We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Objective but dependant on relative experiences” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Objective but dependant on relative experiences”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

First, I think it important to emphasize that all travelers will base reviews on their own past experiences and their current expectations. To some, the Avila would easily rate as a 5 star. To others a 3. So it is often difficult to give a totally objective review relevant to all travelers.

From our perspective we are in our 50’s, from the Toronto area of Canada and have traveled to at least 10 mostly all-inclusive resorts throughout the Caribbeans. Prior to deciding on the Avila we had a good idea of what to expect in Curacao and how to “temper” some of the negative reviews of other travelers.

We stayed in the Blues Wing, room 288. The view faced east looking at the Blues bar and nice beach. Had the morning sun and a bit cooler in the evening which was nice. It was just beautiful but always very windy. Nice deck with lots of room for a table and wicker armchairs. We noted many of the other decks had loungers but felt it wasn’t something that we cared enough to have one brought over.

The room was sufficiently spacious and had a 2 burner stove-top, fridge and sink. Bathroom was nice and had a double sink. At the risk of sounding fussy, our wish list would have included a TV with more than 1 English channel (CNN), water temperature which was easier to regulate, and an overall makeover of the room. It was a bit tired and in need of some updating and furniture (a higher table and perhaps a couple of comfy armchairs), some paint and decorating, new windows and sliding door, stuff like that. Not a complaint, but something which would add so much in relation to the investment.

With the exception of beach service (not sure if they had it as we were never asked), the service everywhere was excellent. Whether the dining room, blues bar, front desk, room attendants, all were helpful, polite, and friendly.

The common areas including decking, walks, pool, and even the restrooms were spotless, clean and very modern. A 10 in every respect.

The swimming and snorkeling is also excellent. Lots of fish/marine life and you could snorkel in the protected area or venture out past the retaining walls if adventuresome.

We enjoyed all of our evening meals either at the terrace dining area with a lovely view of the bay or in the blues room. Service was exceptional and we could always relax in total comfort. Terrace offered very good upscale food albeit a limited menu and would loved to have seen even more offerings. Blues room was more relaxed fare but still offered a good steak, ribs, chicken, and burger type menu.

One of the nice features of this hotel is the proximity to Willemstad. It’s about a 15 minute walk and 10 more minutes to go over the foot bridge. Walking at night was discouraged due to the possibility of crime.

Like life, it’s often about the small things and following is a list (mostly for the Avila’s attention) that we felt were minor irritants and could easily be improved upon -

- Out of about 50 or so books in the library only 2 were English the rest Dutch (we ran out of reading material).
- No facecloths ever delivered despite request (cultural thing not to use?).
- The only breakfast option was the $20pp buffet. We enjoy just fruit/cereals in the morning and it was difficult to get room service. Upon further insistence we were provided with the order forms (none in room) which you could not call in or leave on your door. It had to be delivered to the front desk before bed. Did arrive in the morning on time and always consisted of some breads and 3 types of fruit + juice. So/so.
- Except for the blues bar which had good music twice weekly, there is nothing in the way of evening entertainment (and one English TV channel). Billiards, games room, shuffleboard…?
- On the beach areas there is very little shade or umbrellas and no attendants monitoring when to move or set new ones up. Also, the few select shady spots were constantly “reserved” by those who feel their “special standing” allows them to place their beach towel on the loungers then leave them there day in and day out. This, I just don’t get and would like to see rules in place to keep this in check.
- This area does not have long beaches for walking. Each beach area tends to be nice but small and blocked off to the neighbouring beach.

All considered, the Avila is a lovely place offering exceptional value and we would certainly return on our next trip to Curacao.

Room Tip: We only stayed in the blues wing but had a look at a room in each of the other wings. One was new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    358
    102
    51
    23
See reviews for
156
616
45
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

I overall loved the hotel and the weather was a dream while we were here. My only complaint would be the room was ok not amazing for the money we paid and the staff was ok as well. We could sit on the beach all day without the beach server getting a drink order from us. They were nice but didn't go out of their way to make it an amazing experience for us. I can't dispute the grounds are beautiful and the beach is nice. I was just hoping for a more luxury room for the price we paid for the octagon wing. Despite it all I would come to Curacao again, but maybe explore a new hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zap81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Spent 2 weeks over Christmas 2012. By far the best place we have visited. Upgraded to the Blues wing and well worth the experience. The staff extremely friendly, attentive and always made sure you had everything you needed. Resort spotless, snorkeling was amazing.

Enjoyed so much we are going back again for 2 weeks at Christmas.

Dan & Al

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielG920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

we had a wonderful one week stay at avila.
professional service, friendly people, first class food and good music(live) on thursdays.
a place to remember and go back at any time.
octagon wing is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 946jjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Good location - walking distance to Willemstad (don't do it after dark, though), great beach and beautiful pool. My teenage daughters, husband and I loved the beach and the view - we could see the cruise ships entering and leaving. The room had small mini-kitchen, 2 comfortable full beds. The bathroom definitely needed a make-over - thin towels, a faint sewage smell near the toilet - never figured out what it was - and a broken hook on the door so our robes kept falling off. Also, housekeeping service often came late in the afternoon which bothered me. On the plus side, the workout room is outstanding - I saw dolphins in the ocean as I ran on the treadmill. Breakfast was pretty good (although would have been nice if it were included in the room rate) But we loved the views and the beach and the location so I would recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Blues Wing in room 189; best location right on the water. We had a small deck with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPAZPATTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zielona Gora, Poland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I stayed ath the Avila Hotel in october 2012.
I did book the Oxygon side which is newly renovated and I was great! The room had pool and oceanview, Great stone shower and seperate area for the bathroom nice decor. The Blues Restaurant was pricey and could improve on their food. It wasn't that good.
Room Tip: Octagon part of the hotel - Room 216 has fantastic oceanview

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxflyMaxfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Good location. Great beach. Nice though quite noisy room (we stayed in Blues Wing.)

Mixed experiences with staff...some friendly and attentive, others rude and act bothered by simple requests, some of which are outright forgotten (read: lunch service at beach from bar staff).

Beautiful resort. Good dinner food.

No wifi in room and wifi in lobby quite slow.

Experience well suited for beach-loungers and families.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1.6 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Family Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing