We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, poor service”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is located quite close to Willemstad, we often walked into the city (20 min walk). The neighbourhood does not look very appealing, but we never had any problems even at night.

The room we stayed in was small but ok - normally you don't stay in the room during the day, so this was no problem. The hotel has two small beaches with free sunchairs and enough places in the shade.
We only had breakfast in the hotel once because we think it is overpriced. Save some $ and have your breakfast in the Barrista coffee on the grounds of the hotel. For dinner we always went to one of the close restaurants or to Willemstad. The restaurants close to the hotel are very nice and the prices are ok.

The Avila hotel lacks good personel. There are some exceptions (Lady at the pool bar preparing snacks for lunch) but normally they just don't seem to be happy in their jobs. We've never seen a waiter smile...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Avila Hotel was well known for its personal touch and friendly staff. At our stay we were very disappointed, beginning at the check in counter were the staff was uninterested and didn't notice the guests and their needs. The room smelled strange like mold.We were happy to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Extremely disappointed! Very clean facilities a definite plus. And the food was also delicious. However the staff seemed to ignore us. To the point of a dinner that took 3.5 hours with poor service by our wait staff, needing to wave our hand to get the servers attention to just refill waters. 45 min. to get appetizers and another 1 and 15 minutels before our entree. This happened twice during our stay at dinner.
During the day, Bar tenders failed to acknowledge us unless we interupted them to get their attention. We are very patient people it was just rediculous what it took to get service (not even service with a smile).
If planning on new years vacation, fireworks blow off literally around the clock for at least 3 days prior and continue for two days after new years eve. It is loud!
Sleep was tough with fireworks, rooster crowing at about 4:30 am, and kids running across tile and yelling at 6:30am.
Locals outside of the resort had said that Avila is in a rough area of Curacoa, nothing happened to us in that respect. When Im used to going to places where the staff helps make the vacation the best that it can be, its disappointing.
To sum it up, poor service, loud, good food, clean.

Room Tip: Try and get on the ends of each wing of the octagon it seems to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petchman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We decided to stay at Avila based on the location of the hotel and the fact they have 2 real beaches. When we arrived at 4pm to check in the woman at the desk said our room wasn't ready yet. She said it would be about 10-15 minutes but we could check our luggage. Well 10 minutes, 1/2 hour, 1 hour, 1.5 hours..finally 2 hours later our room was available to check in. I have NEVER been to a nice resort and had to wait 2 hours for the room to be available.

We stayed in the Blues wing with a nice terrace over looking the water. The room was nice and just what we expected. They do have an ant problem so do not leave any food uncovered in the room, or drop crumbs your floor will be covered in ants. Also the walls are extremely thin, and you can hear your neighbors every move.

There is no hospitality on the island of Curacao. Everyone does things at their own pace..
I have never seen ordering a drink take 5 people behind the bar 30 minutes to figure out how to make it. Ordering drinks from the bar became a chore, even a glass of wine was a problem. Many times they would give us the bill before the drink even arrived. Service is not their specialty. They make you feel like you are making them have to go out of their way to do their job. I only found a few people at the resort extremely friendly. To name a few Rickart-so sweet, helpful, made the vacation enjoyable. Luxeandrew is the only one who knows how to make a drink, and can make it in a timely fashion.

We ate at a few restaurants. Fishalicious was by far my favorite!! Great fish! Rozendeals is a close second. The service at both of these restaurants was on pair. Breakfast at the hotel in the morning was great!! Amazing waffles cooked with sugar-yummy! Good thing it was a buffet and we could serve our selves.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend Curacao to my friends, and would not go back to the island. I have been to many island in the Caribbean and this one I would suggest staying away from.

Pros: beach, buffet breakfast,blues bar on thursday night, Rickart & Luxeandrew for taking care of us.
Cons: island not safe, run down, AWFUL AWFUL service...like nothing i have ever experienced!

Room Tip: Ask for the large room in the blues wing at the end of the pier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacki n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Safe back home in Scandinavia I am wondering why we didn’t extended our holiday at Avila Beach Hotel where we have enjoyed endless hospitality, wonderful local food and relaxing moments at the beach. Wonderful sea-views from the well equipped rooms. I can recommend a good week stay at this hotel! My compliments to the staff. Best regards a relaxed guest

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My wife and I decided to try this historic property on our first trip to Curacao. We were definitely in the minority of English speaking guests, but we liked it that way. Avila appeals to the Dutch citizens, but why not join them for the "continental" effect? All staff members were attentive, but I did notice the restaurant service a little slow at lunch and dinner. I got the feeling that was more because YOU ARE ON VACATION and no one should be in a rush!
Breakfast buffet was expansive and delicious.
Prices are higher than most other places we visited. The setting is perfect for beach time, cocktails at sunset, sunning and gentle swimming. They have two fairly small enclosed swimming areas open to the sea but are well protected from wave action by two jetties. That factor is important especially if you are traveling with children.
I am an avid scuba diver, so we partnered with Ocean Encounters a short drive south for fantastic, non-crowded diving. We rented a car and parked free in Avila's lot in order to drive all over the entire island.
I felt safe as we explored the island.
All rooms we saw at Avila were comfortable. You pay an upcharge for the best views, so that is a traveler's option. We stayed in a 4th floor room not facing the ocean, but we hardly ever are in the room during daylight. Rooms were quiet, even though the hotel was full during high season.
Our room was large and had excellent bathroom ammenities. We are planning to return to Avila Beach Hotel on our next trip.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, look at hotel map before you decide, but there is a significant upcharge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MRbluegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My partner and I celebrated our 20th anniversary/honeymoon at Avila with high hopes, which were quickly diminished when we walked into our ground floor double room, even though the reservation clearly stated upper king. Thanks to Alice, one of the managers, we managed to settle into room 290 (Blue Wing), two days after arriving. The room offers an amazing view, worthy of the hassles we experienced with the people at check in.

Many of the recent reviews have sited the rudeness of the staff, which we also felt and discussed with management. A simple hello seemed out of character with most of the staff at Avila except the women at the pool restaurant, who were terrific, and Desiree, one of the servers at the bar. The rest of the bar staff was confused by its own menu, spending more time standing around then pouring. Avila could be a terrific place but it’s apparent that they built too aggressively for the footprint of the property. The beach was too crowded and we were there the week of January 8, not even high season. The menu at the main restaurant was very good, (skip the Blues bar) but it did not seem to change the week we were there except when they had theme nights.

We are city gals and have been to numerous Caribbean islands and yet we have never been hassled anywhere. Avila is about 1½ blocks from 4 very good restaurants and 2 out of the 5 nights we ate down the street, we were harassed, with one night ending in us being chased back to Avila. It is not a safe neighborhood at night and while Avila has security guards at its front doors, guests would benefit from them standing on the street rather than near the entrance. All in all, the Avila has charm, but with so many options in Curacao, I’d skip Avila if you’re looking for a place that is welcoming, not crowded, is in a safe neighborhood and has staff that are happy you decided to vacation with them.

Room Tip: Book Blues Wing room 290 or 291
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CathyEdelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.9 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
661 reviews
1.6 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
443 reviews
5.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: £132 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing