We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice resort until checkout!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice resort until checkout!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Curacao and while I found the hotel and location awesome I've ended up with a credit card nightmare. My wife and I were traveling with friends but stayed in separate rooms with of course separate credit cards on each of our accounts. My wife and I used our bank card to pay for all charges while our friends usd a AMEX gift card for their stay. We checked out early in the morning of March 13th each with our own separate folios that were slid under the door during the night. We had a 7:15am flight to Miami. Upon arrival in Miami we both received an email from the customer experience manager Freddy Castillo that our friends AMEX was declined, he later found out that it was only good in the U.S.. Instead of waiting to get another card from our friend the manager took it upon himself to charge their folio to my bank card without my authorization. Its now been 10 days and I still have not had the $1169 dollars credited back to my account. Beware of this hotel and their staff. I'm a frequent business traveler and actually stayed in anoter Marriott last night, I think that will be my last stay in any Marriott propoerty.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    638
    143
    39
    21
See reviews for
342
718
73
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I'd say that this was a quality resort for what we paid for it. It wasn't necessarily what we would choose as we would prefer a nice long beach to walk for hours on and this is not the case at this resort. The man made beach is lovely and we had no problem finding chairs. We felt that the choice of food was lacking. There was only 1 ala cart restaurant with a limited selection for the all inclusive portion of their menu, the food was very good, but by the end of the week you are quite tired of eating the same thing. We weren't crazy about the selection that was available for dinner at the buffet but what was there was good. We would definitely recommend this resort as far as quality goes.

Room Tip: As was recommended in the other reviews, a room on a higher floor is the best bet for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnLoverr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This was my second three night stay at this resort. The rooms are spacious and well tastefully decorated. The WIFI disappoints as it is only available in public areas, with rooms having wired internet. The in-room dining options are better than average at better than average prices.
The shopping choices are limitless! Within a couple feet of walking out of the lobby, most of which offer duty free prices.
The restaurant options are great at Rif Fort, as well at the lobby buffet restaurant - Nautilus.
Cruise ships dock at the edge of the property and can offer a great view and photo opportunities.
The Infininty Beach is an architectural wonder!

Room Tip: My recommendations would be: A room close to the elevator, or a room with a beach view, interior roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KavitaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed for a total of 8 nights. We had an ocean view room with a balcony on the top floor. The room was a great size and as always the bed was heaven (so much so we are buying a marriott matress). Bathroom was a nice size. The infinity beach is a great concept. you really do feel like your in the ocean until you hit the wall. The wall of the infinity beach can be slimey but if you don't mind that or find a clean spot hanging out there is amazing. There is a constant stream of ships moving through the canal and right by the pool, it looks like you can touch the ships. The beach and pool area are smaller than I expected and you need to get there by 10 if you want an umbrella. The staff were nice but you need to realize they are on island time and they don't always seem to care. The door men and bell hops were the best of all the staff, Alexis actually grabbed my husband and bear hugged him on our 4th night, and took a picture with me. Marvin was just as nice and gave us the idea to go to Steak and Ribs in Rif Fort. ( when we went we were the only tourist, be sure to make reservations for a good table outside) We booked a snorkle trip with the tourist desk and she was just there to do her job, not going beyond that. We wanted to book an island tour she told me none were running that day. We walked over to the Punda side and we had our choice of tours. The best part of this hotel is the location, you are right in the center of town with lots of night life, restaurants and shops. Cruise ships come in daily so if you have an ocean view you will have a different view every day. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to an ocean view and high floor - stay away from 2nd floor pool is on that level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carma73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night (spent 5 nights at the other Marriott Resort Curacao) This hotel has less of a resort feel but it is still very nice and so close to this outdoor mall and downtown willedstadt so you can easily walk to a ton of shops/bars/restaurants. The man made fresh water infinity beach is what really makes this place. It has actual sand and fresh water but is in a confined area so there are no rocks/fish/waves etc so it is very very relaxing and you just have the best view of the ocean. The only thing that bothered me about this hotel was the fact that the casino was not in a separate enclosed area so you can hear all the machines and smell the spoke if you were walking through the lobby or took the stars up to your room but that is a minor complaint. I wouldn't stay here for a week or anything because it would not be as relaxing as a resort away from the bigger city but a few nights here is perfect!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach had balconies. Our faced the street and that side did not have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicoledavey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Maarten
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very nice hotel, comfortable room (had a king bed) with nice bathroom. It was facing the pool area, which is great! Make some time to just relax and soak some sun. Inside the hotel there are several food alternatives, which are good, but you must venture close by and will find excellent restaurants. They have a huge parking garage, a small shopping mall and movie theater. Plus, it's a short walk from down town. You can't go wrong with this one.

Room Tip: For a romantic touch, choose a room facing the seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We just got back from Curacao 2 days ago. We enjoyed the hotel. The staff in the main restaurant were a bit overwhelmed during carnival time. We had to get our own orange juice and coffee after waiting for the staff for more than 10 minutes. When the hotel is not at capacity the service is better.
As mentioned elsewhere the food is expensive but we took the all inclusive option with Sunquest out of Toronto. This allowed us to take snacks at the expresso bar while we checked our e-mails with the hotel wifi. The staff was not always sure what was included in the all inclusive though so check before you buy.
We took the east west island tour and very much enjoyed it. We also went to the synagogue in Willemstad for a tour which was $10 US each, which was a bit much for what we saw, but I guess it helps with the upkeep.

We had a resort view room 477 and we overlooked the Guess store and the palm trees. It was adequate. If we wanted to see the ocean we went to the infinity pool.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campervan_question
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
2.6 mi away
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino
6.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing