We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location location”
Review of Hotel Los Delfines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Delfines
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“location location location”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

First time in Varadero Cuba, loved it. This hotel is perfect for those that like to walk around Varadero without having to get a taxi. The location is perfect.The hotel is nice, not huge which was fine for us, the food was ok , there are many great restaurants around within walking distance.I would go back to this place. The price was great as well as the staff.

Room Tip: get a room on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelingPaul67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    324
    215
    99
    78
See reviews for
130
362
98
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My bf and I stayed here in January because the deal we got was too good to pass up. I have to admit however, after reading reviews I was a little nervous. I will admit check-in seemed to take an extreme amount of time since we were a bus full of people but it could also be that we arrived at 10:30pm and I was exhausted! Beware: this is a very small resort. If you are not a people person, this might not be the place for you... We spent the week with the people we met on the plane/bus and the only time you can get away from them is to leave the resort, we cant really complain though; we met some good people! THE RESORT: older but clean, 4 buildings now seperated by a very quiet street (it sounds weird but its nothing really) I cant say much for the pool because we didnt go in it once but it looked clean (small though) we spent a part of our day at the pool bar to keep out of the sun and the rest of the day at the beach where there is also a bar and various activities that go on throughout the day (a couple shows at night as well at the beach bar). There are several cats around the resort but they mostly sleep all day. THE ROOMS: (our room was in the lobby building) small but who really stays in a room down south?! It was perfect for sleeping and very clean. Our housekeeping staff were really friendly, and so were all the other employees there. THE FOOD: very repetetive but reasonable. Omelettes for breakfast and pasta for lunch and supper with your choice of sauce and meat. The dinning area is dated but I'm not a fancy kind of girl so it didnt bother me. Beer is free at the pool bar however they charge for beer at the beach bar since locals are aloud at this bar as well. LOCATION: perfectly situated on the main strip, walking distance to banks, clubs, boutiques. EXCURSIONS: there are people selling excursions on the resort and they are worth it! We did the jeep safari and had a blast. There were a few toddlers around but the resort was mostly older (by older i mean 30+)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Keri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailieboro, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I've been in many hotels in Varadero and this is one of the best. Downtown, so it's close to everything. In my experience it makes sense to be downtown and save the money from the cabs. The pennisilla is beautiful but remote and full of mosquitos. Been there, done that.

The grounds were well kept and the staff great. Right on the beach. Its a small hotel so it was never a problem to get a chair. The room was always clean. We did have a flood one day but it was cleaned up immediately. It shorted out the safe and they also fixed this immediately. So they look after this hotel.

The foods boring but that's Cuba. Your so close to restaurants that are well priced, it will give you a little variety. The overall food in Cuba is a lot better than it used to be. There was no beef at one time. The pasta bar was good and the egg bar in the morning was great. I liked the hot dogs and pizza at the pool bar. Drinks were great...but try to get the ingredients....they always change.

I've seen a lot of complaints on here about cats....this is Cuba and like most of the caribbean, cats and dogs are free....you are no longer where your from so get used to it, Your only there for a week or 2. My greatest complaint about Cuba is not the hotel but that everyone wants a ti and Panhandlers on the streets. It never was like this and used to be against the law. We actually had to pay to use the washroom at the big market...oh and bring your own toilet paper if you'll be walking around. Hotels have, but everywhere else doesn't...they may not even have a seat. The reason for this is that the real Cuba doesn't have a system to handle toilet paper and most houses don't have seats....its just the way it is.

We went on the jeep safari...not impressed. I don't know how you snorkle in a lifejacket...makes it very hard on the neck to see anything as you float upright and look down :) , the boat was fun, but you just go up and down the river...we kinda felt like cattle. Then off to the farm. Lunch was a good traditional Cuban meal (I have friends there, so I know) but again we were asked to tip....tip, tip, tip. Then off to the cave. Be prepared, it is beautiful but 74 degrees. So getting back to the bus we were then asked to tip.

So for me no more tips in Cuba. One CUC peso is worth 24 of theirs. The people that work in Varadero are rich compared to the rest. I;ll be giving my tips to the locals away from Varadero, but be careful that only who you give to sees or you will be swarmed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liz_Peter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

For the money the hotel was clean, the staff were friendly, the food was a little on the bland side and repetitive but it was not bad and there are plenty of other restaurants within walking distance that are good and very reasonably priced. The beach is one of the best I've seen and the weather was amazing. It was nothing like I was expecting.

Room Tip: If you like spicy food or tasty food bring a bottle of hot sauce or even ketchup, bring Imodium, I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LisaWildenhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Travelled with Hola Sun for 1 week - October 19-26. Group of 4 women.

Flight was good, transfer was smooth, check in was fast, and at 11am our rooms were ready despite check in being 4pm.

Given rooms 141 and 142. The rooms are average. For the price you pay to stay here.. they could be MUCH MUCH worse. Rooms were very clean, maid was great, towel art and restocked amenities daily. Bathroom had a stand up shower (no tub) and a bidet.

Safe in the room is electronic and free to use. Never saw bugs in the room. Beds were older, had a few springs in my sides, but I think it depends which room, again, wasn't an issue. The AC worked TOO well, so cold, but you could turn it on and off or up and down yourself. We got plenty of english channels on the TV. We had a view of the pool/partial ocean which was really nice.

Pool was tiny, but no one really uses it, so it was plenty big enough for the 4 of us and the other 2-10 people that were ever at it. The drinks were great, too much alcohol all the time, not a problem for us, we asked for less if we needed to. The lobby bar is across the street on the beach, and you do not have to pay for beer, they have a keg. You can buy canned beer in the gift shop there, but we ordered beer and never had to pay. They make great spanish coffees/espressos etc at the lobby bar as well. The street you have to cross to get to the ocean/lobby bar is NOT busy, ever, it's a short walk.

As for food, We ate at the buffet only ONE time for dinner, 0 times for lunch, but did have breakfast everyday. Limited selection yes, but the "resort" only has about 100 rooms so we weren't expecting much in the way of options. Breakfast had an omlette/egg station and some fruit, cold cuts, fresh croissants, buns, toast. We made due. The A la carte was AMAZING. It was really good, more food than we could finish, great service, MUST do. Very yummy. We ate out for dinner at local restaurants nearly every night ( Esquina Cuba, El Caney, Nonna Tina's, El Rancho... MUST DO.. very reasonably priced and HUGE portions, GREAT seafood).

Entertainment was alright, Luciano is SO fun, and really cares about the guests. You will meet him if you stay here, he makes a point of it. For the show, they alter nights between the lobby on the beach and the stage in the pool... VERY VERY loud when in the pool if your room is viewing the pool, but hey it ends before 11 so you can't really complain. The resort is very quiet, mostly couples, older generations, a few local families came in and that was my only complaint, no mannerisms (blowing noses in the pool) things like that.

Remember to tip, the staff really isn't making much and a peso goes a long way. The Sangria at the pool bar is great!

To get a beach towel you need to deposit 10 dollars which you get back when you return it. You pay at the main lobby, then go across the street near the pool tables to a little door where security will unlock and give you the towel, you return it there later, get your piece of paper back, take it back to the main lobby for your refund.

Calls from the room to canada are 1.90 per minute, no connection fee, which is cheaper than what it was on my cell phone.

There's a cabarete show included, which is located at hotel international (6 peso cab ride in an old style cab), VERY worth it, you get a welcome mojito very yummy and the show is very cool to watch).

Our shower was broken the first day, we told our rep and within an hour a whole new shower head was put in while we were at the pool relaxing. The resort is so cheaply priced that it really is a gem in downtown varadero, we can't complain. The food could be better, they could do with a bit of updating/fresh paint/some renovations, but truthfully for the price you pay for this resort (under 500/week or 800/2 weeks) it's quality for sure. I'd go again if the price was right. Be sure to go out and try local restaurants though, they really are amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view, preferably on the 141/142 side as you will see the ocean a bit, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank briesy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenwick, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week in Varadero. The weather was great and the company wonderful. This is our second visit to Los Delfines this year and based on our cost of the trip we feel we got our monies worth.
I think with a little attention to detail they could bring up the level of this hotel. The staff and room were great. The food was a little better than it was in January but, there is a lot of room for improvement. They need to bring in a system of trays with plastic lids to remove the flies from the food. This was also a problem in January so I think that the flies are a year round problem. The a la carte restaurant was very well done.
The resorts public restrooms need an update. There is no real functioning toilet in the reception area and the pool washroom never had soap or toilet tissue or seats. This is an easy fix but one that is definitely needed now.
The beach in January was very clean but, this time I was disappointed with the amout of litter we saw on the beach. This was garbage left by the locals, not the visitors. I mentioned the litter to the Hola Sun rep. and the nexted day it had been picked up.
The Hola Sun rep. suggested a Classic car private trip to Havana with our own tour guide and I must say that this was a very informative trip and the highlight of our vacation.
We would probably go back to Los Delfines but, will be reading the reviews before we book to see if anything has improved at the resort.
The location is great and on the whole we enjoy coming to this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and oceans were great. We had rooms 141 and 145. We have also stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We went August 3rd for one week. Travelled with Hola Sun.
We checked in and were given a lovely pool view room. The room was small but nice and clean.
Two big single beds, comfortable bedding. Nice bathroom complete with bidet, very european!
The front desk staff all week were super friendly and accommodating. Most of them spoke pretty good english. Note they did not always have currency readily available to change.
We requested a fridge and they brought one the next day. It did not work and one of the cleaning staff took it upon himself to report it, a technician came and fixed it within a few hours.
Cleaning staff were great and always came when it was convenient for us, and did a great job.
Note this resort is in two main buildings. One where the main reception is and the rooms around the pool, the pool and snack bar.
There is no bar in the reception lobby which is quite small.
You have to cross a small beach road to get to the other buildings which house the lobby bar.
The rooms in this building are ocean view and apparently are older rooms.
This building is where you will find beach towels if you can find the guy who is often busy doing other things like sweeping etc.
Then on this side of the road, which is beach side, is the building that houses the buffet restaurant and the ala carte, upstairs from the buffet. Everything is in close proximity to each other. And there is security at all entrances.
This resort caters extensively to Italians and in fact has an entire Italian Guest tourist office off of the lobby bar. We found service in the lobby bar to be terrible. We always tip and we discovered that this did not make a difference in getting any service. We were often ignored whilst other guests went to the bar and ordered. We noticed no one else was tipping and yet getting much better service, so we stopped. The pool bar service was better. The snacks at the pool bar were very basic and not good.
The buffet was standard for Cuba. The Ala Carte food however was very nice and the service was excellent. The dining room is quite small, only about 6 tables. We took the only table outside on the balcony overlooking the ocean. Because the restaurant is small, they will book reservations for tables around the pool area. It is not the same but it is the same food.
The guy booking reservations for dinner is in a room on the ground floor of the main building off of the pool area. He was very accommodating and spoke english.
The beach is great, you can walk out quite far in the ocean.
The location if fantastic. You are very central to the town. There is a great restaurant at Calle 40, two blocks from resort, where you can get a fabulous lobster dinner for $18. The lobster tails are equivalent of two of ours here.
I also recommend walking along the beach road where you can sample street vendor food which is very cheap and delicious.
As always we felt very safe in Cuba, the people love the Canadian tourists.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro99Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Club Tropical
Hotel Club Tropical
#41 of 63 in Varadero
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#52 of 63 in Varadero
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Hotel Horizontes Herradura
Hotel Horizontes Herradura
#55 of 63 in Varadero
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Islazul Mar del Sur Aparthotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Acuazul
Hotel Acuazul
#56 of 63 in Varadero
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Delfines

Property: Hotel Los Delfines
Address: Ave. 1ra., y Calle 39 | Avenida de la Playa, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Delfines 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Los Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Delfines Varadero
Los Delfines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing