We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant - decent room”
Review of Landhuis Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Landhuis Daniel
Ranked #26 of 50 Curacao B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant - decent room”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The restaurant is very good, the staff friendly and the food tasty and authentic
Affordable, for a fine dining place
We stayed there and ate all our meals there. The rooms are very basic, but unique and very cheap. I picked it for one of a kind experience and it is totally worth.
A bit of a drive - 10 mins to Willemstad or the beaches, but where else can you stay in a true plantation house for pennies and have fine dining...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    26
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Landhuis Daniel has a lovely setting with a drive flanked by palms and bougainvillea. The restaurant patio is decorated with orchids and filled with bird song. I had a room upstairs in the main house and it was a little funky since it was retrofitted into the old Dutch-style plantation house but was comfortable. I loved opening up the shutters in the morning to let in light and birdsong. As most reviewers have said, because it is in the middle of the island, a rental car is almost a necessity to get around. I signed up for half-pension and enjoyed finding out what the chef would prepare although I found it confusing as to what it actually meant to have the half-pension because the meals were different from the ones on the menu. I had some fabulous meals...the chef is a wizard with fish dishes...and his boiled potatoes are the best I have ever had. Olga, the restaurant manager, was very kind and helpful. It was a wonderful way to experience Curacao for the first time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliachildtaste
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Spent a week in Curacao and each night tried a different restaurant. Our price range was $50 - $75 per person (including a bottle or 2 of wine). While some of the other places we tried were good, this place was GREAT! So good, we went their twice - they change up the menu. The ambience was perfect (outdoor seating with plenty of fresh air), the service was on their game and the food was excellent! They offer a variety of entrees - some staples (meat or fish) and then some different (from traditional American restaurants) dishes. They also had a good wine selection. Good food & good wine - perfect match!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliachildtaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We are English speaking and the other restaurant patrons were mostly Dutch. Service was terrible. My conversation with the waiter:
What is the house salad?
You know, a normal salad.
Whats in it?
Normal salad things.
Are there tomatoes in it?
Probably.
The food actually was pretty good, but for 2 entrees a soup and a salad, we paid $100. Water was never refilled and waiters were horrible.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Reconverted slave (servant) quarters, (row) houses for 50 bucks ! We thought we could save a lot of money. We checked beforehand the adjoining Daniel Huis restaurant which gets good reviews--fairly plush. So we hoped accommodations would be OK in line with restaurant. But the accommodations in the nearby row houses on the property are dirty and unlivable...Ants all over floor. One benefit: you can take shower at the same time you are on the toilet. Dirty and rusty sink in room. Pictures were all on tilt--probably the pictures were OK but the floor was tilted! Management tried to help us--brought soap and tried to make the so-called shower door work but failed. Only stay here if you are desperate to save 100 dollars a night but be prepared !!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bebopbarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire, england
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

A very hold fashioned Dutch style house; the stairs are steep and the shower rooms simple. We took room 9 in the plantation house but had some problems and moved to room 7 which was much nicer. Towels were changed daily except for Monday and sheets were changed once during the week. You can get towels for the pool or beach too. There is a half pension option at $30 per day. Mr Jan has a deep voice and looks stern but in fact he is very helpful. Most of the staff do not speak much English. The food is very good indeed and we particularly enjoyed the Surprise menu chosen by the chef and also the good value Week menu; however the desserts were a bit heavy. They serve pancakes too and they are excellent - try the one with Nutella, ice cream and caramelised walnuts! The flowers growing in the garden and on the terrace are lovely and you can relax by the pool. There are occasional planes flying over as it is 10 minutes from the airport. This is a great location for visiting most of the island and only 30 minutes from the Christoffel national park where you can do some interesting walks (but go early in the day). Our favourite beach was Porto Mari, just 10 minutes away past the flamingo lagoon; they have beds and umbrellas and a good beach cafe and bar.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2009

My husband and I were in Curacao for a business meeting at the Marriott, but we wanted to spend a few extra days there as well - the cost of the Marriott on our personal budget being too much, I was delighted when Landhuis Daniel could accomodate us. For the price, you really can't beat it. The other reviews confirm what we experienced - a very beautiful, peaceful setting with beautiful birds flying overhead and beautiful flowers everywhere. It was wonderful to "come back home" there. The rooms were basic, but since we didn't spend much time there, it was OK for us. I used the pool once, and it was nice and clean. We were in the old slave rooms on the side. Odd to have the toilet in with the shower (hot water only in the afternoon), but we managed. I had only two minor complaints. 1)The beds didn't have a mattress pad and the sheets looked very dingy. On smelling them, though, they were clean. They did not stay on the mattress though. There was no bedcover, but given the temperature, it would've been mostly for looks. 2)Twice (we stayed before and after the business meeting), I was charged the current room rate instead of the rate I had reserved for. When I pointed it out, the owner (a surly Dutch man) grumbled and paid me the difference in cash. He was, in fact, the most disagreeable aspect of the place. Luckily, we didn't have to deal with him much. The other staff members were lovely. We asked if we could come back to shower before our flight home; the owner (he apparently had a bad hangover) chewed me out, but the manager and cleaning lady took good care of us anyway. My husband was somewhat bothered by the airplanes overhead (it's close to the airport, and seems to be under the flight path), and the sounds of the cars on the nearby road. I didn't notice them, but my earplugs may have helped :)
One more thing - it definitely helps to have a car here. I didn't see many buses go by. We could buy lunch supplies at the nearby grocery store and picnic on the beach of the day. We also went twice to mass in the nearby town and were given a friendly welcome.

We also enjoyed having the restaurant so close by - it was excellent.

If you're OK with basic accomodations, then this is definitely a good place to stay.

  • Liked — Beauty, peace, good food
  • Disliked — beds, owner
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jenplus4fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Curacao hotels
8.5 mi away
Mustique Suites Curacao
Mustique Suites Curacao
#12 of 46 in Willemstad
112 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cecil Paradise
Cecil Paradise
#25 of 92 in Willemstad
25 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Natural Curacao
The Natural Curacao
#6 of 92 in Willemstad
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Ritz Village Hostel
The Ritz Village Hostel
#13 of 92 in Willemstad
75 reviews
8.7 mi away
Poppy Hostel Curacao
Poppy Hostel Curacao
#5 of 92 in Willemstad
148 reviews
7.7 mi away
Piscadera Seaview Apartments
Piscadera Seaview Apartments
#26 of 92 in Willemstad
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhuis Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhuis Daniel

Property: Landhuis Daniel
Address: Weg naar Westpunt z/n, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Curacao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landhuis Daniel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small budget hotel in a renovated plantation house on the middle of the island, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. On the premises is a full service gourmet restaurant, a nice swimming pool with sun terrace and a children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Landhuis Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhuis Daniel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing