We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the view, skip for service and quiet”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go for the view, skip for service and quiet”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My partner and I celebrated our 20th anniversary/honeymoon at Avila with high hopes, which were quickly diminished when we walked into our ground floor double room, even though the reservation clearly stated upper king. Thanks to Alice, one of the managers, we managed to settle into room 290 (Blue Wing), two days after arriving. The room offers an amazing view, worthy of the hassles we experienced with the people at check in.

Many of the recent reviews have sited the rudeness of the staff, which we also felt and discussed with management. A simple hello seemed out of character with most of the staff at Avila except the women at the pool restaurant, who were terrific, and Desiree, one of the servers at the bar. The rest of the bar staff was confused by its own menu, spending more time standing around then pouring. Avila could be a terrific place but it’s apparent that they built too aggressively for the footprint of the property. The beach was too crowded and we were there the week of January 8, not even high season. The menu at the main restaurant was very good, (skip the Blues bar) but it did not seem to change the week we were there except when they had theme nights.

We are city gals and have been to numerous Caribbean islands and yet we have never been hassled anywhere. Avila is about 1½ blocks from 4 very good restaurants and 2 out of the 5 nights we ate down the street, we were harassed, with one night ending in us being chased back to Avila. It is not a safe neighborhood at night and while Avila has security guards at its front doors, guests would benefit from them standing on the street rather than near the entrance. All in all, the Avila has charm, but with so many options in Curacao, I’d skip Avila if you’re looking for a place that is welcoming, not crowded, is in a safe neighborhood and has staff that are happy you decided to vacation with them.

Room Tip: Book Blues Wing room 290 or 291
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathyEdelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    385
    107
    54
    23
See reviews for
168
661
47
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Have spent 8 fantastic days at Avila Beach Hotel. From the early morning training in the super quality fitness center overlooking the ocean, the swimming from the 3 private beaches, the delicious breakfasts, the delightful lunches at the poolbar to the superb dinners in one of the seaside restaurants - this is indeed luxury as it should be.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Chose this hotel based on the number of solid reviews on this site. We got basically what we expected and the only disappointment was that in some of the restaurant and bar experiences within the hotel service was poor. It was odd seeing so many waitstaff standing around while we waited for our drink or food order. Oftentimes our order was plain forgotten or completely misunderstood.
With that said the rooms were very clean and kept clean. The front desk was well organized and helpful. The beaches and pool were great. The location is also good with a short 20 min walk into town and very close to some of the best restaurants around. We did not want a large over crowded American hotel and instead wanted something smaller and very nice. It was our first time to Curacao but would return to Avila Beach.

Room Tip: The twin bed rooms are very small as our friends had one the first night then changed to one like ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Hague
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I come to this hotel once in a while on business. I really enjoy my stay here since the renovations. Location is good, you can walk into Willemstad, some excellent restaurants very close by, and the setting is just beautifull.
A big plus is that the rooms have a cable for internet, just plug in and the internet is up and running at good speeds.
Rooms are comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maarten81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I won a trip to Curacao, and had a 4-night stay at the Avila Hotel in early September 2011. Our room was in the Octagon wing, a "Preferred" very spacious room with balcony, ocean view and kitchenette. One day when it was very clear, we could see Venezuela from our room!!! Everything in our room seemed very new and fresh, and everyone was helpful from the moment we checked in.

The beachfront of the hotel is smallish but beautiful, and the water warm. Lounging chairs were available when we wanted them. The hotel seemed full while we were there and I am guessing that is why they ran out of beach towels. When we finally got some, we kept them overnight to use again, as they do not want room towels taken to the beach.

My husband and I could not remember a vacation where we felt so relaxed. There were several good restaurants on the premises, and some others within a short few blocks from the hotel. There is a shuttle that takes guests into town twice a day, but we chose to walk.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 404--with a very private balcony and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theos_leftluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Both beaches are almost non-existent. You have to call numerous times for clean/dry towels, shampoo, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Avila hotel is beautifully located on walking distance to Willemstad. The Octagon Wing has nice rooms. Like to see famous Dutch people? Go there! Expect service and like to eat good food? Avoid this place!
We stayed during X-mas. It started the moment from checkin in. They expected 3 and we were with a party of 4. Room was not sea view what was agreed -- due to the fact that the Octagon Wing is build perpendicular towards the sea. All Octagon rooms look side ways to the sea. But: an alternative was on its way (they said): a room on the ground floor overlooking a garden. Yeah: seaview :-(. We were promised other options as well. Of which we never heard of anymore. Other 'nice' examples of highly lacking service? Forget to clean our room twice. Asked for a restaurant reservation: "oops forgotten". Made a reservation for New Years eve dinner: "sure no problem", and half an hour later: "oops filled up". Another example of service: towels were put on the beachbeds early in the morning. Terrible habit which made it impossible to get a nice spot. Who wants to get up at 7 in the holidays? People got a nice beachbed by putting a towel on it, and then not showing up during the rest of the day. Just before we left we even heard that hotel staff was asked by guests to put the towels there early in the morning! Especially the Famous Dutch guests seemed to get this towel treatment. Blocking regular guests the option to stay on a nice spot. And by the way: since the hotel was lacking capacity they used the old beds on the beach. Bad plastic quality, old and broken.
My conclusion is simple: don't go to the Avila but go to the Hyatt or Renaissance hotel instead.

Room Tip: bolivar suite. blues wing 290 (willemstad/bay) or octagon 414 (willemstad/bay)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
620 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing