We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Fun and Educational Too”

Curacao Ostrich Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Curacao Half Day ATV Adventure Tour
Ranked #19 of 135 Tours in Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Curacao Ostrich Farm is one of the biggest breeding farms outside Africa which offers you the change of a lifetime to come and watch, feed or ride these fascinating birds. At the Curacao Ostrich Farm there is an exciting safari trip by truck leaving every whole hour.Also, come to our restaurant Zambezi where you'll dine in true African style. Enjoy our ostrich specialties or other real South-African dishes in a relaxed ambience or have a drink beside the nightly campfire. Discover the rough north side of curaçao on a quad! 90 minutes of fun guaranteed on a quad you follow a local island guide, in caravan style',cross thourgh the nature of the north side, from the indian cave at sint joris bay to book pistol. Leaving the farm you immediately go off road through a desert like area, passing st. Joris, and bringing you further into the rough road.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children
Toronto Ontario
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Super Fun and Educational Too”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I was uncertain as to what I would expect at this place and it surpassed what I had imagined. Our guide Alexander was excellent, knowledgeable and humorous. He explained the farm operation as we rode in an old army type truck, making frequent stops. Besides demonstrating an ostrich warning dance, Alex let us feed the ostriches and stand atop an egg to show us its strength. Then we got to hold the egg. Other animals on the farm included pot bellied pigs and sheep that look like goats. There were lots of baby ostriches as well. The farm has a restaurant and gift shop. Plan for about half a day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Hildetoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    199
    59
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north yorks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fun to feed the ostrich”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

a very enjoyable and informative visit,due to our taxi timetable we only had 1.5 hours here-which wasn't enough.the guide was good,he obviously enjoying it too.the restaurant looked good but we had to go.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
378 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Coolest ride ever”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

The ostrich farm is exactly like the one in Aruba. It's owned by the same people and operated pretty much the same way. You can take a tour and see all the animals they have and feed them if you're lucky. We were able to actually ride one of the ostriches while there. It took an advanced reservation to ensure they had a trainer to work with you and the bird. It took us two days and $35 but it was an interesting experience that I enjoyed. Most of the tours through the cruise ships go here and you may have to contact the farm directly for rides if interested. If you're going through the buggy adventure- contact them to see if they can arrange the ride for you as we did.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank amanda42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maraval, Trinidad
Level Contributor
273 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Ostrich Farm - Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We visited the Ostrich Farm because our boat trip got cancelled due to poor weather. With grey skies the ostriches blended in perfectly. The farm was fairly easy to find down a long dirt road with some impressive cacti. On learning the entrance fee to go on a 'jeep' ride around the farm we chose to spend our money at their restaurant and enjoyed a taste ostrich burger and ostrich wrap. Both were nice. We enjoyed the view from the observation tower next to the restaurant where most of the farm can be seen. Kids seems to enjoy the whole experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hickmagp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
2 reviews
“A must do in Curacao”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were surprised to learn that the Ostrich Farm in Curacao was owned by the same people who own the Ostrich farm in Aruba. We had been to the one in Aruba for our honeymoon 6yrs earlier and were sad to hear that just a few days before our visit to Curacao they had a fire. We very much enjoyed our tour of the farm at Curacao. They have really gone above and beyond to make it a sustainable facility. They have pigs to eat the kitchen garbage and alligators to eat the meat remnants. The tour was excellent and it ended with a photo op and feeding of the Ostriches. The food was also excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessKayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curacao Ostrich Farm also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Curacao Ostrich Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing