We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, KY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel. Excellent location.”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

For our first trip to Curaçao, we stayed at this hotel and chose the all inclusive option. Food and drink is fairly expensive, so the AI is the way to go. The hotel is located in the prettiest part of Wilemstad, just across from the Punda-that very famous row of multicolored buildings. There remains much of the forts that were once the guardians of this busy natural harbor for walking, shopping, and people-watching. We also rented a car for a couple of days and were able to explore the rest of this beautiful island... the wild and wonderful east coast and the lush picturesque beaches along the west coast. Driving is much the same as in the USA, and you can rent right on the hotel premises. The people of Curaçao are very warm and friendly, and seem to like Americans. Most prices are quoted in NAF and Dollars, and change is usually given in Dollars. The floating pedestrian bridge was fun and like nothing we've ever seen!
The food and drink options at this hotel are varied and very good. One of the restaurants was buffet. Service was very good, however, we did not realize until the last day that the staff apparently expect tips in addition to the 15% service charge on each ticket we signed. There was a subtle but noticeable difference from the servers, once they realized we did not tip in the first days - not a big deal, but noticeable.
Housekeeping did an outstanding job with our room and the public areas, however the lobby upholstery and carpet were beginning to show some wear. The casino was a nice but sometimes noisy distraction. We had an oceanfront room with balcony on the third floor. There was free Wi-Fi in 2nd floor coffee/lunch shop and in the spacious lobby. In room Wi-Fi was available at an extra charge.
The absolutely best part of the hotel was the huge and very unique man made beach with salt water and sandy bottom infinity pool. There was also a fresh water infinity pool and plenty of lounge chairs and beach towels. ...and the Infinity Bar and Grill with Bianca as beach waitress, who took good care of us.
The only disappointment was when a huge cruise ship would park in front of the hotel and block the ocean views and those beautiful sunsets! There was a ship parked there almost every evening.
There was a good mix of people staying at the hotel- from North and South Americas as well as Europe. There were families with all ages of children, honeymooners, and retirees.
We count this as one of our most pleasant vacations in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor, oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mammarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    664
    146
    40
    22
See reviews for
363
750
77
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I want to say I was totally impressed with the hotel, the city and people. The hotel facilities, the location, including the unique seawater infinity pool were awesome. The hotel staff were absolutely fantastic and made me feel right at home. In case any of the hotel management check this review my sincere thanks to everyone that made my stay so enjoyable. To mention a few ... Natalie, Raynni and Lisa at the bar were informative, helpful and a sheer delight to converse with each evening. Bianca who looked after my drinks by the pool during the day was also a joy to see every day. Ruth at the restaurant was also very hospitable, engaging and informative about the Island. Between the staff and hotel facilities I rate this one of my best trips to the Caribbean yet. If anyone should have second thoughts about the lack of an ocean beach they can put it aside. The infinity beach pool is better than an ocean beach. I will be back here for sure and my sincere thanks to all the staff. The only minor point is the charge for the in-room Internet service which the hotel uses as a profit/revenue stream. In this day and age the Internet should be included in the base room rate but as a compromise they do provide complimentary wireless in the public areas.

Room Tip: Make sure to upgrade to the ocean view. You can watch the cruise ships and marine traffic from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Loved this hotel! Infinity beach is amazing. Great views, very clean, excellent service, great breakfast. A perfect place to stay in Curacao. Close to everything! All this place needs to make it perfect is a spa.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the full ocean view -- it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiechicag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Hotel was very nice and convenient location. There are much better restaurant s outside the hotel than in the hotel itself. Infinity beach pool was a cool concept and very relaxing. The spa has closed though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Who would design a hotel in the Caribbean with rooms facing the inside of a dark empty ballroom with no sunlight whatsoever? When I signed up for an "inside room" I thought it might face an unused atrium or something useless, but no, the only window faces a basketball sized ballroom. There is no light from "outside" except for the far doorway and from other inside room windows if the occupants open the blinds. This absurdity ruined my experience with the entire hotel chain.

The staff were friendly and helpful as expected. However, the cleaning crew weren't too thorough with the room. The left the bathroom floor not fully cleaned somehow. Coffee mugs we used weren't cleaned.

Room Tip: Don't take any "inside" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BlueWhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramaribo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Hotel is conveniently located walking distance to Willemstad. Awesome infinity pool makes you feel like you're right on the beach. Rooms meet the standard you would expect for a Marriott Renaissance. Although, our room was an interior room, which literally had a view of the ballroom and no outside light. Still, it was a reasonable value and we got plenty of sunshine outside the hotel. Only downside was that wi-fi was only available in the lobby. Perfect for a long weekend. Did I mention it is steps away from Starbucks?

Room Tip: Ocean view probably not worth it, because its not a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrulyGlobalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramaribo, Suriname
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Dear future guests of the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino,

My husband and I had a wonderful three nights stay at this hotel.

To begin with the staff of this hotel isn't at all snobbish, they are perfectly aware of the fact that doing their job well is that on which there focus should be: making the guests feel at home.

The atmosphere of the hotel was very pleasant: no loud and rude adolescents.
The kids that we encountered during our stay at this hotel were very well behaved, "tame" so to say.
During our stay at this hotel there were mostly seniors and elderly people as guests. The few with which we had a chat were very friendly and nice.

The facilities of this hotel are convenient.
The fact that this hotel has its own shopping mall and a variety of restaurants is great.
But also being able to in minutes wander into the city is plus point.
The beach doesn't even feel artificial, it was wonderful to rest while hearing the coconut treas swooshing and the water clashing on the shore.
The cocktails and food of the Infinity restaurant were delicious, so also that of Nautilus restaurant.
For a snack or refreshments you are able to get those at Starbucks and for entertainment the cinema is around the corner.

I really don't have anything negative to say about this hotel, our stay there has motivated us to stay at their sister hotel Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino in October of this year.

PS: We did see the view of the interior rooms while walking down the hall way to the lift and can therefore also on the basis of what we have seen (a view into a dark events hall) advise not to book those.

Room Tip: Choose any kind of room except an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Koebiel_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
630 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
342 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing