We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and peace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed there with our family for 4 days. They went from Venezuela to rest some days here. It was the perfect place to stay. No noise during the day, even the hotel was at full capacity there wasn't a big crowd around. The beach is perfect, crystal clear water and white sand. The staff was friendly at our arrival but we never see them again until our check out. I mean, inside the hotel you don't see the staff. The room was excellent, very clean and neat. For the price it was a lot better than we thought. The breakfast was good with several options and buffet type, but the restaurant doesn't belong to the hotel, so it's kind of a different management. We had been there twice and the first time the wifi was a hassle: you only receive a password for your building, if you go elsewhere you wont have internet. This last time the wifi was open on the whole hotel which was a really good improvement. The hotel is managed by Dutch people and some of them didn't speak Spanish. Only English and Dutch. Bottom line: nice place and very quiet and no activities for the kids.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank José C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

I would have rated this 5 star but we were having hard time trying to sleep on wednesday and sunday night, there si too much loud coming from the beach, I don't know if from Cabana, or Wet Wild, but we had to wait until 1:00 AM when the music stopped in order to sleep (there is also some noise from the generator in the huts near it)

Besides that, the hotel is excellent, the gardens and pools are relaxing and beautiful, the rooms are big and comfortable and the personal is great, Dariana and Adriana helped us a lot :) thank you guys,

I hope in the future the huts get some anti-noise windows so the people who don't like to party all the time get a more relaxing environment.

I definitively will recommend this place :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiegoParra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This review refers to the beach area and restaurant. We visited the resort as an excursion from our cruise ship. If you are looking for the ultimate relaxtion then come here. Their cushioned cabanas and sunning areas are fabulous. There are plenty of cocktail folks that are there to serve you.
We ate lunch at the restaurant and it was delicious. I recommend the tuna plate. All in all a great location and facility.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank daveanddonna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Dave, wonderful to hear you've had a great time during your stay at Cabana Beach! Hope to see you soon in the resort. Kindest regards, Coen Morsink.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

my 2 kids,one 3 and the other 10, and me,stay at kontiki resort.
it was their first visit to the island and they had a great time!
Adriana,harvey & natalie,make our stay really good.
If u are going without kids is a great location as well,there is 3 beach clubs very famous here: cabana,wet & wild and mambo beach.
We spend half day at the sea aquarium,it was just 4 blocks away from our hotel,very convenience.
And crossing the street of the hotel there is a big gameroom.
We didnt went to the beach since we live in an island,wasnt much important but we love the pool which is filled with sea water and the beds were amazing,very pretty hotel.
There is a few things like,the smell of the bathroom,i reed it before,and there is indeed a smell of pee,maybe if they called someone from pipe cleaning.
The pillows arent the best and the breakfast from cabana should get some variation or a side menu.
Overall it was a very nice experience,thank you all
till next time

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lili-aruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear miss, great to hear you had so much fun with your children at Kontiki Beach Resort. We have plans to improve the children facilities, also at Cabana Beach, so they will like it even better. We're very pleased with your review and hope to see you soon again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May. It is really an oasis of peace and perfect for a relaxing holiday!
The cottages are very nice and the pool at every cottage is so peaceful, also the amazing sun beds are too great! The salt water in the pool is not so pretty, but it belongs to the eco concept of the resort. Also the beach is foreseen of those sun beds!
The beach bar/restaurant, are very nice with a lovely atmosphere, but the city centre of willemstad is so cute and offers very nice little restaurants and places! This resort is not a usual hotel resort (quiet, no animation, limited facilities), staff was very friendly, though maybe could be a bit more personal, but in this resort contact with reception and staff is limited which I think is because of the concept of this hotel. Therefore it is no issue!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephanieRaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Stephanie, thank you for commenting on Kontiki Beach Resort Curaçao. We are very pleased with your comments. We're glad you enjoyed Kontiki, the beach, the restaurant and the island Curaçao. We'll take your recommendations in mind, since we actually do strive for personal contact with our guests. So thank you again for your words and effort. We would like to see you again in Kontiki !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at kontiki beach resort curacao in the beginning of March 2013. I have to say that the place could be run a lot better very easily. Whoever is in charge there isn't doing their job properly. Here in brief is my experience.

Eventually after a long wait at the airport and a slow resort bus ride we arrived. We then had to wait over half an hour at reception just to get a key and check in etc. The staff were way too relaxed and slow to sort things out. Zero sense of urgency. Not good after an eleven hour flight.
Our room looked really good apart from smelling like a toilet and the air con worked as did the tv remote. The shower worked okay but overflowed quickly and ran out of hot water after ten minutes. Also, when the people upstairs showered, our shower turned it's self on. The wifi of course didn't work at all throughout ten days, even tho I was actually connected to it. I told reception on the second day and they called the guy responsible. They said he was resetting it. Nothing happened of course.
The pool looked really good and they cleaned it while we we there, lovely water etc. The sun loungers weren't clean though, they had bird droppings on them.
The resort in general looked very very beautiful. The plants and trees make the place look amazing and I took a lot of photos.
The workmen there began at eight in the morning fitting out other rooms, this was fine except they were using hammers at quarter past eight. Stupid.
As for the music at night, it didn't keep us awake and we were quite close.
Breakfast at the beach restaurant? Don't bother. It's fifteen euros each but worth about three euros and the staff don't want to know. The woman serving had no idea and was more concerned with her conversation than actually doing anything. We went to the supermarket and bought food. Our room did have a fridge so that was useful.
The restaurant at night was pretty good and the food was really nice however, again arses need kicking in order to get a satisfactory service. One day it's good, the next it's super slow. Simple things were overlooked and we had to flag someone down just to get a new drink. One night we even had to get menus because nobody noticed we were there. Apparently it was "too dark". Two or three of the staff were really good to be fair.
During the day the beach is small but nice with palm trees and waiters. You have to actually tell them you're staying at kontiki or they charge you double for the sun loungers. We only found out after a few days.

Kontiki and the Cabana beach bar restaurant could easily be improved in my opinion, it seems as if they've just let everything go slack. Most of the staff look like underpaid students so it's no wonder.
One more thing, don't use the laundry service, it's expensive and they don't get your clothes clean. Useful that is.. I paid seventy guilders which is like thirty euro just for some time shirts and underwear. Of course the laundry price list and bag were in the room,I just couldn't find them anywhere.
Kontiki is the best looking place there that I saw by a long way but I would definitely not recommend spending your money with them.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nvghnbccg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen M, Guest Relations Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear Sir / Madam, thank you for your comments on your holiday with Kontiki Beach Resort. Unfortunately you have experienced inconveniences. We regret for not being your favorite destination. We receive your sincere comments as improvement points and will transfer these in the organization. Please note we take the initiative to improve, by the help of our guests' comments. Hereby I would like to thank you again and would like to challenge you for a next stay. Kindest regards and see you in Kontiki Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I visited Curacao last month with my wife and i have to say it was beautiful.we stayed at Kontiki and it was a really nice hotel.Now there were a few things that i didnt appreciate...for example: although we were staying in the hotel, every day we had to pay for the chairs/beds on the beach.
Another thing was that we couldnt book breakfast (i dont know why) but they were serving breakfast buffet everyday, and we find it out by luck the last day of our holidays...The service personal is ok but not really professionals so dont wait...just go yourself.AND now the worst....every day party music until 4 oclock in the morning!!!!!so dont expect too much sleep!!!!!!!!!!!!!The best were two guys in the reception were REALLY polite and helpful!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gio g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coen M, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Gio, first of all we would like to thank you for reviewing your holiday at Kontiki Beach Resort Curaçao. We are pleased with guests giving feedback on their vacation so we are able to improve ourselves. Thank you for your nice compliments about our beauty and wellbeing, we're honored. Nevertheless, we also feel some disappointments and we would like to anticipate on these ones. We are surprised about the breakfast comment, yet we have our breakfast registered with our travel agents and bookings. Could you email us with where you booked your holiday. About the music, our Guest Service do measure the sound level every night and we have made clear appointments with the surrounding area. We can say with certain that the music stops at 2. Above all, we feel we have made your vacation to a nice trip and we hope to see you again.
With our kindest regards, Coen Morsink.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
2.0 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
678 reviews
2.0 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#11 of 32 in Willemstad
342 reviews
4.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort

Address: Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Kontiki Dive and Beach Resort Curacao)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: £150 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the most beautiful island in the Caribbean, on the most desirable beach of tropical Curacao you will find Kontiki Beach Resort. This luxury resort offers everything to make your holiday an unforgettable experience. You are welcome for a memorable and exotic stay. The resort has an extraordinary set up and is built with natural materials. Complex and vegetation, architecture and nature, all combined harmoniously into a relaxing atmosphere. The Tropical Superior is a wonderfully luxurious, renovated room. The extras of the Tropical Superior (full service) will not be available in this room. The Tropical Superior (full service) is a wonderfully luxurious, renovated room for extra comfort. In the tropical superior (full service) you can expect the following extras: bathrobes and slippers, mini-bar in a cold beach bag (on day of arrival), a free luxurious lounge bed at Cabana Beach or a comfort lounge bed at Mood Beach, daily turn-down service (except on day of arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kontiki Dive And Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Van Der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing