We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,529)
Filter reviews
6,529 results
Traveller rating
3,185
1,901
919
332
192
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,185
1,901
919
332
192
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal servicerock househill topracquet clubhilltop restaurantport royalpiano barjapanese restauranta la carte restaurantsroyal sidelobsterbutler servicedinner reservationsjunior suitewater balletmain buffetspanish lessons
Filter
Updating list...
2,438 - 2,443 of 6,529 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My boyfriend and I have just come back from Cuba where we stayed for 4 days at the Paradisus Princesa del Mar and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. This hotel completely surprised us. The facilities, the food, the entertainment and the staff were all amazing.
Being an adults only hotel, we loved found it very relaxing and perfect for what we wanted.
Throughout the day we had a variety of different activities we could do from tennis, beach volleyball, beach water aerobics, sailing, so we weren't bored for one moment.
The food also surprised us as we were told not to expect good quality in Cuba. Well this was not the case. Each meal was delicious!
Definitely recommend this hotel, and definitely will be returning!

Room Tip: We were in the 3rd block.. midway between the pool and beach!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollol119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Resident Manager at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Lollol119,

It is nice to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations during you stay here with us at Paradisus Princesa del Mar.

To hear that you loved the varied offer of activities during the day as well as our gastronomic offer makes us feel very satisfied.

The most important thing for us you mentioned in your comments is that you found all our staff to be amazing as at the end it is them who work very hard each day to makes our guests experience here with us a special one.

To know that you will be definitely returning makes us very happy and you can be sure that it will be a big pleasure for all of us here at Paradisus Princesa del Mar to welcome you back here with us for your return visit any time soon.

Kind regards

Manuel Martinez
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April 2014. We were in a standard room the size is good with a very large bed, sofa, chair and coffee table. The room and bathroom was very clean on arrival and kept that way throughout our stay.

The main restaurant is buffet style for breakfast, lunch and dinner; the choice was good and varied with meat, fish, pasta and pizzas being cooked to order on hotplates as you watched. Whether you wanted one piece of meat or fish or more the staff never refused you your request – all the dishes of other food were being constantly refilled.

There are 5 a la cart restaurants – Cuban, Japanese, Chinese, Italian and French – we dined in all expect the Japanese – I recommend you booking for all those you plan to eat in as you arrive as they get fully booked very quickly – all 4 we dined at were of an very good standard for food and service – the house white wine we found not to our liking but the red was acceptable. The local beer was OK as were the spirits included in the all-inclusive package.

The main pool with the swim up bar was very good and the bar staff were very good – they would add as much rum to your cocktail as you wanted – it was quite possible to finish with a glass of neat rum!!

In the main all the staff were very friendly and always had a smile and a welcoming comment, this included ground staff, housekeeping staff, restaurant staff, bar staff and reception, the only exception to this was the staff in the Rock House – the 24 hour bar no matter what time of day you went there or what you were asking for the service was extremely poor, discourteous and unhelpful - this was in total contrast to the remainder of the hotel, essentially the staff here gave the impression that guests were a nuisance to be tolerated.

Overall the atmosphere at the hotel was very relaxed – the facilities were always in good order – the gardens kept very tidy – the bar and restaurant staff (with the exception of the Rock House) very friendly and always smiling. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was excellent - it was not facing the pool and was close to all amenities - from walking the complex i would imagine that all rooms would suit.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEW1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Resident Manager at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear KEW1953,

It is nice to hear that you chilled totally and that we were able to guarantee you a relaxing stay here with us at Paradisus Princesa del Mar.

Thank you for the mention of our rooms and the housekeeping team which kept your room in a perfect state during your stay.

We are very satisfied to hear that you loved the food offered by our international team of chefs in our buffet as well as our different themed Restaurants.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the attention at the 24 hours Restaurant but I assure you that we will work on this issue to prevent it from happening again in the future.

A very big thank you for the mention of the attitude and friendliness of all our staff all over the resort, they always try their best to guarantee our guests a perfect stay here with us at Paradisus Princesa del Mar.

We all would like to thank you again for your positive feedback and it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back here with us soon for your next vacation here at our Resort.

Kind regards

Manuel Martinez
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Thank you for my upgrade to Royal Service, as the rest of the hotel is rather run down and
needs to be refreshed! It is as though there are 2 hotels apart!
Paolo, Hernando, Diana and staff thank you for taking care of me or it would have been an awful
time!! Thank you Oscar and Miguel in the kitchen for your creations and spoiling me!
Overall the new section is rather pleasant, the gardens need to grow in a bit! The rooms: no one thought that a shower needs a light? and toilet a window? Hooks for towels would be nice.
The food: the restaurant in the Royal service is ok but service at night very slow. The other restaurants are rather ordinary, apart from Hilltop which is decent. Could be nice to sit outside with a view and candles. Italian is awful and the regular buffet is looking sad. Needs pick me up to match Paradisus in Rio de Oro which is very good! All the best to you in bringing this resort up to 5 star standards, for now it is 4. cheers! Had a nice break. Catherine

Room Tip: pay the little extra for royal service. worth it. Views to ocean are quieter but cannot see ocean! higher floors nice.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineHoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Resident Manager at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Catherine,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on tripadvisor, comments as yours will help us to keep improving each day to offer the highest standards of quality to our guests.

We have taken note of your comments and will work on fixing these little issues.

We would like to thank you especially for the comments about our staff as they all work very hard each day to guarantee our guests a perfect stay here with us at Paradisus Princesa del Mar.

We all hope to see you back here at Paradisus Princesa del Mar in a not too far future!

Kind regards

Manuel Martinez
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

28. 3. - 8. 4. 2014
We visited this hotel this year for the fourteen days. We were in the hotel for twice time in this year. We are always very happy and we want say thanks to the friendly approach of all personal.
We were very satisfied of Mr. Josley, which work in Grand Terasa. During our visit in January 2014 Mr. Josley worked in Cigar Bar and he was very helpful and kind. We wil be happy to return, because these people are amazing. We say thank you Mr. Josley, thank you Paradisus Princesa del Mar.
We woulad also like to thank the staff at the beach and Lobby Bar.
We will be back next year again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Resident Manager at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Monika F,

Thank you very much for these kind words here on tripadvisor.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us at Paradisus Princesa del Mar and especially the personal attention of our staff members, we will make sure to pass on all your comments to the whole team!

Having been here with us for a second time in such a short stint of time it is a pleasure for us to know that you are already planning to return to our Resort next year and you can be sure that it will be a big pleasure for all of us here at Paradisus Princesa del Mar to welcome you back for your third visit at our Resort!

Kind regards

Manuel Martinez
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed the week of April 4-12. This was our first trip and it turned out very well and was really happy we stayed at the Paradisus Del Mar. We were very impressed with the Royal Service side of the resort. Upon arrival at the airport our travel rep got us a Taxi that was paid for by the resport. When we arrived at the main lobby the front desk called the bell boy who drove us to the royal service side. The check in was very quick and a butler was there to take us to our room. We had arrived at 4am and were not expecting to get a room until the next day so we were very impressed that we were able to get one right away. The rooms were very nice and bigger than I had been expecting. It was very open and had a jetted tub. The rooms had air conditioning and a nice balcony over looking the pool. The only thing that did not work was the coffee pot but you are so close to many restaurants that this did not affect us. One night the shower did not drain and started flowing into the bathroom. We called the front desk and it was fixed and cleaned up right away.

The Royal Service side... very very impressed,we absolutely loved it! the pool was big and had a swim up bar. The beach was also really close and was excellent. This side was not busy at all so you did not have to wait for service or for chairs at either the pool or the beach. The beach had beautiful sand and lots of shelter for shade. The bartenders even came around and brought you drinks. All the drinks we had were really good especially the Mojito and Pina colada.

There where two restaurants on this side of the resort and one that was just open for lunch. The one attached to the lobby (forget the name) was not too impressive. We had a breakfast, lunch and dinner there. It wasn't disgusting food just wasn't impressed with it. The other restaurant, the Hill top, however, was very very good. We had supper there one night and it was the best food I have had. Even better than a lot of places in Canada. The pizza at the one by the pool that was open for lunch was amazing!

William was an amazing butler. We did not expect to use his services much but when we did we were very happy with his service. The first day we were there we asked him to book our a la crate reservations, a couple of messages and to bring some bottles of alcohol for our room. when we got back from the beach everything was taken care of. This saved us two hours waiting in line for reservations. The last day we were there we also needed to cancel a message reservation and add another couple to our restaurant reservation for that night. He came right out to the beach to see us and had our messages cancelled (50% cancellation fee waived) and managed to get all four of us in the restaurant. On that last day he also arranged the time for the private car to pick us up to go back to the airport. later that night while we were having supper he came and found us to make sure we remembered what time we were leaving and to make sure we enjoyed our stay. This was at 8pm and I am pretty sure his shift ended at 5pm. Having him really made our trip better and more relaxing. When we go again I am going to see if I can request to have William again.

The regular side of the resort...What is great about getting the upgrade to royal service is that you get to enjoy the facilities of both sides. There were several restaurants on this side a long with the buffet. The food at the buffet was really good especially at the stations where they cook your food right there. There was one restaurant on this side that was close to the beach that had an open pit BBQ. We ate lunch there one day and had the chicken it was absolutely delicious. The other restaurants we ate at for supper were the French, Japanese, and Italian. They were all good except for the Italian we walked out without finishing. That was the only bad food experience we had there. after reading some reviews and talking to people I had been really worried about the food but it was really good, don't have to worry about that if you stay at this resort. There was entertainment every night so it was fun to go over after supper and watch the bands, or shows perform.

comparing the two sides.. you for sure get treated like royal guests with the upgrade. Better pool, beach and rooms. I heard the rooms on the regular side did not have air conditioning. The service from staff and the drinks were a lot better on the royal service side too. The pool and beach were a lot less crowded. We talked to some people and they had to get down to the pool or beach at 7 am if they wanted shade or a chair but we were able to go out any time of the day and get that on the royal service side.

overall we had an amazing time and really liked that it was adult only. we are a young couple and pretty much everyone we met were older so if you are looking for a party place this isn't really that resort. but if you are just looking for a relaxing trip with no screaming kids this is an excellent choice. We will stay at the Paradisus Del Mar Royal service every time we visit Cuba

Room Tip: ROYAL SERVICE!!!!! happy with second floor unit
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Resident Manager at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Michelle B,

Thank you for the precious time taken to write these kind words here on tripadvisor.
To hear that you enjoyed the amenities of our new Royal Service Section like the private transfer from the airport and our brand new rooms with Jacuzzis.

To hear that you enjoyed our gastronomic offer in our Restaurants as well as the drinks prepared by our bartenders like the typical pina colada or mojito!

Our butlers are another amenity of our Royal Service and they are at your service to help you out with anything you might need during your stay at our Royal Service, we will make sure to pass on your comments to them to make sure the know that they guaranteed you a perfect stay.

We all here at Paradisus Princesa del Mar hope that we will be able to welcome you back here with us soon!

Kind regards

Manuel Martinez
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews