We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, a big smile”

Craving Sushi Restaurant
Ranked #208 of 360 Restaurants in Curacao
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Curacao
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow, a big smile”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Much to our surprise the owner welcomed us with a big smile. I think this was the first time he did, although we have eaten here lots of time in the past. I hope he will do this more often.
My daughter and I went for dinner on a Monday night. It was crowded, but the service was good. Mostly we order the same appetizers, i.e. seaweed salad and the delicious crab salade. The sushi was good and the tempura cheesecake excellent.
This sushi restaurant is a bit expensive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ateliertby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Inconstant Quality, Obnoxious Owner”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I gave the place 2 stars because the staff service is good, and the sushi bar staff is good.
However when the manager/owner pretends to be a sushi chef and goes behind the bar, the quality of the sushi is so so. When given an input on the quality, by someone who lived 4 years in Japan, he becomes obnoxious and rude; not the attitude you’d expect from a restaurateur! Perhaps he should stay in the back doing the books and let a customer-oriented person run the place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Candidcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Late Staff”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were super excited to get some sushi on our trip. Unfortunately, they close the doors between 2-5pm. Being from the United States we were not used to this. We walked around the promenade shops and were not impressed. It seemed like none of the employees wanted to be there. We meandered around until 5pm at which point we walked in the restaurant and no one was there. We waited for 15 minutes until the turned the lights on. Extremely unprofessional, slow service, decent sushi but nothing special.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TravisPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I used to frequently visit Craving Sushi, however the restaurant has gone down terribly. The sushi we ordered was cold and tasteless and appeared to come right out of the freezer.Waiters were not very friendly, offered very slow service and made mistakes. Which is ok to me if they apologize, which they did not.

To top it off, I like to have a cold beer and found out that the restaurant is only offering expensive international beer instead of the 'local' Amstel and Polar.

I will never go back to this restaurant, also because they did not respond to my e-mailed complaint, and will go to Chop Stix Sushi. This restaurant is located on the Santa Rosaweg and offers delicious sushi and good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Margret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good sushi and a good varied menu !”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I love this place, the sushi is very good and we also tried the yakitori and it was very good. Nice atmosphere. And good service we when we ordered something we did not have to wait long. Everytime we go to Curacao we go to craving for sushi.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Craving Sushi Restaurant also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Craving Sushi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing