We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 in the world ”
Review of Mansion Xanadu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mansion Xanadu
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Every time that I'm
Going back to varadero I have to visit this beautiful place best mojitos in Cuba with a combination of Cuban cigars at the nice top floor bar and having the best lobster and a chaturian steak there's not better meal!! Thanks to Karel the general manager and Ricardo for they hospitality!!! Can't wait to get back!! My number one recommendations in varadero

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jovier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Mansion Xanadu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

As above! Bar is good, mojitos were the closest we came to a decent one (despite testing a lot in Havana and Varadero!), the staff were slick but the menu promised something that the cooking perhaps didn't quite deliver.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLY1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This mansion should be as we've read on other reviews heaven on earth, but it's really not. The house itself is lovely but it is all ruined by the way it is managed. The rooms are dirty as a creepy motel (hairs in the bed, dirty towels, suspicious traces in the shower), the staff is really unfriendly, impolite (they don't seem to know about words like "good morning, thanks, or goodbye", even when you come to pay your bill). And the price... It is really expensive for the quality you get. The few good things you get (amazing view from your room, beautiful colonial style lounge) are totally ruined by the rest. Even the breakfast was not good, and we almost had to get to the kitchen to get it served. Avoid at all costs!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank izador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Varadero is one of the most beatifull beach in the world,if you go there I recomend take a 15 minutes the elevator to the mirador /bar in a top of Varadero casa Dupont/ golf club,i really enjoy the times what a share with my wife, even the bartender dispense to me a very good attention, believe me is going to be a excepcional experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jorge a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Amazing hotel, quiet, cozy, friendly staff, amazing breakfast & 3 course dinner included with your stay. Food was above good, great!!!!! All meals were wonderful! Close to beach, close to shopping mall if you want to buy your own stuff too. Golf course great, green fees included in stay so you can't beat that.

Room Tip: All rooms face ocean so I'm sure all rooms are excellent!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We spent 2 full weeks in Cuba. We started in Havana where we stayed for 4 days. We then took an enormous road trip spending two nights each in Vanales (El Balcon B&B highly recommended) and two nights in Trinidad (Hostal Casa Munoz NOT recommended). We had intended to spend the last part of the trip back in Havana but found that we need to relax after all those full days of driving. I don't suggest you waltz into a resort in Veradero without reservations. We must have gone to six, one after the other until we found Mansion Xanadu. It was a "PINCH ME" experience. Not anything like the other resorts that we would have been happy to check into being desperate and exhausted! The rooms were magnificent, truly old and glamorous. The setting was stunning. We laughed, lounged and ate for five blissfull days. Xanadu was the perfect place to end a fabulous vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We wanted to visit this restaurant as our guide had recommended it was a very good restaurant with fresh lobster. The building used to belong to the DuPont family prior to the revolution. It is a very special home built by the owner to suit his lifestyle whilst in Cuba. However, the restaurant and bar does not stand up to the expectations that we would liked to have experienced. The food served was just adequet. Only worth going to see the building and not pay the high prices to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mehmet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,295 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
2.6 mi away
Norma's B&B
Norma's B&B
#9 of 55 in Varadero
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Casa de Mary y Angel
Casa de Mary y Angel
#2 of 55 in Varadero
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
5,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Xanadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Xanadu

Address: Carretera Las Americas, km 8.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Xanadu 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Mansion Xanadu Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing