We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Nearby Hotels
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
US$346
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ACOYA Curacao Resort, Villas & Spa(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel(Willemstad)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BijBlauw(Willemstad)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,918)
Filter reviews
1,918 results
Traveller rating
964
732
155
44
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
732
155
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsman made beachinfinity beachnautilus restaurantfake beachblue barinterior roomsalt watercruise shipall inclusive packageocean viewfresh water poolfloating bridgeparking garageconference roombusiness centerfourth flooracross the bridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
759 - 764 of 1,918 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We like being free-range tourists, so we wanted a place within walking distance of Willemstad - this was the right choice. Lots of restaurants and shops very close by, and lots of boats to watch.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, but we had some issues with house-keeping - no washcloths a couple of days, no bathmats one day - but overall no complaints about hygiene.

The in-house restaurants were okay, but nothing to write home about. The in-house Starbucks was very convenient for breakfast and quick email-checks. The only thing about the hotel that really annoyed us was the $15/day charge for Wi-Fi in the room - it's not uncommon, but it's so cheesy and unnecessary. The fake-beach pool was lovely, and the restaurant there had the best prices in the hotel.

General things to be aware of: smoking is allowed not only in the casinos, but in all outdoor areas including restaurants. About 3 days into our trip (after some rain the first day) the mosquitoes came out, and they made it a torment to be outside after dark. Bring long pants, socks etc, or lots of bug spray.

If you've never been to Curacao before and want to explore the city and island from a central base, the Renaissance is the place to do it. If you want to be a beach-lizard on the ocean every day, one of the more remote resorts is probably the place for you.

Room Tip: Book an ocean-view room! Better views from higher up.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EBandGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear EBandGJ,

Thank you for your great review with some nice tips! The tip about mosquitoes is definitely useful, they like to show up after rain!

We always encourage our guests to discover the local area and it really seems you did! We are pleased to read you found the staff to be friendly, but we are very sorry to learn your housekeeping service was not as satisfactory as you may expect from us. We will follow-up on this with the staff.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, which will be shared. We hope to see you again!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance in Willemstad for 5 days for our anniversary in January. The service was great, the room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. During the planning stages of this trip I looked at many hotels, I must admit that almost all of them had better looking beaches than the Ren, however I opted for it because of its location, within walking distance of historic Willemstad. In a nutshell staying here gives you the best of both worlds. We were very happy with the man made beach of this hotel and spent our mornings relaxing in its waters and in the afternoons we walked the town and had dinner at the many wonderful restaurants in town.
One drawback about this hotel is that they charge for wifi, it should be free, all over the world budget hotels provide wifi for free I do not see how a multinational chain hotel cannot provide it . The work around for this is to go to the lobby and use the wifi from Starbucks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Michael C,

Congratulations on your recent anniversary, we are honored you choose us to celebrate this special occasion!

We will definitely share your positive remarks with the entire staff, thank you so much! We are happy to hear you discovered the local area! It is correct the hotel charges for WiFi in the room. In our public areas, inside and outside the hotel we offer Free WiFi.

It really sounds like you have enjoyed your stay with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Not stuck out of town but has a beach, good restaurants near by and a 5 minute walk to all amenities. Our second stay here after a 2 year gap. The hotel has great ocean and ship views from the ocean view rooms, especially on the 4th floor.Our only reservations are the generally poor housekeeping and the air conditioning. The housekeeping the first 4 days was mediocre with no vacuuming, no toiletries left in the bath (we had to raid the mail's cart for shampoo, etc) and no linen change. The last 3 days the housekeeping was excellent. The major problem was the fact that the the air conditioning vent was aimed directly at our heads when in bed so that the a.c. had to be turned off at night.

Given the above, iris a great location with wonderful views from the balcony leading to a relaxing week.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank John m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear John M,

Thank you for traveling back to us and sharing your experiences with Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino!

It is always a great pleasure as well as a compliment to welcome back guests. Great to hear you have enjoyed the surroundings of our hotel! It is really a shame to hear about the Housekeeping Department being mediocre for the first 4 days. We will absolutely do everything we can to have the great service you have experienced the last 3 days of your stay as the norm.

Looking forward to see you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

These are some things you may want to know before you stay at the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino. I will provide a list of positives and negatives that will hopefully help you make your decision.

Pro's:
--the location is excellent because you are close (i.e., walkable) to the Willemstad city core (both Punda across the bridge and Otrobanda)
--the staff at the hotel is generally very friendly and pleasant (i.e., they smile and say hi)
--the faux beach at the hotel is likely the ONLY beach in town, and even though it's not real it kind of feels like it. Most of the beaches are North or South of Willemstad. Keep that in mind if you're looking for a beach vacation
--the room we got was nice for Caribbean standards (i.e., it was spacious, air conditioned, nice view, clean, large updated bathroom and lots of plugs for my technology)
--there is free WiFi at both Starbucks, as well as the lobby and faux beach
--there is good security on premises

Con's:
--there is NO real beach. We didn't think this would be an issue for us, but it ended up becoming one. Our solution to this problem was to get transportation and visit all the beaches along the coast
--the swimming pool is small
--there is an additional cost for WiFi in the room
--we left the sheets out to be washed and housekeeping put the same ones back on the bed. We even left a generous tip.
--the shampoo, conditioner and body lotion was not replenished. We had to ask for more. I can't think of any hotel where I had to ask for more toiletries.
--the in-room coffee/ tea/ sugar/ cream was not replenished. We had to ask for more. They also never put back our coffee machine after we used it. They would just leave it out on the counter.
--the lobby smells of heavy cigarette smoke because of the casino. I am not a smoker, so I found this to be bothersome. They could improve the ventilation

Overall, the stay was good, but there is a lot of room for improvement. I think that the Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino is relatively one of the nicer hotels in Curacao for island standards. I hope you find this review helpful, if so give me helpful vote.

Thanks.

Room Tip: --Get a 3rd or 4th floor room to get a nice view. --NOTE: there are TWO Marriott hotels, so when you leave from the airport ensure to go to the right one.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear SupermanMikail,

Thank you so much for writing this detailed review. You have some great feedback for future travelers to Curacao!

We are very happy to read all your positive points, thank you. We take great pride in creating satisfactory guest experiences and we are truly upset we have missed this on some occasions. Please be assured that our Housekeeping Manager is aware and is training all staff to be more pro-active in replenishing all amenities as well as cleaning of linen.

Thank you again for helping us improving our services. We hope you will return to our beautiful Island soon. We look forward in welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had a most relaxing and enjoyable 7-night stay at the Renaissance at the end of January - staying in an ocean front room - and upon arrival asked for and got a 4th floor room with a great view. Both the hotel and room were very clean, the service was prompt and always with a smile. We have no complaints and would recommend this hotel without hesitation. I will try to not duplicate other’s comments, but will note the Starbucks on the second floor of the hotel is a real live Starbucks – I thought it would be like other hotels with just bare-bones facilities, but nope – this is the real thing. And there is another Starbucks just outside the hotel in the area where the exclusive store are located.

As for the Infinity Beach Pool, for comparison I went scuba diving (see the review of Curious2Dive in Curacao, with DM Hans, fantastic!!!) off of 2 of the better beaches, Kokomo and Blue Bay. These were shore dives, and I will tell you my wife and I would MUCH better prefer the Infinity Beach Pool at the Renaissance. Curacao has so many great things about it, but I don’t think one of them is pristine beaches. At least at both Kokomo and Blue Bay you are well advised to wear water shoes both on the beach and in the water. Don’t get me wrong – these are great beaches, but the artificial beach and the Infinity Pool are perfect at the Renaissance, with all (imported) sand. The water depth at the deepest end is about 8 ft. and is warm – the “real” much smaller infinity swimming pool was cold, and we never saw anyone in it.

We ate once for evening dinner at the Renaissance, and the meal was so-so. For the price, we ate our other dinner meals elsewhere – but the breakfast buffet and lunch offerings were all good.

Two final notes: everyone complains the Casino smells like smoke. As former smokers, we figured that one out – smoking is allowed in the Casino. If this bothers you, then perhaps avoid the Casino. Our short times spent in the Casino weren’t exactly profitable anyway. Finally, I made a huge mistake and rented a car. Everywhere we went was within walking distance (with exception of scuba diving - Hans @ Curious2Dive picked me up at the hotel). You really don’t need a car, in my opinion, and a cab ride to and from the airport is not expensive.

We are a middle-aged couple who seek relaxing and somewhat quiet vacation spots, and we hit a home run staying at the Renaissance.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room and request the 4th (top) floor for outstanding views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Charles H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this amazing review!

Your wonderful comments about our Infinity Beach are very much appreciated and makes us very proud of it. One of the things that Curacao is known for is its beautiful dive spots and it is great to hear you have had the chance to experience that!

Come back and enjoy the Infinity Beach and other dive spots soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Quality & Service Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews