We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blau Marina Varadero Resort
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Okay, we're a lot late with this review.....life gets busy when you are not on vacation.
Back in Dec. 2013 we had the pleasure of staying in this fabulous resort. The staff here are fantastic, very friendly and they took great care of us. From the moment we entered the vast lobby, till we left, we had a wonderful time. The lovely ladies at the front desk took care to make sure we were checked in quickly....and one always made sure that we had a bottle of water for our children (it helps if you ask politely). We took a private tour to Havana, which we loved, but the kids found boring.....no beach or pool or Disney in Havana, the fact that it is a beautiful city and a world UNESCO heritage site meant nothing to the kids.
If we had to complain about anything it would be the lack of clean towels for the beach....but that is not the fault of the hotel, but rather they system used to run the hotels in Cuba. We had fun with the Roberto (the young boy whose job it was to hand out towels daily) asking him in Spanish for towels, laughing as we knew he had none.....he was cool with our teasing.
The food is bland by our standards, but we were cautioned about the food prior to going.....we were told not to eat anything cold (ie. salads, cold foods etc.) but to stick to hot food. Blau Marina has cooks that cook the food right in front of you, if you want your chicken/beef cooked well done, just ask them and they will do it. The kids ate lots of waffles, pasta etc.
We also took in the Spanish/Cuban restaurant & Italian restaurant onsite (you need to make reservations) they were both very good.

I will try to find the name of our tour guide to Havana and update this post (or post another review) she was fantastic, and took us to a great authentic Cuban restaurant.

BTW, credit cards are barely used on the island, so make use of the currency exchange. Tipping is encouraged as that is how the staff make money, so tip your servers, cooks, hostesses, guides etc. Every little bit helps them......they don't expect it though, so don't feel obligated, they do their job wonderfully with a smile all the time.

I'm all over the place with this one. Our room had a pool view. It had a rather old TV that we never used....why would you when there is a gorgeous beach less than a minute away. The pool noise never bothered us.....you are on vacation, as are others, have fun. If you want to go somewhere quiet....this might not be the place for you.....if you want to have fun, meet people this resort is great.

Last but not least....THE BEACH.....gorgeous. Want to know more, then go there, it will be worthwhile.

Room Tip: There was construction across the street, so if you can get a room on the 'ocean side' even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JD_plus_two_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula G, General Manager at Blau Marina Varadero Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting a very positive words about your stay at our hotel though some time has passed since you visited us. We will pass on your comments to all staff named and we hope to receive your visit in the near future.
With Best Regards,
Paula Gili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    703
    531
    272
    242
See reviews for
780
807
91
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Girls trip April 2014. Fantastic service. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and bright. Quite spacious. As with most Varadero hotels...beach was wonderful. Good food. Only negative would be MOSQUITOs!!!!! Bugs were insane!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samntysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula G, General Manager at Blau Marina Varadero Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments that help us to improve.
We are working hard to avoid mosquitoes carrying out strict fumigation program.
We would be honoured if you ever decide to come again.

Best Regards,
Paula Gili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just got back after 10 beautiful days. There was 4 of us and we all enjoyed ourselves.
Even the food, there was something you could find on the buffet you could eat and the a la carte restaurants were good. The service was amazing in all the restaurants and the bartenders at night are amazing. if you want a good coffee in the morning go to the main bar better than the buffet coffee. The main thing wrong at the buffet was the toaster which took for every to cook and caused delays.. The 2 girls responsible for the a la carte booking and booking tours were exceptional. If you would like to go to Havana ask them to book you with George and his group and you can ask for Lisa as a tour guide. They take you in a old car we had a 1956 Chev amazing. It was only 40 cuc but we gave Lisa and our driver Carlos who was great a tip. The beach was gorgeous we spent all day on the beach and only went to the pools twice during our 10 days. the suggestions I have for the beach there should be a snack bar at the beach if you want to grab something fast and not have to go up to the buffet. The only bad thing about our whole trip was the 2 public bathrooms at the resort NO TOILET SEATS and only 1 bathroom working in each bathroom the toilet seats were taken but the bathrooms were very very clean. Another thing if you go off the resort to Varadero or to Havana bring toilet paper with you for you will be charged 1 cuc when you use the bathhrooms and they give you 5 squares only. If you want a beautiful beach resort you have to go here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula G, General Manager at Blau Marina Varadero Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Karen,
Thank you for posting your experience at our Resort that despite some details had fulfill your expectations.
We take into account all your suggestions and we would be delightful to receive your visit in a soon future.
With Best Regards,
Paula Gili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is at the very tip of the Varadero peninsula. It consists of several building, each with about 15 to 20 rooms.
We were in Unit 17 real close to the beach. The beach is of course the main attraction and is very wide and also very quiet at this location.
Since I was there for kitesurfing with a bunch of friends, the space (and the wind) were well appreciated.
The food is a notch under what I was used to in Cuba, but still OK.
I would go back there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clarencephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

First of all I have to say that i'm cuban and i personally felt very bad reading the reviews,but i have to give you people the credit.I just came back from blau marina and i was so disappointed.The property is really nice and night shows were excellent,but that's about the only two good things i can say about this resort.
"Blau marina supervisors" helloooooo where were you guys,the hotel is being flush down the toilet right in front of your face.Someone is not doing his job here and the management is responsible for it.
Rooms were not very clean, how come you dare to put stained towels and sheets (yellow from poop) in a room ready to use,don't you know is digusting, and then when i told supervisor about it she said it's not the hotel's fault,towels go to a central laundry and get washed over there(lame excuse),not my problem i paid for a 5 star and obviously is not.
Food was not good ,but i could deal with it.Breakfast shift and night shift at loby bar were very good,but lunch and dinner workers at buffet were terrible,you have to chase them to get you water,a spoon,soda or anything.It's my opinion that people dealing with tourists need to at least be able to communicate inEnglish.Buffet is full of flies while you eat.
5 STARS I LET YOU RATE IT YOURSELF . NOTE: CUBANS ARE NOT LIKE THIS. thakns

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank massiel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you're looking for a lazy holiday, in a remote destination - this could be just for you.

Our holiday was all - inclusive, but the food wasn't the best, and everyone that we spoke to, including ourselves, suffered with tummy bugs on & off for several days.

Blau Marina offered hot and cold buffet each night with the opportunity to dine in a further two restaurants - but all were disappointing.

In addition, whilst the entertainment team tried very hard to please, they were unsuccessful. You're restricted further in that there is no where else to go in the evening. We walked to the local marina, but this appeared to be another all inclusive package, with no night life.

This hotel does actually have a disco - so we went - but it was closed lol. Whether July is low season or not, I don't know - but I hope future holiday makers have more success.

The "Michael Jackson" night is worth staying put for - but sadly, over 7 days, that was about it.

Staff are all lovely - but as I recently commented in another Cuban revue - PLEASE buy mosquito repellent. For someone that doesn't normally attract the little blighters, I ended up in a bad way, and £120 lighter, because I needed to see a doctor, prescriptions, antibiotics, creams. Check to see if your injections are up to date before you fly.

Reception are happy to exchange Sterling for Cuban peso, but they wont change it back ... recommending that you change it at the airport when you leave - but trust me, the exchange rate at the airport is dia, so just spend it - saving the all important 25 cuban peso for your departure tax.

Happy Holidays!

Room Tip: Remote. Sea View beautiful - beach is amazing too. A very nice change that you don't have to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

No service for non Cubans during our stay
What a week . This was not our first time in Cuba. We've stayed at 3 star resorts, 4 star resorts and 5 star resorts in Cuba and I would rate this resort as maximum 3 star resort because of the overall experience. The first weekend it was full by the local Cubans wich at first I thought it was cool since this is a low season and probably a good for their economy. After the first night of hearing fights and children screaming and running down the corridors at 2AM , I realised there is a huge culture difference. Very little respect for others The pool water was green and the air stank of sewage and pesticides. We gave traveled a lot and this is the first time that the locals ( in this case the cubans) staying at the resort were arogant and made tourists not feel welcome. At least at the beach it was quiet and the beach was great. The catamaran excursion is not worth it, snorkel without fins and the food they serve on the beach makes me think of a tavern (fish stew and canned fruits). At the end of the day we were put on the wrong bus and we had to argue with the driver so he would bring us back to our resort. Training on customer service would be required. In general the staff would prefer serving cubans than non cubans I think it might be a Varadero thing? Food was OK actually very good sometimes but overall. ?.... Never going back to this resort

Room Tip: Never on first floor bugs. ?.. ocean view if you want it to be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula G, General Manager at Blau Marina Varadero Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry that your stay has not lived up your expectations.
It is true that during your stay the hotel was full of locals and some people could have been annoying and uneducated. We apologize if you had the impression that preferential treatment was given to the premises at any time because that was not our intention, and we strive to accommodate equally to all our guests.
We will continue working to improve and we would like to thank you for your comments.
If you ever change your mind we would love to give it a go and come back to visit us in order to provide you an unforgettable stay that you deserve.
Best Regards
Paula Gili
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
1.6 mi away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
5.1 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
5,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
#36 of 63 in Varadero
4,850 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Memories Varadero
Grand Memories Varadero
#34 of 63 in Varadero
1,922 reviews
5.5 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Marina Varadero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Marina Varadero Resort

Property: Blau Marina Varadero Resort
Address: Autopista Sur final Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blau Marina Varadero Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blau Marina Varadero Resort***** All Inclusive, is a luxurious hotel surrounded by beautiful gardens and unforgettable views that offers its clients superb service and comfortable environment. The 548 rooms and all the installations of 5 star All Inclusive hotel Blau Marina Varadero Resort***** offer the perfect combination for memorable family vacations. Blau Marina Varadero Resort***** offers its clients: Complete Twin rooms, Twins with Sea View and Suites All Inclusive package 6 Restaurants 6 Bars Daily and night animation 2 tennis courts 1 universal court Beach volleyball Non-motorized water sports (catamaran, snorkelling, windsurf) Fitness and aerobics rooms Parking 3 pools for adults 1 pools for children Playground Sport Club (library, billiard, ping pong...) Conference hall with capacity of 300 seats Business centre Souvenirs and boutique Wifi (Looby and meeting room. With charge) Blau Marina Varadero Resort***** ALL INCLUSIVE: Breakfast, lunch and dinner in Buffet restaurant Typical Cuban dinner once a week Selection of national and international drinks (top brands with extra cost) 2 tennis courts Courts reservation and necessary equipment 1 universal court Beach volleyball Petanca Non-motorized water sports (catamaran,water cycles, snorkelling, windsurf) Fitness and aerobics rooms Parking Access to all the shows in “La Senora de Atocha” every night Mini bar daily filled with 1 bottle of water, 2 soft drinks, 2 bottles of local beer 3 pools for adults 1 pool for children Area for children in main pool Playground 3 dinners per booking per week in our "a la carte" restaurants (reservation required) Snacks in Pool Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Blau Marina Varadero Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing