We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay curacao”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Bilzen, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay curacao”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May. It is really an oasis of peace and perfect for a relaxing holiday!
The cottages are very nice and the pool at every cottage is so peaceful, also the amazing sun beds are too great! The salt water in the pool is not so pretty, but it belongs to the eco concept of the resort. Also the beach is foreseen of those sun beds!
The beach bar/restaurant, are very nice with a lovely atmosphere, but the city centre of willemstad is so cute and offers very nice little restaurants and places! This resort is not a usual hotel resort (quiet, no animation, limited facilities), staff was very friendly, though maybe could be a bit more personal, but in this resort contact with reception and staff is limited which I think is because of the concept of this hotel. Therefore it is no issue!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanieRaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Stephanie, thank you for commenting on Kontiki Beach Resort Curaçao. We are very pleased with your comments. We're glad you enjoyed Kontiki, the beach, the restaurant and the island Curaçao. We'll take your recommendations in mind, since we actually do strive for personal contact with our guests. So thank you again for your words and effort. We would like to see you again in Kontiki !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    255
    59
    29
    16
See reviews for
186
652
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at kontiki beach resort curacao in the beginning of March 2013. I have to say that the place could be run a lot better very easily. Whoever is in charge there isn't doing their job properly. Here in brief is my experience.

Eventually after a long wait at the airport and a slow resort bus ride we arrived. We then had to wait over half an hour at reception just to get a key and check in etc. The staff were way too relaxed and slow to sort things out. Zero sense of urgency. Not good after an eleven hour flight.
Our room looked really good apart from smelling like a toilet and the air con worked as did the tv remote. The shower worked okay but overflowed quickly and ran out of hot water after ten minutes. Also, when the people upstairs showered, our shower turned it's self on. The wifi of course didn't work at all throughout ten days, even tho I was actually connected to it. I told reception on the second day and they called the guy responsible. They said he was resetting it. Nothing happened of course.
The pool looked really good and they cleaned it while we we there, lovely water etc. The sun loungers weren't clean though, they had bird droppings on them.
The resort in general looked very very beautiful. The plants and trees make the place look amazing and I took a lot of photos.
The workmen there began at eight in the morning fitting out other rooms, this was fine except they were using hammers at quarter past eight. Stupid.
As for the music at night, it didn't keep us awake and we were quite close.
Breakfast at the beach restaurant? Don't bother. It's fifteen euros each but worth about three euros and the staff don't want to know. The woman serving had no idea and was more concerned with her conversation than actually doing anything. We went to the supermarket and bought food. Our room did have a fridge so that was useful.
The restaurant at night was pretty good and the food was really nice however, again arses need kicking in order to get a satisfactory service. One day it's good, the next it's super slow. Simple things were overlooked and we had to flag someone down just to get a new drink. One night we even had to get menus because nobody noticed we were there. Apparently it was "too dark". Two or three of the staff were really good to be fair.
During the day the beach is small but nice with palm trees and waiters. You have to actually tell them you're staying at kontiki or they charge you double for the sun loungers. We only found out after a few days.

Kontiki and the Cabana beach bar restaurant could easily be improved in my opinion, it seems as if they've just let everything go slack. Most of the staff look like underpaid students so it's no wonder.
One more thing, don't use the laundry service, it's expensive and they don't get your clothes clean. Useful that is.. I paid seventy guilders which is like thirty euro just for some time shirts and underwear. Of course the laundry price list and bag were in the room,I just couldn't find them anywhere.
Kontiki is the best looking place there that I saw by a long way but I would definitely not recommend spending your money with them.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nvghnbccg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Sir / Madam, thank you for your comments on your holiday with Kontiki Beach Resort. Unfortunately you have experienced inconveniences. We regret for not being your favorite destination. We receive your sincere comments as improvement points and will transfer these in the organization. Please note we take the initiative to improve, by the help of our guests' comments. Hereby I would like to thank you again and would like to challenge you for a next stay. Kindest regards and see you in Kontiki Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I visited Curacao last month with my wife and i have to say it was beautiful.we stayed at Kontiki and it was a really nice hotel.Now there were a few things that i didnt appreciate...for example: although we were staying in the hotel, every day we had to pay for the chairs/beds on the beach.
Another thing was that we couldnt book breakfast (i dont know why) but they were serving breakfast buffet everyday, and we find it out by luck the last day of our holidays...The service personal is ok but not really professionals so dont wait...just go yourself.AND now the worst....every day party music until 4 oclock in the morning!!!!!so dont expect too much sleep!!!!!!!!!!!!!The best were two guys in the reception were REALLY polite and helpful!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gio g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen M, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Gio, first of all we would like to thank you for reviewing your holiday at Kontiki Beach Resort Curaçao. We are pleased with guests giving feedback on their vacation so we are able to improve ourselves. Thank you for your nice compliments about our beauty and wellbeing, we're honored. Nevertheless, we also feel some disappointments and we would like to anticipate on these ones. We are surprised about the breakfast comment, yet we have our breakfast registered with our travel agents and bookings. Could you email us with where you booked your holiday. About the music, our Guest Service do measure the sound level every night and we have made clear appointments with the surrounding area. We can say with certain that the music stops at 2. Above all, we feel we have made your vacation to a nice trip and we hope to see you again.
With our kindest regards, Coen Morsink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The rooms are very spacious, are being cleaned every day, and also the bathroom is very large with a bath and separate rainshower. The resort has a very pretty garden which is maintained very well. Tropical plants and lovely birds everywhere. The personnel is also very friendly and always willing to help. The restaurant Cabana is very good (international cuisine) but not very cheap. Here the personnel is less customer focused (mostly stagiairs).
One point to remark: indeed you can hear every sound in the surrounding (ask for an appartment not directly near to the beach since you might hear the music from beach parties), however, you should have decent neighbours (unfortunately I didnt, and I woke up several times during the night (with earplugs in!) since the neighbours were just like rabbits :p...
But overall I can definetely recomment this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlies_Online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Marlies,

Thank you for your nice words about Kontiki Beach Resort Curaçao. We were pleased to serve you in our resort. We would like to see you again. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Where to start, where to start? Hmm... Bed Bugs, Dishonest Staff and room smelled like a toilet!!! My Girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights this April, worst mistake of our trip by far! First morning woke up with bed bug bites throughout our body, my girlfriend is still trying to get rid of the marks since she had a bad reaction to them. I forgot my brand new Christmas gift (US $1000.00 Mavado watch) by accident after check out and is considered a total loss. (Its my fault, but still) Called the hotel several times for several days in a row and finally got a hold of the front desk only to be told "we will call you back" and never was called back! Most of the swimming pools look dingy and had burned out lights (no lights). It looked creepy to even think about getting in the majority of the pools after dark! If this is not enough advice to stay away from this place,then I'm sorry for the lack of more info. If i had more time on my hands for this review I'd give it to Konitki more! Don't be a victim, I'm just saying!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Antonio420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlieland, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

"Oh, yes darling, give it to me"
-If you want to wake up hearing your neighbours doiing it, please do come to this hotel.
-If you want to try to fall asleep listening to heavy techno beats from beach hotel next door, please do come to this hotel.
-If you want to sit by the beach, listening to drilling noice from neighboring working sites, please do come to this hotel.
-If you want to be served by (too) young underqualified Dutch student staff, who don't care, because they will be gone in 1 month, please do come to this hotel.

Don't be tricked into booking this hotel, please! We did and still regret it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen M, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Emily,

First of all we want to make our apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay at our hotel. With our neighbours we have an agreement for the construction work in order to reduce the noice. This also includes our collegeaus with the restaurant at the beach. We do have direct contact with them so if we have any complaints we can solve it right away. Furthermore we work with serveral trainees to help them to get professionals in the hospitality business and your remarks will help us to train them in their service skills and keep them sharp till the very end of their traineeship.

Again we make our apoligies and hope you will visit us once again to see the improvements that we have made.

With warm regards,

Coen Morsink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This resort has the looks! We asked for a room with a garden view at the back of the resort, that was perfect because we didn't had any noise from the beach at night. Rooms are big and clean for as far as i could see. The resort is right on the beach which has comfortable beach beds. Service on the beach is OK, you can order lunch, drinks and snacks at a reasonable price. Cabana Beach is a man-made beach right out of a postcard. The water is a bit murky and you will see little fish. If you swim outside the back wall the water is clear and you will see many fish. We rented a car at thrifty which is located in the breezes resort across the street. If you are looking for a perfect beach where you can snorkel and relax you should visit Playa Kalki near Westpunt.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SvR1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2.0 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
2.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.9 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
2.9 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort

Property: Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Address: Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Kontiki Dive and Beach Resort Curacao)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the most beautiful island in the Caribbean, on the most desirable beach of tropical Curacao you will find Kontiki Beach Resort. This luxury resort offers everything to make your holiday an unforgettable experience. You are welcome for a memorable and exotic stay. The resort has an extraordinary set up and is built with natural materials. Complex and vegetation, architecture and nature, all combined harmoniously into a relaxing atmosphere. The tropical superior is a wonderfully luxurious, renovated room. The extras of the tropical superior (full service) will not be available in this room. The tropical superior (full service) is a wonderfully luxurious, renovated room for extra comfort. In the tropical superior (full service) you can expect the following extras: bathrobes and slippers, mini-bar in a cold beach bag on day of arrival, a free luxurious lounge bed at Cabana Beach or a comfort lounge bed at Mood Beach, daily turn-down service (except on day of arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontiki Dive And Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Van Der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing