. We enjoyed the Trinidad for lunch and the view, we found the menu better here for lunch than super. The steak house is also good, of course a flower by Carlos caps it off nicely. The food and menu in the international was also a nice evening.
The beach was nice and big, always sunchairs to be had. Nice walk in either direction. The lunch on grill from the beach bar was great. We took a trip out on a Hobicat one afternoon and enjoyed the snorkelling and the view.
The pool area is large and lots of chairs available. Nice to have lunch at the Paella restaurant. Also location of Cuba day activities.
We enjoyed the Piano bar in the evenings, good live music.
We liked resort and could see returning.

Room Tip: We've stayed on the third and fourth floors, with ocean view rooms and facing different sides, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedrock1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,
What a beautiful review!, which I have been so glad to share with my team, especially with the individuals you have so kindly mentioned by their names. I do hope to see you again for your 3th time with us, you will be always welcome at MELIA Varadero.
With warmest regards,
Gabriel García
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is one of the older hotels and lacks some of the facilities available elsewhere. It is clean, staff are friendly and helpful, food is OK and it is a short bus or cab ride into Varadero. The piano bar is a focal point, has good cocktails and good entertainment.

The beach is not the best and has been affected by hurricane damage. That being said it is OK. Missing for me was the availability of long beach walks. Enough kayaks, pedalos etc for the hotel. Excellent lunch barbeque at the beach cafe.

Daughters, 18 & 19, loved it and the Varadero nightlife.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lechatgros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor about our hotel and for the nice pictures! We hope to have the pleasure to meet you again, you will be always welcome at MELIA Varadero.
Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Okay, it's a very nice place, if you like the Cancun sort of experience (all-inclusive). Except the dinner buffet food was mediocre. And there was one working elevator. And it was noisy. And the nightclub show was more tourista than authentic. And I think they bulldozed some of the coral cliff to make part of the beach. The service was very good, the rooms nice enough, and the views attractive in a generic beach sort of way, but don't come here thinking you are going to experience Cuba.

Room Tip: Water view is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithgct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor about our hotel. I am very sorry for your disappointment with the food served at the Buffet, I apologize that we were not able to fulfill your expectations. I am very happy that you enjoyed the room and service.
It would be a great pleasure to host you once again at our resort.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just returned from a week at the Melia Varadero and found it to be a great resort. We were upgraded to an ocean view room and received a phone call from the guest service personal to check and make sure everything was alright with our room and the restaurants etc. We also received a welcoming bottle of rum when we checked in! The staff went out of their way to serve us and the beach was fantastic. Thanks to a great location we were able to walk to the golf course and the mansion Xanadu Restaurant in only minutes. The food at all restaurants was very good and the whole resort was clean and well maintained. I was extremely impressed with the musical talent found in the bars and restaurants. All top rate! A special thank you to Isis who kept our room immaculate. We will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank songster907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIR-MELIA-VARADERO, Director General at Melia Varadero, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hello dear guest,
What a beautiful review! Be sure that will forward your nice comments to the staff, they do their best day after day. I´m sure you will come back to revive everything again; you will be always welcome at MELIA Varadero.
Regards,
Gabriel García
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.9 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
0.4 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,845 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Varadero

Property: Melia Varadero
Address: Carretera de las Morlas, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#12 Family Hotel in Varadero
#14 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 490
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Varadero Hotel Varadero
Varadero Melia
Melia Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing