We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You Need Except Snorkeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Everything You Need Except Snorkeling”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I've written over 140 reviews on Trip Advisor and take the power of feedback seriously. I hope you find my review helpful.

This property and its location are amazing; it cannot be beat.The only thing missing on this property is the opportunity to snorkel. However, the island is tiny and there are dozens of great snorkeling destinations within 30 minutes or less from the hotel.

The pool is actually a beach...hard to describe. Let's just say, if you didn't know any better, you would think it's the real beach. See their website for a more descriptive definition of their Infinity pool...but, it's real ocean water constantly pumped in, real sand, with only real fish and coral missing. Amazing.

The location is perfect... within 5 minutes to dozens of restaurants, shops, the floating bridge, downtown, etc. The location is prime.

The room is Marriott standards; it's comfortable, modern, allows you to rest, and the water pressure in the shower is outstanding.

Parking is in a garage and is complimentary. Bonus.

Negatives: Since the hotel has a casino, the ever-present smell of smoke makes it's way into the lobby and especially the elevators. Also, the only internet connection in the room is hard-wired...no wi-fi available in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stevetanyaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    664
    145
    40
    22
See reviews for
363
748
77
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Overall, nice hotel. Food at the restaurant is poor. All else was fine. Staff is friendly for the most part. English speakers will struggle at times. The pool is nice but there is no beach access. The location is in the heart of the shopping and restaurant district which is very convenient. We upgraded to a suite for $100 per night. That was worth it. They bargained from $250 down to $100.

Rent a car and tour the island. This is a must.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genius4743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

As part of a newer mixed use complex located along the waterfront, the Renaissance Hotel location can't be beat. The Rif Fort is a one minute walk away, and within a 5 minute walk across the Queen Emma pontoon bridge you are in the heart of Punda.

The man made infinity beach pool which overlooks the Caribbean is quite nice and so much more enjoyable than a conventional pool. An unexpected treat was the ability to watch the many ships enter the port adjacent to the hotel.

The hotel itself is okay. Nothing special and some if it looks well worn (e.g. hallway carpeting spearating along seams, numerous marks on the room walls, stains on the room carpeting, no wi-fi in the rooms). But because of the location and the beach pool, I'd be inclined to go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonTravelers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I failed. I did my normal research on Tripadvisor, but I failed to dig deep into the details. I saw all the comments about the “private beach”, the “man-made beach”, the “unique beach”, so I was expecting a beach. You know, a BEACH…the sand covered entry to the sea…the place where you can sit and listen to the sounds of the ocean…the place where the waves lap at your toes…the place where you can wade out into the surf…you know, a BEACH!. Well that’s not what they have. This stretch of coast is far too rocky and rough to allow land dwellers to enter the sea, so the Renaissance built themselves a second story ‘beach’ about 20 feet above the shore. Their beach does lead directly into a sand filled infinity edge pool that makes you feel as if you are in the ocean, and if you swim out to the edge, you can look down and see the real shore some feet below you. But it is NOT a beach. Now that I have gotten that off my chest, on with the review!

I spent my first two days on Curacao at the Marriott Beach Resort – which has a real beach :) - before moving to the Renaissance, and what an upgrade! The Renaissance is located in large, high-end shopping district geared towards the cruise ship crowds that frequent this area. A short walk across the floating bridge brings you to the heart of the Curacao tourist district with all that it has to offer. I found the location extremely convenient for plenty of dining and shopping opportunities.

The hotel itself is modern and up to date. There are only a few Ocean View rooms available, and I had an Island View room which overlooked a baseball stadium and the cruise ship port. From other reviews, I think I had a pretty good room. The beds were the typical Renaissance pillow tops, and I slept extremely well.

Service was not great, as was my experience everywhere in Curacao. When I checked into my room, there was a used contact lens on the floor of the bathroom – it was still there when I checked out. My toiletries were never refreshed (in fact I knocked one into the tub one morning and found it still there the next morning), and the evening turn-down service was inconsistent - sometimes they left bottled water, chocolates, both, or none.

Because of the wide variety of outside dining choices, I found the prices at the restaurant to be very reasonable. WiFi is only available in the lobby or on the “beach”, so the lobby was always packed with people staring into electronic devices.

Overall, this resort is consistent with the Renaissance brand, and service was on par with other experiences in Curacao. I would definitely stay here again if I was looking for an in town hotel and not a beach experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jmtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This hotel is one of the nicer properties available in Curacao. It's oceanfront location is in the heart of all things tourist related; Restaurants, wonderful high-end shopping and a movie theater just to name a few. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are a great size for standard rooms, the staff is polite and the lobby is large enough to accommodate the crowds of guests taking advantage of the free wi-fi, which is only available in the lobby or a suite. I would strongly recommend an ocean view room on the fourth floor, and in my opinion, rooms 415-420 offer the best views. (we were in room 418 and it was perfect) Strangely enough, there are American television stations from New York City, along with a limited number of American cable network stations. I also experienced very good cell phone reception in my room, as well as on the entire island. The pool area is very nice and the view is breathtaking, however the sand surrounding the pool made it feel more like a beach, so we didn't spend much time there as we opted for the magnificent beaches in Westpunt.
On the other hand, this hotel is no where near the most spectacular beaches and dive sites on the island. Luckily we are adventurers and had already booked a rental car for our trip, otherwise I can not imagine how we would have enjoyed the many beaches Curacao has to offer. Westpunt is where the locals will tell you the best beaches are, and they are correct. What they don't tell you is that it's a 45 minute drive from the hotel, depending on the day, time of day and traffic. (yes, traffic)
The restaurants, or lack thereof, available to guests using an all-inclusive package left us with no other choice but to experience restaurants in the area, some of which are very expensive. (we settled for KFC one night) There are NO dining options available after 11pm for hotel guests, and the one decent dining option, Nautilus is in the lobby. Room service is available, however it is billed separately from the all-inclusive package, even though the food is coming from the same restaurant.
Overall, our experience at this resort was enjoyable. I would book another stay, as well as recommend the Renaissance to friends and family, this time armed with the information I learned during my first visit.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room on the fourth floor. You will be glad you did!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Just got back to Maine from our first trip to Curacao and The Renaissance. Likes (in no order): 1. Convenient location with shopping, restaurants and bars all within walking distance. No need to rent a car unless you want to explore the island. 2. Large, nicely decorated rooms with whisper quiet air-conditioning. In fact, I didn't hear any sounds at night, a first at any hotel for me. 3. I usually want to stay on the beach and was concerned about the man-made beach pool here but it's one of the best amenities at any hotel I've visited. Go out the rear door of the hotel and you're right on the private beach with plenty of shade, loungers and your own beach bar & al fresco restaurant. The "pool" is more like an ocean lagoon with a nice sandy bottom and salt water. We loved swimming to the infinity edge of the pool and watching the ships going into the harbor channel. I would return to this hotel for the beach-pool alone. 4. Not really an All-Inclusive Hotel but has the option and it worked out well. I recommend it, as long as you don't mind taking your meals at the limited available restaurants. 5. Excellent breakfast & lunch buffet, even for the health-conscious eater. 6. Excellent gym. 7.Very friendly and helpful staff. The hostess at the main Nautilus Restaurant remembered my name after the first day. 8.The casino is right in the lobby so the gamblers often went from the beach to the casino and back to the beach very easily. Dislikes: 1. The smoke from the casino permeates the lobby and almost to the second floor. Keep those lobby doors closed and let them go through the casino door, Renaissance! 2.The All-Inclusive option is great for breakfast, lunch & drinks but only 3 restaurant options for dinner (we went off campus twice). 3. The Nautilus outdoor terrace is plain & open to the many cruise-shippers walking by. Put a low wall and some plants around it, Renaissance! 4.The food service at the beach bar is slow so allow for it. Bottomline: We loved this hotel and would go back to The Renaissance Curacao in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for an ocean-front room with balcony. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachSeeker2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Unless you are looking for secluded beaches, this hotel is in perfect location. It also has a private beach with infinity salt-water pool. While prices at the hotel are slightly on high side, you can safely walk to many restaurants around the hotel ( and charge dinner to your room )
You may get confused with the 15% service charge, but if you add 5% for GOOD service, that's all the tip needed. We found service good at the hotel and around. My wife likes shopping, and after few godd deals she got on St Marteen couple years ago, we expected the same Dutch merchant deals on Curacao...No such luck...You cannot barter, jewerly shop owner won't offer you free Heineken and selection is not as wide. So forget the shopping in Willemstad. We found great supermarket behind the bus station outside the hotel, bought some Pinot Grigio and sat on our 4th floor balcony overseeing the action at the pool/beach.
Weather in Curacao was perfect, with constant breeze from the sea and temperatures hardly higher than 30C....It got little cooler when some clouds rolled in...but no rain. Overall perfect place.....

Room Tip: Go for high (4th floor) facing the sea...you will have option of room ( on left ) overlooking pool o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenePavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
630 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
342 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Property: Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing