We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is eating while I'm starving?”
Review of Scampi's

Scampi's
Ranked #68 of 361 Restaurants in Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Scampi’s Restaurant Curacao is located in the historic Waterfort terrace in the heart of Willemstad. Dine by the waterside, with a romantic candlelit dinner that offers a view of Curacao’s port. Our menu has a wide selection of fresh caught seafood, with tantalizing plates to sooth any palate. For our land-lovers, Scampi’s offers a wide variety of prime cuts off of our grill-menu. Scampi’s will without a doubt give you the best dining experience in curacao
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Staff is eating while I'm starving?”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I'm one of two people at this place at 6pm, I ordered my food 40 minutes ago, it still hasn't come but all of the staff is sitting at the bar in front of everyone and they're all eating! Not impressed. Considering leaving without paying for my sparkling water

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Globalgoddess316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    99
    45
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You wont be disappointed”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Been there twice. Was seated almost in the blue sea as wanted . The staff had big smiles and good recommendations. I must recommend the tuna steak and the lobster. We will visit this place again if we'll come back to this nice island

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay Jay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I wish I were writing a good review...”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We visited Scampi's last year and loved it. This year - not so much. It was my fiance's birthday and we had a reservation so we were immediately seated. The atmosphere is lovely, crashing of the waves against the rocks, gorgeous sunset, etc... Unfortunately, the food was so terrible. Since we had visited a year before, we knew we wanted to order the same thing since it had been so good. Fiance ordered the lobster and I had the beef tenderloin. First of all, the lobster came out and was little and skimpy. Last year, it was huge and flowing off the plate with fruits and such. Fiance said it tasted bad. My beef tenderloin was raw. Not even rare/medium rare. It was mushy and raw and gross. I NEVER send food back but this time I absolutely had to. So I asked the waitress if she could have them cook it longer. She took it and brought it back to me in maybe one minute. It came back still completely raw - she didnt ask me to check it - just dropped it off and walked away. At this point I was so frustrated, I just decided to eat my baked potato and leave. I thought maybe they would knock the beef tenderloin off the bill since I clearly only had one bite but no such luck. They made no attempt to recitify this situation - I felt like they were almost annoyed with me. Oh well, I guess Scampi's will not be somewhere we return to when visiting Curacao.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cms135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
110 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Water's Edge”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The winds were up and the rollers breaking spectacularly on the rocks in front of the suspended deck. A great venue as we are partial to salt air and ocean vistas. Service at island pace, but good drinks and good seafood dishes.

I had the shrimp trio (three different sauces) which was artfully presented and totally satisfactory.

We'd go back as much for the food as for the location. We sampled other restaurants that share the Waterfront Arches location with cantilevered decks over the crashing waves, and liked this one the most.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jabx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location & view”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Really enjoyed eating right on the water. Beautiful sunset. Really liked the drink and menu choices. Mine was overcooked and strangely paired bbq & garlic sauce with tuna so I didn't give Scampi's a perfect review. Husband had the lobster, which he really enjoyed. The service was slow, but seemed about average compared to nearby restaurants.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 12BRY4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scampi's also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Scampi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing