We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Every human being deserves to live even once such an experience....Everything was perfect.The place,the rooms,the food,entertaintment,the stuff,the manager,the pool,the shops.Ideal for every occation,for couples and companies.Just go....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
21  Thank ntafymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix G, Public Relations Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thanks for your comments, hope that your holidays will be repeated in Royal Hicacos

Staff Royal Hicacos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,406)
There are newer reviews for Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,683 - 2,689 of 4,406 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing place.

Dear Royal Hicacos,

Only the positive words belong to you guys.
Holiday spent in this Resort was Number ONE!
Its unbeliveable how polite and kind is all your staff. They always smile.
Angie Yadir and Frank in the Poolbar are top,
Chuchi and Madelin in the Buffet ala Carte were great. Pavel in the Restaurant El Caribe was biggest Professional i have ever seen in my life. Entertainment people Ian, Veronica, Oto they do their Job also on very High Level.
Our concierge Adel was still there for us.
Room service great.
Food excelent the best was El Caribe restaurant.
We will come back because our experience was unforgetable.
We have so many pictures of your beautiful beach and whole resort.
Please Royal Hicacos do take care about your Staff they do great job and they make our stay in your resort so amazing.

Well RECOMENDED
if planing to go to Varadero choose this Resort

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
15  Thank Patrik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix G, General Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thanks for your comments, hope that your holidays will be repeated in Royal Hicacos

Staff Royal Hicacos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have been to The Royal Hicacos Resort 10 times we started going in Feb but now go the first week in Sept...We are one week away from Our 11th visit to this Resort..
The People and service are 2nd to none .treatment is very good We love to see our friends at the resort Middrey is so nice and we will miss her husband Ray who has left just recently to look after the family business we love you Ray..we cannot wait to see JB and the 2-Vladimirs .
we are not complainers so we love the food at the Buffet and the Al a carts.The Beach is the best nice white sand water is warm this time of year .Entertainment staff is great even Ronnie we play bocci ball every day at the beach .We hit the pool to end out the day with great drinks..
You cannot go wrong here see everyone soon one week and counting Love this resort and all our friends see you soon the Crispers and Watsons -AKA Domi & Mikie..

Room Tip: we have stayed at many over by the small pool coceirge
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank mmcrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I should have written this review a while ago but never had the time but it’s never too late to write about something this good. It all happened when someone told me through the grapevine that there was going to be a future Royalton in Varadero. That got my attention since I’ve been to the Royalton in Cayo Santa Maria twice and found it fabulous.

This new place is called Royal Hicacos which was the old Sandals. I went there with my wife and had a terrific time. The service we got right from the beginning was great. The check in was quick and very delightful. Our room was spacious and had a great view of the resort. We were lucky in getting a top floor room. I would recommend it if the resort has one free for an exchange but you have to do it early in your stay.

We enjoyed very much the food in their A La Carte restaurants but were disappointed in the Italian one. I found the one I enjoyed the most was called “El Viejo Y Elmar” which is the one facing the beach. You are welcomed with such wonderful and funny host which starts off the evening pleasant. The view is spectacular and so is the service along with the food too. I noticed that the staff who are from the old Sandals family are very eager to welcome new guest from other Royalton resorts. That from a start is a good feeling for us visiting this resort for the first time.

We are not buffet type of people but I do recommend the breakfast and lunch for the great variety of choices. First of all nothing beats having breakfast on the outside balcony facing the pool area. Most of all having wonderful people serve you a Mimosa with your breakfast morning after morning a marvellous “Buenos Dias” smile. Just that kick starts your morning on the bright side!

I do recommend you have the crepes in the buffet at lunch time. It’s to die for!!! You also have to appreciate the talent this gentleman who prepares them has. There may be 15 people waiting to have their crepes prepared for them. No problem ….he will have them served up in such a quick but decorative time that makes you amazed. He will make designs or write anything you’ll ask him to with Nutella. Try the banana and Nutella …..That seems to the popular one! He even serves at the grill for breakfast time and even there he is so fast. His name is Osvany and I had to take a picture of him serving me my crepe with a cruise ship on it. This is just an example of what I got being there for the first time.

The pool has these mini waterfalls which makes it so relaxing while standing underneath it.
It also has a pool bar but not so many people attend it because Varadero is known for it's outstanding beach.
Varadero beach will always be as beautiful as it’s been since the last 4 times that I’ve been to Varadero. Their section of the beach is very clean and maintained. They have waiters serving you on the beach but if you’re closer to the bar restaurant …..You’ll get your drinks quicker. Otherwise you’ll wait forever. They tend to slack off towards the end of the beach. This is something they will have to work on. To be a Royalton, everyone gets the same quick service on the beach where ever you are. I recommend they put more waiters serving on the beach and have them talk less.

Our room was kept very clean and our fridge had always a fresh bottle of water including refills of Cristal beer! We were very satisfied with our chambermaid for the way she made sure we never missed out on anything. ”Gracias Marie-Ann”

I would also like to thank Senior Ignacio Perez for making sure that everything was perfect that dealt with food. This gentleman was always on the go making sure that all the food stations in the buffet have nothing missing and kept his staff on their tippy toes. And doing all of this with a smile. Everywhere you look you can see him asking guests about their opinions of the resort from morning to night. The administration should be very proud to have such a dedicated employee like this.

These are just some of the things that impressed me to go back and try it out again. If it was as good as this…..imagine when it becomes a full Royalton. I can’t forget to thank Fausto for his kindness in taking care of us when leaving the resort. You are truly a gentleman. And especially to Julie who is putting her heart and soul in making this place number 1 on the chart!

See you guys soon…….like very soon!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor for its view of the resort. But do it the beginning.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Al2all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

There's too much to say about this place, but I suppose it's no different from every other all-inclusive resort in the world. It's also not fair on Blue Diamond Resorts who are now in charge and are currently doing renovations. The people are nice, the entertainment is fun when you get involved though the watered down beer means it's difficult to get drunk without hitting up the rum. Don't drink A Cuba Libre here, they're a bit rank.

It, overall, is a top resort and good fun, for relaxing on the extraordinary beach or playing volleyball and doing quizzes the whole time, but be careful of the horrific doorman.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Hol-Goon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at Royal Hicacos for 2 weeks in January 2014 and it was our first beach vacation so we weren't sure what to expect. This resort exceeded all our expectations. We loved this adult only resort!! We stayed in building 27 on the 2nd floor which was very quiet. The hotel supplied one power converter in our room. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had heard a lot of differing comments about the food in Cuba before we arrived, but we had no complaints. The grilled chicken that is served at the Beach Grill at lunch is delicious. We upgraded to concierge service which was nice to have unlimited al a carte restaurants. The food in all the restaurants was delicious and the buffet was good too, I loved having a made to order smoothie for breakfast everyday and they bake the best bread. We spent most of our time at the beach. There were lots of loungers and the beach was always clean. I loved the feel of the soft white sand, it was like walking in powdered sugar. We enjoyed the piano bar in the evening after dinner and we also enjoyed the live entertainment in the evening. The markets in Varadero have a lot to offer and the vendors are not pushy and the prices are very reasonable. We went into Varadero and had dinner at Waco's Club and that was delicious too, we would recommend this restaurant if you are going to eat away from the resort, we had grilled lobster tail with salad, potato and vegetable as well as a complimentary cocktail for $20 CUC, my husband had grilled prawns with his for $25 CUC. We took a day trip to Havana with a private taxi and would recommend this over a bus trip, then you can see what you want. We took Canadian currency with us and exchanged it for CUC at the hotel front desk. We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great location and beautiful sandy beach. All in one arrangement with very rich buffet for breakfast and dinner with good quality of food. Unfortunately no free wireless and connection speed is poor for the purchased WiFi. The Royal Hicacos has ist own evening entertainement, a gym, tennis and squash court and 3 'poor' billard tables. Rooms are spaceous, clean and so is the bath.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
5  Thank Jürg Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.6 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
1.8 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
2.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,788 reviews
3.4 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,488 reviews
2.2 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Las Morlas km 15 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hicacos)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#7 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#13 Family Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: £177 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within lush tropical gardens and just steps from the azure blue waters and powder white sand of Cuba's finest beach lies the award-winning Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, an Adults Only Luxury All Inclusive Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Hicacos Varadero
Sandals Cuba
Sandals Royal Hicacos Resort Spa
Royal Hicacos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing