We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Avila!”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed at the Avila hotel July 17-28 with my husband and 2 young kids and had a wonderful time!

We booked a room at the Belle Alliance Wing but were upgraded to the Octagon wing (thank you Avila!). Our room (309) was large, modernly furnished and super clean.
The king size bed had lots of pillows and was very comfortable. There was a small sitting area with a flat screen TV and a kitchenette.
The bathroom had a shower and there was a tub in the dressing area. The balcony was large and had a side view of the water.

The hotel has 2 beaches, one side is calmer and one has more waves. The beach itself is relatively small and can get a bit crowded.
The infinity pool is small but nice.

We ate at 'Blues' a couple of times and we liked the food and the ambiance.
For breakfast we went to the coffe shop on the hotel grounds (closed on Sundays) and had coffee while our kids played at the the octagon courtyard.

The staff was friendly and helpful!

The neighborhood seemed pretty safe to us and felt very comfortable to walk to and from town and to the nearby restaurants.

We rented a car and drove around the entire island. We went to a different beach every day and we finished the day at the hotel beach or the pool.
We liked playa forti, paya jeremi, playa lagun, porto marie, cas abao and of course cas abu.
The snorkeling was incredible so bring your gear with you!

The town was lovely! Very picturesque with lots of colourful houses. It was nice to see that a lot of them are in the process of being restored.
The floating market is a good spot to pick up some fresh fruit. We went to the old market (Plasa Biew) and had lunch a couple of days. The food is good and cheap!

The Avila proved the perfect base for our vacation to Curacao and would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank l00ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is a great hotel.I received a Warm welcome from the staff when I arrived. The property is nice. The octagon room was great. (clean spacious, balcony). We had awesome view of the ocean. Free internet, The beach on one side is really nice. NO Rocks in sand before getting to the water.Nice beach chairs. Down side#1.- sign say no food/drink unless purchase on property. Uh ,I would like to bring my own beverage and chips to the beach. I'm just saying.The TV has limited English speaking channels.Definetly need more! The exercise facility was state of the art. The refrigator doesn't get that cold.The bed was very comfortable. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deltainde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at 3 hotels during our time in Curacao. A quick no frills place (Ritz) for our first night in as we landed late, as well as our next day since we took a trip to Klein Curacao, Avila for 5 nights, and then Kura Hulanda Beach Club in Westpunt for the last half. We were surprised that this hotel far exceeded the small luxury hotel of Kura Hulanda in many regards. A better beach, walking distance to town, nicer ammenties, and a state of the art gym and spa ( for free) . Truly one of the best gyms I've been to in a hotel with tons of top of the line equipment complete with a view of the ocean and a steam room and sauna.

We stayed in the newest wing since it had more options for a sea view room upgrade which was perfect. I do think the older blues wing if you can guarantee a sea room was amazing though. You walk onto a wooden like pier to large rustic rooms that hang directly over the sea. Stunning! Neither is a bad choice though.

Food at the restaurant for lunch was great. Just wish the Blues Bar over the water would open for lunch and serve the same food. We went for dinner and enjoyed the atmosphere, but the food paled in comparison. Definitely a shame. Local spots: For great food nearby Ginger (Tapas/Fusion) . Bar: Miles. Local Jazz bar where they put on the latest records and patrons even enjoy Cuban cigars. (FYI Much cheaper to purchase here than at the Renaissance Soprano's store in town) You're not advised to walk at night and I can see why but with a big tall guy, we were just fine. Not even a close call. Just some deserted homes along the way give you a greater sense of awareness. Seasons was just across the street and was our best meal on the island. A little pricey but in the end about 20 dollars more than anything else but far superior.

Beach/pool was wonderful as there were many broken up places people could relax. Two beach coves, the pier, and the infinity pool. Never felt overcrowded as you had many choices.

One small disappointment. Limited television. Only a few channels. We were here for the olympics and they didn't even have NBC.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iesimskriesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is an excellent hotel in Curacao and comes strongly recommended: The hotel is well-kept and has good maintenance. Excellent private beach. Good restaurants with varied food and possibilities to relax. Keep in mind that prices vary very much with time of year, and bargains are to be had.

Room Tip: Check rates various places including at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oyvindei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed for five nights in the Octagon wing of the Avila hotel. The pillows were okay, but the beds are extremely firm. If you enjoy sleeping on the floor, then you will love these beds. For me they were much too hard. The shower and bath tub were nice, and the room was very clean. It had a small fridge and burner with some basic kitchen supplies and utensils. The beach at the hotel is small but beautiful. The water is clear and there are many places to sit and enjoy the view. The hotel is convienently located about 2.2 km from Punda (downtown) and also close to several fine dining restaurants (Seasons, Chopstix, Fishalicious), some fun local spots (Cabana Beach Club and Sea Terrace Restaurant), as well as the seaquarium and Lion's Dive Resort. While you have to walk through a neighborhood that maybe isn't the nicest, we enjoyed the fact that you could leave the hotel and reach downtown in one direction, and then Seaquarium, Cabana and Lion's Dive in the other - none of which were more than a 35 minute walk. The staff at the hotel is definitely not the most service oriented. You get a feeling that everyone is there to do their minimum required job and go home. No one was rude, but service was often very slow and unenthusiastic. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but when we wanted an especially nice meal we left the resort property because the service was just not quite what we expect on vacation. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel and tried the Blues and Terrace restaurant. All of the food was decent, but not amazing, and seemed priced a little high for the quality and level of service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jabentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I began our search for the perfect Curacao hotel a month or so prior to our "kid free" vacation. I did a ton of research and narrowed our choices down to the Marriott Curacao and The Avila Hotel. I contacted both properties and was surprised that got a personal response from Sam at the Avila Hotel. Sam works primarly with US and Canadian tourists and is charged with bringing more people to their hotel. Sam was very open and said that both hotels were very beautiful. The difference at Avila is that it's more of a boutique hotel; smaller, less corporate, giving you a true Curacao experience. Sam was very helpful in answering all my questions about the differnt types of rooms, the currency, where to eat, what to see, proximity to town, to rent a car vs not rent a care...really going above expectations to ensure that I had all my questions answered!
We arrived in Curacao and took a taxi to the hotel. Taxi's are quite expensive, but we knew this going in. The taxi from the airport to the Avila was $35 US and about a 20 minute ride. We were greeted at the Avila with a nive cup of lemonade and were told we had the choice of 3 rooms. She proceeded to take us to the 3 different rooms. The first two were in the Octogon Wing; one on the bottom floor and one on the second floor. The Octogon Wing is new with new modern rooms. The room was very nice, very modern and had a lovely balcony with a view overlooking the pool and out to the ocean. She then led us to the 3rd room in the Blues Wing. The Blues Wind is a bit older and an all wooden structure that is built on a little peninsula on the property. The rooms are not as modern as the ones in the Octogon Wing, but still clean and updated with wood moldings and white bedding. The view and deck sealed the deal for us. It was AMAZING! Since the Blues Wing is built on a little peninsula, when you are on the deck, it really feels like you are sitting out in the ocean. After being in Curacao for 6 days and visiting other hotels, I don't think there is a better room with a view...anywhere! Our room number was #290...I think it was by far, the best room, too! The deck was large enough for 2 lounge chairs. We would have breakfast in the morning and then bring our coffee back to our deck and sit for hours in the sun (coffee and book, in hand)!
The service at the hotel was also, great. The fron tdesk staff were very friendly and very helpful. The Spa employees were also very nice and offered great massages. Lastly, the bartenders and one in particular: Jay. Jay had a way to make every guest feel like they were his best friend! He provided excellent service and served up some pretty excellent drinks! My favorite was the co-co lite....and NO, this does not mean a diet coke!
I also enjoyed the layout of the hotel. The pool is directly by the beach/ocean. So, I could be lying at the pool while my husband was on the beach and you could still have a conversation. I thought this was an excellent layout if you were traveling with a large family or with children. You wouldn't feel disconnected, yet everyone could still do their own thing.
The food at the hotel was really good. We enjoyed venturing out at night to differnt local restaurants, but enjoyed breakfast and lunch at the hotel many of the days. The seared tuna salad was probably our favorite!
The proximity to town was also perfect. It's close enough to walk, if you want to. We walked to the several restuarants and to a dive place, with no problem. The hotel offeres shuttle service 2x a day. I would reccomend taking advantage of that for your trips to the downtown area. As far as renting a car, we did but, just for 1 day. We enjoyed driving to Cas Abu - lovely drive and a really beautiful beach that is worth spending the day at. Other reccomendations would be: Go to Jan Theil Beach and have lunch/drinks at Zanzibar. Then, walk over to Papagayo Resort and lay out. You can rent a chair for a new dollars. The pool is built to look like you are walking into the ocean. It's also an infiniti pool. So, from the distance, you can't tell if you are looking at the pool or the ocean. Great service..right to your beach chair! The Hilton is also worth seeing. It's a very, very far out of the way. But, the hotel is beautiful and the pool is very nice. The fish tacos at the pool restaurant were probably the BEST I have ever had.
Overall, I would highly reccommend the Avila Hotel and I would stay there again, without hesitation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed (family of 4 in two rooms at the Belle Terrace area) at Avila from July 4 to July 14, 2012, and it was just perfect.Service was really good with kind people, the hotel area with the two beaches and swimming pool is simply outstanding, rooms are very confortable and clean. The hotel also has a rental car company inside that is very convenient to save from taxis specially when going to the northwest beaches. Some shopping is also possible inside in small stores. A travel agent is at the end of the complex and can help you planning activities. A coffee shop is there too, where you can even have breakfast, in case you want something simpler and cheaper (compared to what is offered by the hotel) without compromising quality. As a must, do not forget to enjoy one of the special nights at Blues Restaurant, sitting in a table listening the sea waves, on Thursdays or Saturdays, with live music and a very friendly atmosphere added to the well defined menu, different from one night to another. We liked very much and would return for sure.

Room Tip: Belle Terrace area has rooms with partial views of the ocean and the garden, for a very reasonable p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TicoNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.9 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
1.6 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
454 reviews
3.3 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Willemstad
355 reviews
5.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: £128 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing