We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Located on the ocean with a great Infinity pool and bar on the second floor the Renaissance Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. It is within easy walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants and sites in Curaçao. The staff was terrific! We needed a doctor which they arranged to come to the hotel. After the Dr left Vanessa, communications director, called twice to see how we were doing. The pool Mgr. And EMS were equally attentive. The rooms were spacious, Starbucks on the second floor and a nice casino. To get to a beach you must take a tour or taxi the the Seaquarium where a large, beautiful beach is located with plenty of tiki bars and restaurants. We arrived on March 5 and departed on March 10.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the garage since no ocean side rooms were available. It made no difference, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear JDH3,

Thank you for your great feedback!

It is very sad to hear you needed a doctor during your stay, we hope all is well! Thank you for remembering Vanessa, we are really glad to have her on our team! It really seems you got the best out of your vacation and enjoyed the surroundings of the Resort!

We hope next time you can enjoy even more, without a doctors visit!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

At first impression not impressed especially if you have been to Renaissance Aruba.
it was advice not to go out the compound by foot at night. If you have a car its better and more mobile.
during the day the location couldn't be better as its very central.
the staff were friendly, especially those in the restaurant.
Breakfast was a odd arrangement of either cold or warm buffet.
the pool area and view was great. Many restaurants and cafe in the compound.
Rooms were clean and well kept. It's a big hotel but old as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexanderB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear AlexanderB16,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences on TripAdvisor!

We are thrilled to hear you were impressed by our friendly staff, especially in the restaurant. They really light up when they read positive feedback! Next to our a la carte menu we offer 2 options during breakfast; continental breakfast or full American breakfast. These 2 options are provided at two different rates and will accommodate to each guest breakfast preferences.

We hope you to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Don't know what happened to the review I left last year, obviously it was removed somehow. The Renaissance had lovely rooms, don't take the inside rooms (we did not, as we were advised by trip advisor reviewers that there is no outside windows in the "courtyard" rooms) Loved the infinity pool and beach. The service in both the restaurant and bar was very unreliable. Sometimes you got very helpful pleasant staff, but at least half the time, you waited while they ignored the customers. Not just myself, but saw others waiting while the "chef" who was supposed to be making fresh omelets was no where to be seen for 10 minutes or more while people were waiting. I had to chase down a bartender to get a drink at times, although there were only 2 people at the bar. Other times they were friendly and helpful, depended on the staff, and I imagine the manager at the time. Their pillows are wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antteekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Antteekr,

Thank you for choosing Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino for your stay on Curacao. We always appreciate feedback!

It is great to receive and discuss your warm comments regarding our Infinity Pool! We are very sorry to hear you have experienced different service levels during your stay. We always try to provide each guest with an excellent service and unfortunately we were not able to achieve this with you. Our director of F&B will personally take actions and keep on training our staff.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to regain your trust and welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Renaissance during Carnival 2014. The hotel was clean and bright, the rooms were a decent size (we stayed on the 4th floor). The staff was very courteous and eager to help. The location of the hotel is great. It's right next to the Rif Fort, which is full of restaurants and shops. It's within a short walking distance to the floating bridge and all of the open air markets. Hotel security during Carnival was impressive. Parking was free (we rented a car) and the hotel was easy to get in and out of. It was about a 20 minute drive from the airport. The concierge was helpful and courteous. Free wifi in the lobby. I didn't spend much time in the infinity pool (there is no beach, but there is a man-made sand and saltwater infinity pool), but others in my traveling group loved it - especially the bar/restaurant next to the infinity pool. Overall, the hotel was nice and I would recommend it. It was a very good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor. The lower floors have interior windows that look out into an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VAtraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear VAtraveler19,

What a great pictures! Thank you for posting them as well as your experience at the resort during Carnival!

The location of the resort really allows you to access all areas of the Island easily. It is really nice to see you got the chance to do so! Thank you for noticing our Security department, they work really hard and appreciate the recognition. We hope you got the chance to enjoy the Carnival a bit!

Please come back soon and maybe you will have some time to enjoy the Infinity Pool a bit more!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Located in the heart of Willemstad, on the water. In the center of activity including the daily cruise ship that moors in front of the property and funnels 2000 passengers though the hotel entertainment and shopping complex. Rooms are good, large and ample furniture. Decent fitness center is open 24/7. No "real" beach, but the man made infinity edge lagoon overlooking the sea is nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Rick D,

We really appreciate you shared your thoughts about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino!

We are so glad to read you enjoyed the infinity pool! If you have the chance to come back and want to work out, be there on Monday, Wednesday or Friday when our personal trainer will give you free advise between 8AM – 10AM!

When you are ready to observe some more cruise passengers, we are here!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

great hotel. very nicely appointed rooms. We had an ocean view room on the 3rd floor. However even being so high they were palm trees obstructing some of the view, but that's not the hotel's fault.
Checkin was a little slow, we arrived early at 9am and got our room at 4pm.
Very convenient starbucks right by the pool.
We had lunch a couple of times at the pool, and the food was good.
The man-made beach was nice too and very easy to get chairs.
The location of the hotel was great with lots of restaurants right in the fort Riff area and across the bridge.
Now here are some of my issues with the hotel:
- smoke from the casino into the main lobby, this would be very easy to remediate, just build a glass door at the entrance of the casino to the lobby and you would block that nasty smell.
- i found that the lobby, casino and stairs and all the common areas of the hotel were kept way to cool. I checked and they had they AC set at 19C. Now if this was a business hotel and you're walking around in a suit I would understand, but most people in this hotel are tourists and when walking back from the pool/beach with a wet bathing suit it wasn't pleasant at all. They should really crank up the temperature by a few degrees.
- although the man-made beach was very nice, after visiting some of the real beaches in curacao, you just can't compare. But nothing that the hotel can do about this. they still built a very nice beach/pool area.
As for curacao overall, i loved the island and i have visited many islands in the caribbean. This is definitely one of my favorite island.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vie_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Vie_voyage,

Thank you for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor about your recent vacation.

We loved reading your review, it gives very well balanced and realistic comments about our property. Your feedback regarding the temperature and smoke has been discussed with the concerning Managers. It certainly depends on what you are looking for, a real beach is not to be found in the city center of Curacao and luckily we pull it of with our unique Infinity beach!

It is an absolute pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the Island and the Resort. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The public areas including the infinity pool beach were great, The standard guest room was average at best, The staff was one of the friendliest and most helpful I have experienced in some time and improved my overall experience at the resort. Also the location was perfect. Close to many restaurants and shopping in the city and on the resort site,

Room Tip: avoid the rooms labelled resort view, it means you have to keep your curtain closed for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevG727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSuper, Manager at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear KevG727,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino.

We are excited to share your positive remarks concerning the staff friendliness with everyone. They really appreciate the recognition and all work very hard to ensure our guests have a fantastic vacation.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Nicole Super
Service & Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
454 reviews
2.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
6.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino

Address: Baden Powellweg 1, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: £140 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Curacao's capital city of Willemstad, in the heart of the Dutch Caribbean, Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino offers experiences and activities for any traveler seeking the ambiance of authentic Caribbean charm combined with European sophistication. Featuring a private beach club, this Curacao resort is built around the historic setting of the Rif Fort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Renaissance Curacao Resort And Casino
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing