We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience and perfect for our wedding”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My now husband and I chose the Avila hotel as the perfect location for our wedding in June 2013 without seeing the property first. We had heard great reviews from this site and others, as well as our wedding coordinator and others from the tourism board. 25 of our closest family and friends came with us and also stayed at the hotel and everyone had a wonderful time. I can not say enough wonderful things about the hotel and the management. Most of our group stayed in the Belle Alliance rooms, and had great experiences. Everyone one of those rooms had a fantastic view and everything was easily accessible to the main areas of the hotel. We did have a few guests who stayed in either the Octagon or Blues wings, and they were also very happy.

Upon arriving, we were settled into a suite in Belle alliance that overlooked not only the beach but also the Pergola which is where we got married (a perfect, intimate site for a small wedding!!) The staff at the hotel were wonderful to us, and were very accommodating the entire time. On the day of the wedding (about half way through our 2 week trip) we were surprised with an upgrade to another suite which had first floor deck over the water and access to the small, private beach. After the wedding, we went there and the hotel decorated the bedroom as well as gave us a bottle of sparkling wine to enjoy. We felt like a king and queen the entire time, and it was hard to say goodbye after the two weeks!

Our guests loved the location of the hotel. It is an easy 20-30 minute walk into town, and the same to a grocery store (which gave people the needed ability to get cheap snacks/drinks). As they will tell you when you arrive, it is not recommended that you walk anywhere on the island after dark, but it is easy to get a taxi whenever needed. There is a Budget rental car service at the hotel and a tour guide who can help arrange excursions around the island. We took advantage of both of these services and were very happy with the results.

Again, we can't stay enough about the staff - from Zatessa and Jessica who helped coordinate the wedding to Luxandrew at the bar who helped us create a great signature drink for our reception. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Curacao, and I hope we get the chance to return sometime soon.

Room Tip: All of the room options are good. We really enjoyed our experience in Belle Alliance, even though t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

My wife and I chose Avila for our 1st year wedding anniversary. We wanted a full service hotel where we could fully relax and enjoy the beach. Avila delivered this and more. The property boasts 2 beautiful beaches....one with wonderful rolling waves and crystal clear turquoise water and the other with a protected lagoon area perfect for relaxing and even the weakest of swimmers. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet (this is not included in the room price), Schooner Bar, the beach bar grill, main dining terrace and The Blues Restaurant which featured live Jazz on Thursday nights. The pool was lovely and refreshing and the fitness club was top notch with the latest equipment and a sea view. We appreciated that the hotel offered theme nights...such as Antillean night, and Grill night, as well as a beach bar happy hour with live music. We stayed in the Blues Wing because we wanted to be as close to the water as possible. The view was stunning and the sound of the waves crashing lulled us to sleep at night. Our only complaint was the the room was rather dark and a bit worn around the edges (one night the lock on our door stuck and we could not get out of the room). We also did not have a hairdryer in the room or a mini bar as advertised. The staff was helpful and mostly attentive..but the service at the main restaurant and Schooner Bar were sometimes rather slow.
Overall, it was a wonderful experience. We only ventured away from the Hotel a few times--we enjoyed the property and the dining so much. Sometimes, it's nice just to have it all right within reach.

Room Tip: If staying in the Blues Wing, ask for an upper floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cymarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed at Avila in the Octagon Wing in June 2013. This hotel is considered one of the best on the island. Although all in all I guess the product is reasonable, there were some things which I really disliked. One of it was the very cheap and horrible cushions in the room. This is definitely NOT fitting for a hotel in this class. Secondly, the hotel is very (read: too) much oriented on European travelers. In my room there were only European outlets, making it quite challenging to charge my laptop, phones etc. which are all with American plugs. I find it plainly weird that no consideration is given to people visiting from the surrounding islands or the US.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonairetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much! Hotel desk was very helpful with reservations, etc. The staff at all of the resturants were very lazy. Took their time in every aspect. Had to wait for drinks, food and last of all our bill! Resturants down the street were much better!!

Room Tip: Octagon area was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckwheatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We travelled to the Avila hotel end of February for two weeks. We had booked a room facing the sea three months previous via an Internet travel company called Expedia. This was not our first trip to curaçao, however it was our first in a hotel. When we arrived there were quite a few disgruntled American tourists complaining of not getting the rooms they had booked. We attempted to check in and were told our room was not ready (4pm). We were shown to our room by a pleasant chap, but were lost for words when we were given our room. We had booked a sea facing room with one king bed. We were given a building facing room with two beds and very basic fittings. I turned the porter around and hedged for reception. The Americans had given up and retired to the bar!! I told the reception I would wait until my correct room was ready and was not going away. I noticed the award given by Trip Advisor on the counter and informed the staff that my review would not be very complementary. Whether or not this hit the right note, we were taken to a lovely room with a view of the sea. It is obvious they try to please on a first come first served basis. Apart from this the hotel was above average, I nice stroll into town and several bars on the way. Curaçao is a great pace to watch people. Frequent visits from cruise liners change the port area from sedate to manic and it's fun to watch. Beer and wine is okay and does not cot he earth. Would we stay in the Avila again? Probably not. We like the independence of an apartment .

Room Tip: Check with your travel company and ensure they have guaranteed your booking and get this in writing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at the Avila Hotel for the Memorial Day weekend. The resort is about 15-20 minutes away from Willemstad Airport. We booked our ground transportation through Expedia.com. Staff was pleasant, check in was a breeze. However, I was not comfortable with the out-side surroundings. Lots of dilapidated, abandoned buildings in the area that made you feel unsafe while walking, do be careful. There are other restaurants, a pharmacy and a supermarket, all within walking distance. Do take cabs or rent a car to explore the island and other restaurants that are simply beautiful!!

The resort itself is nice, not too large and overwhelming. Housekeeping, I must say was very slow. They didn’t come around to clean our room until 3pm. They wouldn’t replace basic needs when they would run out such as soap or toilet paper. We’d have to call front desk several times only to be told, “They’re on their way”. They would not show up until at least 3 hours after the call was placed!

The rooms are well equipped with a flat screen TV (poor choice of TV stations) stove and a circuit converter for those of us who reside in the U.S. The best part of this resort is the two private beaches. Not very large, but lots of lounge chairs and it was never crowded; depending on the time of year you go. Drinks are sporadically served on the beach as well. There is a bar, however, nearby on the beach.

I enjoyed my stay, however, I would not return to this resort. There is lots of room for improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed here for week in May. Booked a Blues Wing room. Room very outdated (door on balcony had to be locked with a wooden stick) for price paid. Hotel grounds and beaches are really nice. Ate in the different restaurants in the hotel and there is a big difference in the service. Restaurant Belle Terrace had nice service but that could not be said about the Blues Bar. Biggest disapointment was the Bar. Never witnessed such a slow, arrogant and bad service for a beachbar. They were more eager to provide you the bill than serving drinks or food. A big plus for the lady from Housekeeping. She did a good job. Overall the experience as ok.

Room Tip: Pay attention which room you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasSchoenmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.9 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
663 reviews
1.6 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
444 reviews
5.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: £134 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing