We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were at the Blau for one week this July. Traveling the strip, we knew when we had arrived - the unique structure of the hotel just pops, and it was more impressive than others have noted in their reviews. Our travel agent had formally requested with the Blau that we get a high floor, ocean view and a king size bed - well we got the fifth floor (low), a car park view and one of out of the three requests, a king size bed. Upon entering our room we noticed right away that the dresser door was broken and hanging off the hinge, as well the furniture was badly worn and in some cases not even level. We were not expecting perfection but you don't put people in a room where things are broken. Even the sliding closet doors would not close properly, you had to play with them every time you wanted to get in the closet. The rooms are big and spacious but the finer details are really lacking. The sheets are rough, stained or showing their wear and tear on the edges with holes and fraying. The bathroom towels often looked brown, when they were supposed to be white and suffered the same problems as the sheets with holes and frayed edges as well as some staining. A real turn off! The one positive about the room is the air conditioning, it keeps it cool but in order for the electricity to run your room key needs to be placed in the power slot by the door - TRICK!! - bring an old gift card or hotel card with you (something with a strip on the back) so when you leave the room the air will keep running and your room will be cool for bed time. The hotel pool although very large is in desperate need of some shaded areas, the first day we arrived at the pool by late afternoon and it was like bath water and offered no refreshment from the humid weather. There are very few shady areas around the pool so during the day it is hard to avoid the sun. The beach is a quick walk past the pool but it is very short and crowded with palm umbrella covers and chairs. Once in a while you will have a very strong sewer smell as well. The FOOD - well I don't know what to say. There are some people that really seemed to enjoy the food at the Blau - but I have to tell you that we really struggled with the food. Now I knew going to Cuba that the food would be an issue but it was extremely disappointing - the food was lacking in care and often the meat was full of bones and fat and there were a lack spices or salt used - basically tasteless. The buffet offerings were simple, for example a large tray of corn or carrots, always fish but watch out for the bones. I did not think you could mess up pasta but it was very poorly made and was sweet and watered down. There were plenty of cold cuts, cheese and salad but very repetitive, and thinly cut. Now the positive part to the restaurants was the servers, we had some gems like Rodolfo who is amazing, and is a floater between the pool bar (pm), buffet, lobby bar and piano bar - he helped make buffet time more enjoyable. The piano bar was our usual venture at night as the shows were disappointing due to the sound system at the hotel that caused the voices/singing to have a piercing effect. The piano bar entertainment for the week included 2 different pianists, and a guitar singing duo. The pianist on Thurs. and Sat. night is awesome and very humble and cute. We were disappointed that the guitar duo when not getting enough attention (i.e. tips) headed out to the patio to continue their show and to get more attention - this was in connection with the head waiter. The activity team that worked the pool area was quiet and did not spend all day on the microphone which was nice, we have had this experience at other hotels and it was nice to see that did not happen here. It is to be noted though that some of the activity coordinators did not go out of there way to start activities and would call it on the microphone and then get sidetracked talking to "friends" they have made and not follow through on the activity ignoring anyone who showed up for the event - this happened at the bingo activity. Again not cool! We took the day trip to Havana, this is a must when you are so close and would recommend that to anyone visiting Cuba. I will say though that the trip was very set up for the tourists to spend extra time at certain bars, museums and stores to intentionally give them business. Unfortunately, we were really disappointed with this Blau hotel especially after reading the reviews in anticipation of our trip, and originally with our booking of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravellingCanucks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,539
    2,104
    519
    131
    75
See reviews for
1,601
3,235
173
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,554)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent a week at Blau Varadero with 2 other families including 6 kids aged 4 to 11. Overall, we had a great time but parts of the resort varied from excellent to poor. This was late June and the weather was very hot and humid (low 30’s, feel like 40 degrees C). It is low season in Cuba so my comments are based on a resort that was probably 50% full. Our family won’t be rushing back to Cuba (we like Mexico and Hawaii better) but I would definately recommend the Blau if you are planning to visit Varadero.

Service/Check In – Good. Check in and out was smooth. There is a bank at the front desk and the exchange rate here is pretty good. This resort has won some awards for service and I observed the managers actively controlling and coaching staff on service quality (in the restaurants especially).

Resort Bars/Grounds – Resort is beautiful and grand feeling. Plenty of space in the Lobby and Atrium. However, we did not spend a lot of time here because it was so hot. In the evenings, there was a nice breeze that makes the pool areas very comfortable but, unfortunately, these breezes did not make it into the Atrium Bar, Lobby, or Entertainment areas. It was just plain uncomfortable being inside the common areas for very long. Elevators are pretty bad. Out of the 4 in total, 2 on each side - at least one was broken at any one time. Wait times could be over 6-7 minutes and we often took the stairs.

Rooms – Rooms were adequate; clean enough, comfortable but nothing special. Outside deck was roomy with 2 plastic chairs as well and a very useful drying rack. Cleaning service is fine but you may find it difficult to getting anything else done (e.g. our safe was locked when we arrived and never fixed after asking twice). Some minor nits: Tiny ants were rampant but they did not bother us too much. Minibar is pretty sparse with 1 water, 2 beers, 2 colas (no juice or anything else). Paper seems to be a luxury – limited tissue, no writing paper and very poor quality toilet paper.

Beach/Pool – Beach was awesome, white sand, warm crystal clear blue water. Shallow and very calm. We were very comfortable with our young kids playing in the water with only moderate adult supervision. Downside it there was no boogie boarding of body surfing to speak of. Instead, we took the kids out on the paddle boats which they loved. Pool beautiful and very large, warm and clean. Was split into two depths - 3.6 feet and 4.6 feet. There were no shallow areas for toddlers except near the steps. There were always plenty of chairs but shade was limited (and in very high demand during June)

Entertainment/Activities – Staff was excellent during the daytime activities and did a great job getting folks involved. Never used the Kid’s Club. They hosted some very entertaining events and contests at the pool during the afternoon. Evening shows were the typical all inclusive types – circus, magic, vegas style singing/dancing, there was water ballet at the pool on evening as well.

Dining – Food quality was fine but variety and availability was very disappointing. Unlike other all inclusives we've been to (e.g. Dreams), I dont think I ever really "looked forward" to meals here. It was more like the cafeteria at work - its good enough plus there is not where else to eat. I’ll elaborate more to give you a good sense of what we experienced. And keep in mind, the Blau is reputed to have some of the best food in Varadero.

Main buffet inside the resort building which is open for breakfast and dinner only. Mostly the same things, quality was fine. Line ups for grill station or custom pasta station can be long. Salad bar was limited in selection with no salad dressing other than bottles of vinegar and oil. Mangos were awesome – how come we can’t get these at home? Unfortunately, you have to go to the pool bar to get a latte, espresso, etc. since they only serve coffee. And it was so hot that the ice cream in the buffets was always melted

The lunch buffet near the pool is open for about 3 hours during lunch. Similar to main buffet except it’s not air conditioned. Line ups for grilled food can be long.

There is a small stand that is open from lunch until late afternoon serving hot dogs, burgers and fries. Between about 2pm and 6pm, this is the only food available (aside from grilled cheese).

A Mexican a la carte restaurant open for dinner only. This is the same location as the lunch buffet. You are allowed to go here 2x each week. Food selection and quality is inferior to the buffet. We cancelled the second reservation after going there once.

Fine Dining a la carte open for dinner only. You are allowed to go here 1x per week. The food and service here is pretty good. There are some additional drink selection only available here as well (e.g. after dinner liquors) They have a quartet playing music and the place feels very classy. (though a bit too formal for very young kids).

A 24 hour beach bar which serves grilled cheese sandwiches. From about 9pm to 8am, this is the ONLY food available. And you have to walk all the way to the beach to get it.

No room service, no café, no bakery or dessert area.

Room Tip: Higher floor for views. Lower floors to avoid elevator wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MekkTekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just returned from 12 days at this hotel. I will give a balanced review, but I do agree with what 'Heljoz' has said on some of the negatives. There are some very good parts to the hotel.

BUFFET

The Breakfast and Evening buffet was excellent, possibly the best we have had in the Caribbean. There is a good choice of food and the staff are attentive and come across as naturally happy.

THE BARS

The Lobby Bar and Piano Bar are great places to drink in the evening, and the service in both of these were very good.

At the Pool Bar it is not as good, as they don’t serve in any order and it is based on familiar faces and who they make eye contact with – this can be a minor frustration.

(If they go to serve you, and you point out that someone else was next, they don’t then come back to you as a matter of course.)

CHILLING OUT

The beach is beautiful and when we stayed the sea was so warm. If you do not want to sun bathe in on the beach or by the pool there are gardens with sun-loungers and hammocks, which are a great place to chill.

I am not sure why they have music bellowing out on the beach and unlike the rest of the Caribbean don't understand that people like to 'chill' on the beach?

WI-FI

If you have children that depend on Wi-Fi this is something to be aware of as unlike other Caribbean islands you can not buy weekly passes, and each card only allows for one user – you need to factor this into your calculations.

Wi-Fi is 4.50 CUC per hour.

Reception did not tell us the ‘special way’ to log out, so although we logged off as usual, the first time our hour ran out.

(ask about 1.1.1.1)

RECEPTION (avoid!)

The Reception area is very poor and although there may seem a lot of staff behind the desk, only one of them is ever trained to ‘change up money’, give out Wi-fi cards, or is able to deal with any ‘non-basic’ questions or enquires.

This is very odd, as this is the ‘front of house’, and this poor service is in marked contrast to the other parts of the hotel, where the service is good.

You can have a 15-minute wait, so to avoid going to Reception:

1. Buy Wi-fi cards in bulk.
2. Change all your money up when you arrive and split this into 3, 5, and 10 CUCs (for tipping)
3. Don’t charge anything to your room.

THE GRILL

Eating in the Buffet and Mexican (Las Adelfas) restaurant was very difficult due to the humidity and lack of air. There was no air conditioning and it is inhospitable.

The daytime buffet is awful - lots of queuing and it is a very dark place to eat.

During the day the beach bar is an alternative place to eat where you can get sandwiches and burgers.

The food in the Mexican is poor, the service was okay, but I agree with 'Heljoz' as we found the food barely edible.

A lot of customers commented how difficult it was to eat here in the evening, as it was so humid.


PALMA REAL

By contract the Palma Real was superb. There was air conditioning and the food and service was excellent. It is a very nice restaurant and the best we have encountered within any Caribbean all-inclusive resort.

SMOKY HOTEL

It is a ‘smoky’ hotel, so if you are a non-smoker there are not many non-smoking areas and the ashtrays are not cleaned regularly.

People chuck cigarette butts out of their balcony, and because of the shape of the hotel, don’t be surprised to find these butts in your balcony.

The staff was quick to stop people smoking in the pool. (classy!)

LIFTS

Waiting times can be frustrating.


IN SUMMARY


Overall - We had a nice time and it is good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Not long come back in July. Hotel was great and very relaxing. Can't fault the staff or service. Everyone happy to help even late on in the beach bar. The beach is one of the best I have been on. I just hope that it stays as clean as it is. The sea is so warm you could make tea in it ( though I would not recommend you did that). Swimming with dolphins is an experience I will never forget and well worth the money.Try and keep away from going at the weekend though as a lot locals went to the show and it was a little packed. I would certainly go back to Cuba and the hotel. What was nice was the general manager made a point of going round asking how everyone was. Nice touch

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chislehurtscave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I should start by making the point that this was my first all inclusive and my first time to Cuba so this review should be read in that context.
We booked a room with a king bed and an extra bed facing the road outside the hotel, not facing the pool which was another option. We stayed for a week. The room was big enough and sitting on the balcony was nice. The room came with a free mini bar restocked every day but don't get excited, it was basically a fridge with two cans of Tukola, two cans of beer and a bottle of water. We didn't really bother with it.
The TV was old with a curve screen and had many channels to choose from but if you don't speak Spanish it had two or three at the most. You would have to say that the beds were pretty poor. Our double bed was low to the ground, hard with a thin mattress. My son's bed was put in the room shortly after we checked in and honestly resembled the kind of bed you would see in prison. He was not impressed but got used to it after a couple of days.
The bathroom was nicely done and had all the things you would need and expect. I am a little confused about the packet of coffee left in the room with tea bags, sugar etc. there was nothing to make it with? Was it for show?
We were facing one of four bars in the hotel. The Piano bar which started around 8.00pm till about 11.00. The music was lovely and the waiter serving the drinks regularly yet sporadically burst in to song with his wonderful singing voice which was a bonus experience the evening we spent at that bar, surrounded by greenery, comfy chairs and a range of free drinks. It was a memorable experience, but less so the nights we were trying to sleep fighting the applause of the crowd, the soprano voice and the loud piano, which did keep us awake once or twice.
The interior of the hotel, especially in the lobby was beautiful. It felt spacious and relaxing.
It was easy to navigate around the different areas of the hotel and staff were always on hand to help. Down the stairs through the bar you could walk outside and turn right to the mini golf which was basic, the tennis and football area which was very good or you could go straight on to the pool area which had four sections a and a bar, access to the Mexican lunch and dinner restaurant, the pool bar and the hot dog/hamburger stand all of which were included in the price.
The pool was great and always had a family friendly atmosphere. There were kids of many ages mostly happy to mix. There was a fun feel especially when the staff initiated the included free activities such as pool volley ball, water polo and adult games. There was music most of the day and a party atmosphere. You could stay there all day and we did once or twice. Beyond the pool was the beach and the beach bar. The beach was sparsely populated except hotel guests. The sand was a little dark but clean and the water was warm, clear, settled and shallow and was ideal for swimming or just splashing about. There were a number of water sports available also free of charge. It was very hot but there were plenty of places to shade.
The food? Our first meal was at the main buffet which is where you have most of your meals (breakfast and dinner).
The room is massive and the food is beautifully presented. There was a wide range of hot and cold meat, fish, salad, veg, bread, pasta and deserts. There were cooking stations offering sliced meats or meat from the grill. You would have to say that some of the food is not that great, a little canteen like. The bacon was greasy and fatty, the pineapple was tarty and under ripe, some of the meat was chewy and some of the deserts reminded me of school dinners. That said the mango was the best I have ever tasted. The Cuban dishes were excellent. You could eat as much as you like and there was always something that was satisfying. You would have to say that the service was excellent and this was consistent throughout the hotel. Drinks were served and cutlery was put down immediately as you moved from plate to plate.
As part of the package you are able to dine a la carte once in the fine dining restaurant and twice in the Mexican per week. Both are excellent. The Mexican has a band that play songs for you and are brilliant. The food is delusion and the service is outstanding. The fine dining restaurant also had a band and did requests. I'm not that cultured but they too were amazing and did requests. The food again was fantastic and the service was one of the best I have experienced. The setting was beautiful and we did not want to leave.
The hotel is not perfect. It could do with an ATM. The lifts break down quite often and the electric comes on and off sometimes in the room. The beds are not great, the mini bar is a token gesture and the the spa facilities should open the same time as the gym so that I'm not sat in the sauna with a belly full of breakfast!
That said the service throughout the hotel is of a very high standard. If something is wrong or doesn't work, the staff are on it. There is food and drink available 24 hours a day. There are shops on site, a games room for the kids, evening entertainment of varying forms and good quality (especially the singing and dancing), there are excursions available in the lobby to Various places with an extra charge and you always feel safe to let your kids run around.
Would I go again? If flying from Europe I might be inclined to try somewhere new? From here in the Caribbean? Probably.
A memorable experience in a unique country.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stubowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Rooms: You can feel every spring in the bed; parts of the bed are collapsed.
Lighting in rooms insufficient: many bed side lamps which don't give enough light, light bulb on table lamp was fused. There is no ventilation in the room and the vent in the bathroom does not work.
When we arrived the room was not done up properly, and only on the second day we were given toothbrush, shaving kit, slippers and bath robes. We got a sparkling wine bottle in our room, but no glasses or ice bucket, so unless we decided to drink it warm from the bottle, we couldn't really enjoy it.
There was also no coffee or tea on the first day we arrived, although this was replenished later.
The room was clean although the chairs and table on the balcony was very dusty, and so were the shelves inside the wardrobe.

There are only 4 painfully slow small lifts for the entire 13 floors of the hotel, which meant numerous waiting times...

There is no air-conditioning in any of the lobbies of the hotel, so it’s stuffy, humid and there are loads of mosquitoes. The buffet restaurant has a very faint air - con that is hardly detectable. The games room has some air-con but only just and whenever we had a couple of games of pool or table tennis, we ended up sweating terribly, and then sweating some more before getting to our room, as we waited in the stuffy, hot lobby for the lift to come, and the lift has no air circulation.

There was only one restaurant which had good air-con unfortunately the restaurant had a very bad smell of decaying garbage, which hit you on entrance and stayed with you throughout the dinner.

There did not seem to be any effort by the hotel to control the problem of mosquitoes on its grounds with smoke or special chemicals. This made it very unpleasant for us to go out or stay in the lobby or hotel bars and restaurants in the evenings as we were bitten all the time.

The food. What a disaster!
In the mexican a la carte restaurant it was so bad, we actually left hungry. The starter was too fatty, the main overcooked, chicken dry, fried banana crisp soggy, the "brownie", served with a slice of fruit and nothing more than cheap chocolate sponge, with a layer of sugary layer on top.
The second a la carte restaurant stunk of garbage, the seafood soup was inedible, indistinguishable bowl of goo, the curry chicken starter was in a soggy pastry, and not actually tasting of curry. The fish and prawn main was nice, but the carbonara was nowhere near the original. Tiramisu had no alcohol or coffee in it and has not seen a drop of mascarpone.

The buffet restaurant served pretty much the same, or recycled food all week. Little actual choice, undercooked or overcooked meat and fish, slices of ham and cheese melting away on display without fridges or proper air-con, raw meat and fish kept outside without cooling for hours waiting to be cooked. Fried fatty vegetables, fried and burned meat slices, soggy chips. Sauces kept without fridge or cooling... Imagine what happens to mayonnaise if its kept out in the 25 degrees heat for 3 hours of lunch or dinner? The only plus was good omelette and fresh fruit juices for breakfast. There were some dried up oats, and a healthy corner that was a joke with servings of chickpeas in non descriptive sauces.
Hardly any choice in deserts, three days in a raw we were offered the same cake, which by day 3 probably had to have its pastry cut by chainsaw. Other choices included dried up pastry, soggy profiteroles with custard, rice pudding and unimaginative ice cream which was always half melted in its container and by the time you walked with it to the table it was a runny milkshake, rather than an ice cream.
Was there even one dish that was done very well in all the food we had over 5 days? No! In fact we often had to make numerous rounds across the dining area to find anything that took our fancy.


The pool was big and roomy, but there was no shaded part, which would have been nice if you wanted a little less sunshine on a particularly hot day. The max depth of the pool was 1.32meters. There was sufficient amount of sun loungers around the pool and amongst the grounds, if you felt like laying down in mosquito infested areas. The problem was that in order to get to the pool from your room you had to make quite a trek across the corridors, wait for the slow lifts, walk past a lobby, formal bar, etc, around 200 meters across areas where you are not supposed to wear a swimsuit or shorts, or walk in wet clothes according to the rules of the hotel.. Which meant that to go to the pool I had to put on a dress just to go to the pool, and then put it back on my wet suit to go back to the room.

Dress code was semi formal in the hotel, and many people dressed up for the evening. For me, given the low quality of the hotel this seemed very pretentious. A la cart restaurants specified dress codes to presumably raise the classiness of the place, and yet served very poor quality food.
I felt the hotel could not decide if they should be a resort and let people relax and enjoy the pool or the beach or a conferencing hotel, with all their formal areas and dress codes requirements.

Staff: the waiting staff in all areas were very helpful, polite and provided good, fast service. Bellboy service and receptionists were not very welcoming at all. As we got out of our taxi, two bellboys came towards the car, but not to welcome us but to check with the driver twice if he was definitely in the right hotel. They then stood by almost blocking the entrance as we carried our own suitcases from the car to the reception, and offered no help. Only after check in was done, one of them casually asked my husband if he needed help with our suitcases, and when told that we will be fine now, moved on to continue to do nothing. The reception staff were professional when approached but not very informed or particularly friendly. I don't think I got a smile from them at any point when I approached them. When we asked if we got a honeymoon upgrade we were not given any details just told "it’s all taken care of". You can imagine how disappointed we were to arrive in a half done room, without half the toiletries or coffee or tea for the coffee maker.
No manager at any point approached us to ask how are we enjoying our stay, despite many of them walking past us.
Housekeeping staff was discrete and helpful. The chefs in the pool side lunch bar were working in very hard conditions, so we excused them some small issue we had with them once.
Animation staff could be friendlier, but to me seemed like a bunch of guys just hanging around a trying to do as little as possible.
We often used the games room, where they would hang out and play games, meaning we at times had to wait for them (staff) to finish their pool game, before we (paying guests) could get a chance to play - I found it unacceptable!
Games room inside the hotel was well equipped but did not open until 11am, which was quite late.
Staff at the beach were accommodating but not particularly concerned about guests. They would take up best spots on the beach, grouping chairs together in shaded area, and did not interact with guests much. I took out a kayak once, and told the staff member it was my first time. He told me how to get in to it, but not how to get out at the end. I struggled to get out of the kayak, badly bruising my leg and scraping the other in the process, as he sat on his beach chair minding his own business. I then had to drag the kayak myself up the beach towards him, which was so heavy as I did not know how to throw out the water which got into it. I was disappointed that he did not offer to help me or explain how to manoeuvre it properly. Needless to say I didn't go kayaking again.
I also saw that the diving instructor providing the free diving introduction lesson in the pool was not very helpful at all. Instead of getting into the pool with the customer and showing them exactly what to do by demonstrating it on himself, he just stood at the pool edge and kept telling the woman what to do without using the equipment.

Beach. The beach was easily accessible, quite spacious, with enough chairs, but they were stacked one on top of the other, without anyone helping to put them up. The highlight for me was there you got a chance to go sailing on a small catamaran for free, as part of the all-inclusive service. There was also windsurfing gear for rent (but only for people who did not require any instruction - I did not see anyone take it up, probably for this reason). When we asked staff if they would teach us they told us they didn't have the time to teach us nor the equipment. Surfboards, kayaks and pedaloes were also available for free. So there was plenty to do on the beach, not to mention swimming in beautifully clean waters.

The all-inclusive wristbands provided where made from strong plastic, which kept scratching us all the time, and we couldn't wait to get rid of it, so we took it off a day before and carried it in our pockets instead, but it went completely unnoticed and no one questioned us about it.

We did ask the reception for feedback form to let the hotel know our comments, but they told us the hotel does not have feedback forms, so we asked them for the email of the general manager instead.
There was a small A5 comments page in the room with few lines provided for feedback on the room cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heljoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We visited as a large family 5 adults 4 children which worked well as the max per room is 3 people.
Well the blau is located mid way along the varedero peninsula half an hour from varedero airport 5 minutes drive from shopping mall and town centre.
On arrival we were greeted by the friendly reception staff which spoke excellent English.
Our rooms were all close to each other which was handy for us and a good thought on their behalf. The rooms are set out as most hotel rooms are.
Free safe.
Hair dryer.
TV.
Mini bar.
Balcony with sea views.
Air conditioning.( very good)
Shampoo shower gel complementary.

So happy with the room yet the rest of the hotel is even better.
Pool is big spotlessly clean loads of sun beds safe for the kids it's lovely.
Loads more sun beds shaded or not in the gardens even hammocks hung between the palm trees.
The beach is by far the most beautiful I have ever been to, white sand very clear sea no shortage of beds ever under the wooden palm leaf parasols. It really is gorgeous.
The Food is great loads to choose from at the buffet restaurant there's a snack bar at the beach bar and by the pool two alacarte restaurants we only ate at the Mexican it was alright nice to get a bit of spice.
Free kayaks and pedalos on the beach they have hobby cat boats which for free will take you out for around 40 minutes to a reef but if you pay 20 cuc per person you can snorkel for an hour at the reef it's brilliant hundreds of fish clear water a real must if you snorkel better than Red Sea in my opinion.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Lyndonzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.4 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.6 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,919 reviews
2.5 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba

Property: Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Address: Carretera de Las Morlas | KM 15, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Varadero
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#4 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#5 Business Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just on the shore of the magnificent and famous Varadero beach, the Hotel consist of a 13 floor modern building, completely new.Ideal for those who want to enjoy the beauty and the atmosphere of the most well known beach of Cuba, with the best facilities and a wide list of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blau Hotel Varadero
Blau Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing