We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

If you're looking for exceptional staff and good conference facilities this is the place to be! I stayed here on business and I was very impressed with the assistance I received. My luggage was delayed from the airline and the front desk staff did all they could to ensure I received my luggage. Being quite anxious about it they kept me up to date on information from the airline etc. The Duty Manager Natalie heard about my baggage issues and took time out of her extremely busy schedule to assist me and ensure I had temporary clothing until my baggage arrived. Now that's what I call Service Delivery! The conference facilities were great and very well organised. I had a couple of issues with my room on check in but this was dealt with quickly and professionally by the front desk and security. I appreciated the fact the staff are empowered to make quick decisions when there's a problem. The rooms are clean, the food is good and the staff are great! Good choice when staying in Curaçao.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charmaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    404
    108
    56
    23
See reviews for
180
693
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This Hotel has everything you need for a perfect visit to Curacao. We stayed in th Octagon-wing and the room was really nice. We were told by some other guests that the Belle Aliance wing was a bit worn down, but we never saw it ourselves. The location of the hotel is perfect. It's jost a short walk into Punta and Otrabanda (15 min). There some nice resturants nearby (mr Chopstix etc.) and the hotelresturant is allso nice. An agency located at the hotel can help you book trips and activities. If I ever go back to Curacao, (I hope to) I will most definitly stay in Avila again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eivind215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel.

We arrived early and they accommodated us with an earlier check-in. We arrived on our anniversary and thought it was a wonderful touch that we had champagne in our room upon arrival. It was unexpected, but much appreciated. I also mentioned we needed to make reservations for dinner for the evening, and they quickly made them for us without issue.

We were in 320 in the Octagon wing, and we loved our room. It was sleek and modern and our deck had a lovely view. The bed was a little stiff, but nothing awful. Overall, the room was perfect. Small sink, had coffee, mini-bar, snacks for a small fee.

The beach areas were great. We went during slow season, and never had a problem finding a place to lounge. I absolutely loved the views. They were gorgeous. The snorkeling was pretty decent right in the beach area so be sure to bring a mask! The one side of the beach has no waves at all so it was very easy to enjoy the water.

The hotel is small but nice and it has enough amenities to keep one satisfied. Plus, it's walking distance to town and only maybe 3 minutes walk to some great restaurants. Definitely check out Fishalicious (we went there twice!) Loved it, loved it, loved it. Also, Seasons was very good (they have Lionfish, some great escargot and wines!) a few more great restaurants are mixed in, and St. Tropez beach club is great for drinks. Very hip.

Don't recommend walking around late at night very far. We were never bothered, but we were warned by locals to steer clear of the streets late at night. During the day, a walk to Plein Cafe Wilhelmina in town is worth it. Great food. We had many reasonably priced breakfasts there.

Back to the Avila. Blues bar is fun for live music on Thursdays, however, I think better drinks are to be had by the bars near the pool/ ocean.

Go here for: Great beach. Nice pool. Perfect views. Nice, but not too expensive. Close to town, yet romantic and quiet enough. Near the action, yet removed. Some great food practically next door. Rooms are clean. Spacious. Friendly staff. Coffee shop. Wi-fi. Quick to try to make guests happy.

Frustrated by: Our shower sucked. We literally soaked our entire floor every time. Impossible not to due to set up. The sheets smelled (especially pillowcases) super moldy, mildews, musty one evening. It was kind of gross. Our keys stopped working randomly a few times and had to be re-set. And we found the restaurant set-up very confusing. It would be helpful to have menus near the entrances. We didn't even realize both bars had completely different food for a few days. We had no room service menu.

Basically: An awesome hotel. Small, yet perfect in many ways. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank stefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We chose Avila for our honeymoon over Kura Hulanda and Baoase. we loved the place, it delivered! Alice Crafton, the manager on duty who assisted with our check-in, was amazing! The personalized service and attention to every detail made us feel like we were VIP's from the start. We can not say enough graet things about Alice, but the rest of the staff was very friendly and accomodating as well. We loved the bars - one is a cocktail bar with good sandwiches and bar apps, the other one is more of a lunch spot, that's the pool bar. We ate twice at the main restaurant, Belle Terrace - lively and romantic at the same time. Blues, the smaller restaurant is on a pier, great views, live music on Thursdays and it seemed like a local favorite on that night. The beach was clean and well maintained, very comfortable sunbathing, snorkeling or a late night dip in the pool. The hotel is in a great area, we walked to town on the first day (it is 25 minute walk, but you get to see Pietermaai, and stop at Wilhemina cafe, for typical Dutch fare) - for the rest of the days we rented a scooter and were able to take trips everywhere on the island.
For dinner on our first night Alice recommended Fishalicious, 2 blocks away, and the food there was great - fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere. We also loved Baoase's restaurant - right on the sand. Overall a wonderful stay and would absolutely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly renovated Octogon wing, request a high floor if available for the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amrcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Avila, situated just a skip from the downtown bustle of Williamstad, was an amazing get-away from the stress of every day life. The private beaches, endless pool, mutiple dining choices, private balconies and superb service made my vacation one of fairy tales. There is a gym that overlooks the Caribbean Sea for an air-conditioned work out any time of day. I even scheduled a private massage that was situated at the very top of the Blue's wing. It could not have been more relaxing, between the views, the certified massage therapist and perfect weather. My favorite part about Avila is that it is family owned and operaterated. They are dedicated to making everyone's stay as wonderful as possible. It is like being invited into their home and being treated like royalty.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HadleyJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The overall service was great! I loved the food that was served during the buffets. The blues restaurant had such a great atmosphere, life music and the staff was very kid oriented.
The beautiful endless pool is just a "must swim in" to enjoy the beauty and serenity.
The beach is cute and cozy. We saw college kids, families with young kids, older people. This hotel is a hidden pearl on earth and for sure a must feel and see!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amberoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

For the most part it was an average stay...nothing really above and beyond but not a whole lot of negatives either...the lagoon type beaches were nice and relaxing but get there early to get the best seats in the house....service at the bars was fairly good...the hotel provides a shuttle to the downtown/market area 2x daily which was nice and convenient...hotel is located within a 15minute walk from the nearest grocery store which was good for 2 visits for us...snorkeling in the lagoon always turned up something new as well...for the most part would rank this stay between average and above average but nothing that was just plain spectacular...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aceles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.8 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
638 reviews
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
438 reviews
5.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing