We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradox - great in so many ways and let down in others”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel (our first time in Cuba) for 11 days after having "done" Havanna (the real cuba) for three days previously. In Havanna we stayed in the Iberostar Parque Central, a brilliant hotel in a vibrant city (I have reviewed this separately). Veradero is the "tourist" Cuba and when in Veradero you could be almost anywhere in the world - if you want to spend lazy days on the beach then it is perfect, but there is very little else to do.
The hotel was initially very disappointing - we had been upgraded to a Junior ocean view suite which was spacious enough, if a little jaded. The "ocean view" could just about be glimpsed over the rooftops of the fairly newly built Royal Suites buildings, but if you are expecting to open the balcony doors and smell the sea whilst watching the waves - forget it. The balcony was nice and large with good quality sun loungers and a table and chairs, though half of the balcony was taken up with an empty Jacuzzi that no longer works - but it is Cuba!
The suite itself was large with a separate bedroom, lounge and bathroom, but the furniture is in need of replacement, which is surprising as this as a hotel owned by the successful Melia chain. In the lounge area there is a small "kitchen" with basin and underneath a fridge, which was rusty and in poor condition, though functional. Bizzarely there was a coffee percolator which has coffee and filters, but no milk. When we requested milk (or even powdered milk) we were told it was not supplied. If you like black coffee.... The suite had 2 TV's and 2 CD players!!
The pillows were awful and it took three requests to get these changed, which eventually they did. The aircon in the bedroom was not working, in the lounge area the aircon unit leaked, leaving a puddle on the floor but that was fixed the same day, and the door handle to the balcony was broken which took two days to fix. There is a safe, and ironing board and iron in the room, along with a daily top up of one large bottle of water, 2 cans of soft drinks and 2 of beer. We went running most days outside at around 7am when it was cool and requested two bottles of water each day instead of the usual one, after the first day when we had used the water provided and all of the 24 hour bars had no water at all when we asked, come back later we were told, but that never did get resolved despite asking for this to happen at the customer service office in reception.

Housekeeping was erratic, we got a foot mat in the bathroom twice and then had resort to using a towel when stepping out of the shower, as we slipped on the floor tiles. We got no small hand towels just very large bath sheets, which usually are rationed in other hotels. The bedding was also erratic, pillows and cushions appeared and then disappeared and for 3 days we had no top sheet, we did check the bed, nothing, just the original waffle white cover that was originally above the sheet, but then low and behold a sheet appeared again. the dual open ended pillowcases revealed less than clean pillows, so I suggest you don't look!! But we did get towel swans on a daily basis on the bed.

A really annoying start after having had great service at the Iberostar in Havanna. Come on Paradisus management, you can do better and the room should be checked properly before being given to a guest.

However... despite these relatively minor issues, we had come expecting a four star at best by European standards, and so relaxed and eventually got to really appreciate the good points about this hotel. Firstly, it is adults only and a walk along the fantastic beach past the heaving children-filled beaches of the other hotels soon had us breathing a sigh of relief that in fact the Paradisus is a really peaceful hotel. The grounds are immaculate, the beach is fantastic and the pools are great. Despite the large number of rooms it never felt busy at all. In fact we were able to use a small pool close by to our suite that had originally been designated for the Royal Service (which was based in the suites we were in until the new buildings were developed), and most days we had the pool to ourselves! . The beach area again has plentiful sunbeds and shade, but the first day were there we were mortified at the loud music being played by the "sports" team who appear at the beach around 10.30-12.30, then move to the pool area at 3.30. It seemed an intrusion at first when all we wanted to do was hear the sea, but as the days progressed we got to really appreciate it as it was done with humour, with "stretchy time", followed by beach volleyball and then aqua exercise. The four lads doing this are fantastic and made many people happy and it was not really an intrusion at all, really well done!!. On the beach which is fabulous white sand and with clear sea (no jellyfish or spiky anenomes) there are also pedaloes, kayaks and catamarans which are free so really great, and the sea is flat most days. The only downer is that you would expect to be able to go snorkelling (which of course you can) but don't expect to see much more than seaweed, as the area (like so many places in the world) is completely overfished.
I also took advantage of the free dive per day offered by the resort for qualified divers, 3 times per week, which was immense! Taking two dives per trip and paying for just one. There is a brand new Marina only 500m away where the dive centre is located, and whilst it is disorganised (they never actually asked to see my Padi card or held a proper briefing with buddy checks) it is really relaxed diving - collect by bus from the hotel at 9.15 so no need to get up early, and after two dives back at the hotel for around 2.30! Paradoxically for a country that is so poor, the diving centre itself is in brilliant condition - owned by the government with four lovely new covered fast hardboats, and amazingly with great new Scubapro gear. I had taken my own equipment expecting the worst in Cuba, but actually I would happily have used theirs. The first dive every day was free, and the second dive cost 50CUC (about £30). However, after your first day if you went on additional days the second dive was reduced to 20CUC (about (£13) which is a brilliant deal for two dives in water that is 29 degrees! The diving was not outstanding, but is interesting with a number of wrecks deliberately sunk to create a marine park about 20 years ago. No big fish, but some nice corals and reasonable number of the usual small reef fish. Lion Fish here are becoming a menace and eating their way through the reefs killing the fish population, and on one of the days the dive guides conducted a Lion fish spear fishing day as a way of trying to restore some equilibrium !
In the hotel itself there is a large buffet which opens for breakfast lunch and dinner, but the food here is not the best. A couple of themed evenings would have been appreciated as in our 11 day stay the food hardly varied at all, and it is a bit of a throwback to a 90's style package holiday on the Costas! The service in the buffet (for drinks) and in the Hilltop restaurant was often slow, and with one of our visits to the Hilltop, when it was only half full took them 30 minutes from giving us the menus to come and take a drinks order, then the food order - not good enough and not well managed, the Hilltop is also a very hot room.
There are a number of restaurants in the resort as well as the main buffet - an Italian, a French, an oriental and a Japanese, as well as the "international" at the Hilltop. In addition there is a "Rock Bar" open 24 hours a day for drinks and snacks, and a "Grill" near the beach that used to be a Cuban restaurant but is now only open short hours at lunchtime for barbequed food. However, whilst this sounds fantastic, the way they operate them is farcical, and again a throwback to yesteryear. All the restaurants don't actually open each night (not even the buffet), and you have to visit an "Information" room to book your restaurant meals a week in advance and are given a ticket. We had to do this twice as you can only book seven days in advance, with the next weeks opening days and availability for Monday onwards being available to guests on Friday afternoons. Really frustrating and how does that fit in with a five star hotel?! The food quality in each of the specialist restaurants was excellent - when you could get in to them. There were a couple of nights where despite booking early, we could not get a slot at any one of the restaurants, and on one of those nights decided that anything would be better than the buffet again and so chose to go to the brand new Mexican restaurant La Currho in the nearby Marina and pay for a meal out -it was excellent and only cost £30 including wine..
There is a "square" outside the restaurants where nightly entertainment was put on, but it was not consistently good and boy do the mosquitos bite both in the square and in reception - remember to take your spray.
There is a good gym next to the pool if you prefer to exercise inside, with treadmills, spinning cycles, steppers and weights. But spray and paper to wipe down your machine after use, would be a good idea, the towels provided are very small, just big flannels and these have to be requested, so a hand towel from your room, if you get these might be an idea.
The spa is also good but not up to the usual five star standard- the massages are fine but the overall experience is lacking.
Outside of the hotel there is very little to do. The new Marina is just being completed and is worth a visit - new shops are just opening up, and we also found a ten pin bowling alley which was great fun. There is also a Jazz club at the Marina and every Thursday in the music centre a performance by one of the many Buena Vista social club bands (including one of the original members) which should not be missed - a brilliant small "theatre" and a great night out for 15 CUC (£10) per head, tickets can be bought in the hotel reception. The Marina takes five minutes to walk to.
There is an open top tourist bus service that drives up the coast and back to Veradero town about 5 miles away regularly (about every 30 minutes). However the town itself has little to appeal.
Overall, we would return here again because despite the niggles it is a really relaxed environment. If only the management of the meals and the rooms were better, it would be exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Steve T,
Thank you so much for reporting your opinion on the Trip advisor’s Web site concerning your holidays at Paradisus Princesa del Mar.
I am really glad that you truly enjoyed our resort and its facilities despite some difficulties your mention on your review. We are going to work on these points in order you notice the improvements in you next visit. I hope you will return soon to visit us in the sunny island of Cuba and I send you my best regards form Varadero.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,991 - 1,997 of 5,965 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I went to Prardisus on a much needed vacation in June. Maybe not the best time to go south, but the weather was hot, the drinks were cold (for as long as they would be in +40), and the beach was absolutely beautiful.

If you are planning a trip to this resort, please please please stay in the Royal Service. Any bad reviews on here are clearly because a few people did not spend the extra money and stay on the obviously better side of the resort. We were the same way, we booked on the regular side and eventually were upgraded to the Royal Service side and kicked ourselves for not just paying the extra money.

Upon arrival to the hotel we noticed that it was like any other Caribbean destination. The hotel was clean, damp obviously from the weather, and everything looked so peaceful (another perk to travelling in the off season). We stayed in an "Ocean View" room. There was a view, but from the side of a building. The rooms were decent, not really expecting anything fancy since we didn't pay for it. It is worth mentioning that our rooms were always clean also. Every time we came back there was some fancy thing happening with towels and fresh, clean bedding, soap, shampoo, conditioner.

But please beware of the bug problem! There were no bugs in the room but the mosquito's were absolutely horrid! they were so small you could barely see them and my legs were eaten so badly by the 3rd day I could barely sleep. I didn't understand what was wrong as I had been wearing bug spray that I had brought with me. But what they don't tell you is that you need to purchase their mosquito spray as if you are travelling form Canada, ours is made to keep domestic bugs away.

We After day 3 we had spoken with the manager of Customer Relations just showing them our bites and explaining we couldn't even go on our deck, so they upgraded us to Royal Service. This is the point of our vacation where we felt incredibly stupid for not paying the extra money and staying there the whole time.

Royal Service has its own pool, restaurants, bars, lobby, and you even have your own butler. We had Kenya as our butler, and she was absolutely AMAZING! She was available when we needed her and helped with everything down to getting our boarding passes for us when we left. She made our reservations for all of the restaurants and got us into a few extra a la' carte's. We didn't end up eating at the buffet one more time.

The food on the regular side of the resort was ok. Everyone says how terrible the food is in Cuba and I couldn't DISAGREE more. On the royal service side, the food we had was delicious. We had everything from Beer Tar Tar to a Vegetable Risotto that I was looking for the recipe for when I got home. The buffet breakfast on the Royal Service side was also delicious and well worth getting up for and going to. Of course the food off of the resort was even better though. If you have the time and want to see some local cuisine. One in particular was at Waco's in Varadero, it is a little hard to find on your own but if you ask a cab, horse and buggy, or a Pedi cab driver they will take you there for less than 5 bucks and the food is mouth watering just thinking about it.

The hotel area on its own was nice too. It forecasted rain the whole week we were there and only saw 2 showers for about 5 minutes each. As soon as it was done there was staff out and about cleaning and drying all the chairs and tables. The only thing I found dirty were the public washrooms. Of course keeping a pool washroom is tough at the best of time, but the lobby and pool bathrooms both ran out of toilet paper quickly, had broken doors, and the a few out of service toilets that could have been fixed.

The pool and the pool bars were awesome, when the staff was tending them. I understand it is the off season and it wasn't incredibly busy but we still paid to be there and expected to be served no different. The drink were average like any all inclusive, full of alcohol but refreshing on a hot day. If you go to the pool on the regular side, just get up early to get a cabana, like 7 AM early if not 630. But the chairs and cabanas are kept fairly clean. Just watch for stray cats, there are a lot of those hanging out at the outdoor restaurants and pool especially in the evenings. they wont hurt you they are just looking for some love and food.

The beach was stunning! We spent the whole day there and im pretty sure I was in the water for 8 hours straight. There is a beach bar on both sides and both beaches are kept very clean. I would say that the beach is comparable to Bavaro Beach in Punta Cana Dom. Rep. White sand, blue and CLEAR water which was amazing, and it was so warm. Very pleasant to swim in. There wasn't huge waves either so it was nice just to lay and soak up the sun.

The nightly entertainment was very mediocre, the only one we really liked and took interest in was the magic show on Friday nights. It was very interesting and they involved the crowd quite a bit.

Overall our experience here was very pleasant and I would recommend staying on the Royal Service side of the hotel, I know we will be back! Otherwise spend your money elsewhere if you want to be pampered. And also remember that 5 star in Cuba is not the same as 5 Star anywhere else, so if you want a really nice and luxurious vacation, spend the money and do their 5 star in the best service possible.

Room Tip: Purchase your bug spray there! Even if it costs a bit more. Royal Service is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KTHudson1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Dear KTHudson1005,
Thank you so much for reporting your opinion on the Trip advisor’s Web site concerning your holidays at Paradisus Princesa del Mar.
I am really glad that you truly enjoyed our resort and its facilities after a bad start and I thank you for mentioning the friendliness and efficiency of our employees as well as the comfort of our rooms and the quality of our gastronomy.
Meantime, I send you my warmest regards form the sunny and friendly island of Cuba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is our second visit to this resort. On this trip there were 6 of us traveling here for my 50th birthday, and what a birthday it was! We stayed in royal service on this vacation and it was amazing. Hector was our butler on this visit, ( thank you very much Hector, your amazing). Thank you Macelina for the great times at the pool bar.The girls at the piano bar are a riot. The new addition to the royal service is amazing. The food, and food choices are a great improvement from our first trip. If you wish to venture off the resort, take a Stroll through Varadero, we had a great time checking out the local markets and dropped in to the local park and had a few pina coladas. The beaches are amazing. As for the management, I can't say anything negative about them, they were fully accommodating to our needs. If your looking for a couples location in Varadero I would recommend this one.
Looking forward to our return trip in Oct!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CoolerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Coolerguy,
Thank you very much for trust in our for second time and to choose us to celebrate your 50th birthday. We really appreciate your review, recommendations and would like to thank you for all kind words you write about our staff and your whole experience.
We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Princesa del Mar.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What can I say. Returned to Cuba after honeymoon on cayo coco 2009. The best part of staying at this resort was the three days we spent in Havana. Highly recommended and memory of a lifetime. This hotel however was boring. Rude maid. No atmosphere and average food. Absolutely boring. The best day at resort other than when away at Havana was a day it rained and we rode the open top,bus to varadaro twice. If you fancy nothing to do and two weeks bored go here. Otherwise keep looking.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Donna W,
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing our hotel.
We are very sad with the overall rate that you gave to us and we are sorry if you had not enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize if you found our atmosphere ´boring¨, We are really sad reading this, and it´s a pity we couldn’t talk about this during your stay.
We hope we can see you again in order to show you our improvements,
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed our vacation very much. The beach and grounds are beautiful!
The evening entertainment was very good, great outdoor shows. During the day it was pretty quiet but this was no fault of the staff as being a couples resort and only about 25% full, it wasn't very animated. This was fine by us as we were there to enjoy the beach and relax.
The biggest negative was the food, although there were some really good meals. We loved the cuban night at the buffet, the french restaurant and the Hilltop. The bbq was a turnoff as we saw the cook handling raw and cooked chicken with the same tongs and then we were served raw chicken and sausages. We then switched to the buffet for lunch, but being a fish lover i was a little disapointed to have my choices being limited to tilapia day after day. The coffee was terrible and the drinks watered down and just not as good as i've experienced in Mexico and the Dominican Republic. Our room was nice, the staff was great..just realize you're in Cuba. I'm sure this hotel is still better than most..

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Ana,
It was good to read your positive and constructive comments on Trip Advisor and I want to thank you for taking the time to report your true feeling on this site. However, we also apologize for the inconveniences you speak about. We have analyzed then and we have corrected these specific points you mentioned.
I hope you will return soon to visit us in the sunny island of Cuba and I send you my best regards form Varadero.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel was our first three nights of our Honeymoon we stayed in a Junior Suite sea view Royal Service room, which was huge, enormous bed that was very comfortable, large bath, great shower and a separate sitting room.

The quality of all the food was excellent, whether it was room service, the hilltop restaurant or the Japanese restaurant. Despite other reviews we found the temperature of the Japanese restaurant was warm but not uncomfortably so.

The cocktails were well made and tipping definitely improved them. Even on one of their public holidays the staff were great and accommodating

Now to money, I didn't find advice on money for Cuba very helpful, my experience was take some sterling, Visa worked everywhere and Mastercard (post office travel card) worked nowhere. If you ask for $1 notes when changing money on the complex you'll be given them, otherwise the smallest note they will give you is $5 which can make tipping add up quickly. The exchange rate was as god as anywhere.

We should have received a free airport transfer, but Trailfinders who booked our trip charged us for the transfer and wouldn't reimburse us, when the manager found out he sent a bottle of 11yr old Santiago de Cuba rum to our room.

Having subsequently travelled around more of Cuba we came to realise just how good the hotel was.

Now we've experienced Royal Service we would definitely seek out other Melia hotels, by far the best all inclusive experience we've ever had.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mlindop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear “mlindop” from Bristol (U.K), I would like to thank you for taking the time to report your feeling on Trip advisor after your stay in our resort and so, to share it with our readers.
It is good to see that you gave us the best possible ranking, qualifying so our hotel of “excellent”. I am so glad to see that you really enjoyed your stay at the hotel and particularly the quality of our restaurants and bars.
Thank you for qualifying your experience with us as: “by far the best all inclusive experience we've ever had”.
We hope to see you soon back to our resort and I send you my warmest regards from the sunny and friendly island of Cuba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Paradisus Princesa del Mar between June 29th to July 6th, 2014. We are in our mid 30’s. This was our first time to Varadero, but 2nd time to Cuba. We are typical travelers to Punta Cana, however decided to book a week in Cuba due to some great last minute deals. We did not upgrade to the Royal Service.

I must omit, I was a bit leery traveling to Cuba as the last time we traveled to Cuba was not one to remember. This time I was pleasantly surprised.

Upon our arrival (11:00am), we were quickly checked in, and two Bellboys took us on a golf cart to our room. This was great as we thought we would not be able to get into our room till later on. We stayed in Room 6236 which is one of the closer buildings to the ocean. Our room was located on the 2nd floor with a partial view of the ocean. I would assume if we were on the 3rd floor, you would have had a better view of the ocean. The room looked recently renovated, with a flat screen TV, very clean washroom and tiled shower stall with a glass wall. Within 15 minutes of us settling in, the phone rang and it was guest services inquiring if everything was okay with the room. This was a nice touch to ensure that we were satisfied with the room. Our Housekeeper Dayami ensured our room was clean everyday and changed our linens when requested.

RESORT:
The grounds are well maintained, and I could not believe the pristine condition of the pools. The water was crystal clear and the pools were constantly being looked after while we were there. Jesus and Gustavo were responsible for the conditions of the pools and everyday they worked so hard to keep the areas clean, and even provided you with an umbrella to offer shad from the sun. Great job Gentlemen. We also met Danny who was one of the Groundskeepers. One hot, humid day he was busy trimming the trees and I walked up to him to tell him what a great job he was doing and gave him a small tip. He thanked me and told me to wait a moment. Danny returned with a coconut that was cut for my wife. The returned favour or “gratitude” was something that I will never forget. The staff at this resort work tirelessly everyday and we appreciated it.

FOOD:
There where 4 a la cart restaurants: Japanese (Hibachi), Oriental, French, and Italian. We ate at the Japanese and the Oriental. I suggest that you contact the Resort before you travel to get reservations when traveling during the busy season. There also was the Grand Buffet that was open. The wait staff was fantastic. Every morning we would be waited on by Eledis and Mercy. They quickly found out that we liked hot sauce with our eggs and every morning when we arrived, hot sauce would be sitting at our table. Both ladies were very personable and it was a pleasure to meet both of them. We also had the pleasure of being waited on by Yosvani at the a la carte restaurants.

There was a good variety of food. Cleanliness was apparent in all areas where the food was being served. Raw meat consisting of chicken, turkey, sausage, beef, pork (properly chilled and handled) was available to be cooked by a chef to your liking. Joel who was one of the chef’s who manned the pasta station was also very personable and we got to know him quite well over the course of the week. He really took pride in making our pasta dishes and crepes.

Don’t forget the there are two other restaurants that you can eat lunch at. The Port Royal Cuban Restaurant (by the beach) offers an open fire pit where they cook a variety of meats (Turkey legs, Shrimp, Fish). The other, Rock House Restaurant, offers a light menu including great thin pizza and its open 24 hours.

STAFF:
As mentioned in my Title, customer service was paramount while we stayed at this resort. Miriela (Pool Bar), and Yuniel and Yaimai (Piano Bar) were very friendly and spoke very good English. If I was to say what would bring me back to the resort it would be staff like Yuniel and the Events Staff especially Freddy, Brian, Skull, Felix, Dianys and the ladies (Sorry never got all of your names). The events staff work so hard to motivate the guests, but unlike some resorts, they are not pushy. They will ask once and then move on. We participated everyday. Thanks to Freddy for the dance lessons, and Mayte for the Spanish lessons. Also thank you to Peter in the Gym.

Finally I want to mention 2 examples of how this resort went out of their way to make our week a long lasting memory. Firstly, we were celebrating our 12th Wedding Anniversary. The one night we ate at the Japanese a la carte restaurant, we were surprised with our own table and to finish of the meal, staff brought out a cake to celebrate our milestone. Lastly, as we sat with Yuniel in the Piano Bar one night we had the opportunity to meet Manuel Agullo. He asked if we had plans for dinner the following night and invited us to try the Miramar Restaurant located in the Royal Service Section. The next night we met up with him and he took us in a golf cart to the Restaurant. We enjoyed a lovely meal (Chateaubriand, and Gnocchi) and were spoiled by the exceptional service by Joanna, who ended up to be Yuniel’s wife.

Be sure to look past some of the comments posted on the site about this resort. It’s safe, clean, friendly, and the staff met our every expectation. This resort is great value. We would definitely return to this resort.

Lastly, if you tip, make sure to use CUC. If from Canada, do not give Loonies or Toonies as staff cannot exchange this.

Thank you Mr. Martinez Perez to you and your exceptional staff for creating lasting memories for my wife and I.

Craig and Robin Kummer

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director Genera... P, Director General at Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear “CraigK” from Toronto (Canada), thank you so much for taking the time to report your true feeling after your stay at the Paradisus Princesa del Mar on the Trip Advisor’s site.
It is always so good to see that we full filled your expectations and that you left our resort with such a good memory of your stay amongst us.
Thank you for highlighting the friendliness of our employees as well as the quality of our food and your satisfaction concern our services overall.
We will definitely post on our “hall of fame” the employee’s names you mentioned on your comments.
We truly hope to see you soon back in our resort and, meantime, I send you my best regards from the sunny island of Cuba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.7 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
4.6 mi away
Iberostar Bella Vista
Iberostar Bella Vista
#13 of 64 in Varadero
407 reviews
1.9 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#2 of 64 in Varadero
6,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,599 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa

Address: Auropista Sur, Ctra. Las Morlas, KM 19 1/2, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#3 Business Hotel in Varadero
#4 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#9 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: £167 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort & SPA is located in Varadero Beach, the Cuban sun and beach tourist destination for excellence. This stunning Ultra All-Inclusive 5-star hotel is designed for adults only over 18. The property houses 630 rooms equipped with modern comforts and provides a varied gastronomic offer, daily activities, swimming pool and meeting rooms which convey an ambiance of quietness and service. Discover the magical peace of this paradise, recommended for weddings, honeymoons, incentive trips and spa/wellness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Hotel Varadero
Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Resort And Spa
Paradisus Princesa Del Mar Varadero
Paradisus Princesa Varadero
Princesa Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing