We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but lacking”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but lacking”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Avila is a nice hotel with a friendly staff. It is clean and in a good location. The beach is tiny (there are no large sandy beaches in Curacao) the pool is small and the patrons are predominantly from the Netherlands or Holland. Very nice happy people but eventually their English wears thin and our Dutch amounted to two words. There are no day time activities and the on site pay activities desk was extremely limited in days and times available. Nice place but not we anticipated.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    395
    108
    55
    23
See reviews for
173
681
48
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
doetinchem
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Maybe there's another Avila hotel on Curacao cause even if I wanted, I cannot give them an overall positive feedback! Well, they do have positive points: the location is great, nice beach, good rooms. So far the positive, we have visited a lot of hotels all over the world and I can honestly say that we have never encountered such a bad service, especially in a hotel which is so "high-class" as they claim to be.
There's the personell who are just so not interested in helping you, we haven't had one morning at breakfast where we didn't have to beg for coffee or tea, and witnessed other people having difficulty too. We didn't even try to get a second cup. Just one of the many bad examples we encountered: at the beach bar one of the waitresses lost a receipt by wind, I chased it, gave it to her, she didn't glance at me and went on with her work, I ordered two coke with her collague, after 10 minutes I got it without glasses, I ask for glasses, got one (!) after 5 minutes and when I asked for another glass (hey! I got two cans, helloooooo!) she was very irratated and almost threw the glass at me (oh and it were plastic cups by the way, no glasses witch Irequested, but I didn't bother anymore).
Maybe we were cursed because originally we had booked at the Kura Hulanda hotel, witch went broke, and were booked through our travelagent to the Avila. We had to change room because the plumming wasn't working and we almost suffacted on the fumes. Our safe in the new room was closed, after asking for two days finally someone came to open it, they wanted to charge us for breakfast, but we had booked and payed breakfast aswell. After we had sorted this out, there were no problems with breakfast, however when we were checking out on our bill....right!!
Maybe they were not happy with us as being "dumped" with them from the Kura Hulanda resort, but so neither were we.
The clientele is mostly over 65 years old and are quite full of themselves.
I would never, ever recommend any friend, family or any person for the above reasons to the Avila hotel.
They only reason they got a two star rating from us is for the room and location, otherwise it would have been a one!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missleola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a great vacation at Avila Hotel. We loved the beaches and the blues bar was great!
It was close to Willemstad. Great service that you can rent a car at the hotel. Front desk staff vas very serviceminded and helpful. We would very much like to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IaFia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Kudos to Avila for bringing the best of Curacao's musicians - these groups are the quality you would find at the major jazz festivals every year. The place is jumping, electric, bringing local fans and fellow musicians to listen to the real deal. Steel drums done jazz style! Not to be missed if you are a real music lover. Forget blues night though because it's only videos! Also the oceanside bar is one of the best on the island - great bartenders, cold french white wine, camraderie and always fun. Solo travellers will feel at home here. I did not stay here but found myself hanging out because the atmosphere was so great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skyflier2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We chose the Avila in Curaçao for a much needed break from the Canadian winter. Beach was lovely and the resort was never crowded. Never lined up for anything the whole week. Other clients were mostly Dutch, but many people spoke English. All hotel service was in English for us. Staff were exceptionally accommodating and thoughtful. Room in the Belle Alliance wing was more of a four star - redone - but noisy air conditioner that had to be left on or the room would become damp. Kitchen facilities in the room that we never used. Would suggest staying in the newer Octagon wing. Good food at the on site restaurants, exceptional service. Our Air Canada deal included a full buffet breakfast on terrace until 10:30. Besides the service the best thing about the Avila is the grounds. There was always space for us in the pool, on the loungers(sun or shade), at the bars, in the restaurants, in the big chairs under the shaded canopy. Guests and staff were exceptionally polite; basically a classy place. Location allowed us to snorkel every day right there in the resort, to visit closer off site restaurants, and to walk into the historic town daily. We took a snorkel/beach tour in Yellow Jeep Safari. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to see more of the island. Weather was dependably sunny and hot, even though this is technically the rainy season. It only rained for a few minutes one day. All in all, not cheap but worth the money.

Room Tip: The Belle Alliance rooms are in the older part, more charm, in garden setting but also more noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

First time at Avila - but not the last. This hotel offers a great variety of relaxing areas in a well-designed use of space. There are a number of beach areas although the waterfront area is not expansive. Turquoise water sparkles at each although each has its own uniqueness. The Pool area is another option for afternoon relaxing water. Interspersed are courtyards, and interment seating arrangements give a sense of privacy for small gatherings.

It is a lo-key social feeling where we were comfortable keeping to ourselves when we chose to. We also found wonderful conversations with a very diverse group of guests from all over the world. The respect for privacy mixed with the familiarity of good service is reflected throughout the staff.

There are many options of entertainment and relaxing right at the hotel, but if you want more, you are only minutes from the city of Willemstad. An oasis like this is a beautiful thing to find when escaping the New England Cold! Thanks to all.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Avila Hotel from November 10 to November 17th, 2013. The 'common areas' of the hotel were beautiful, as were the grounds. Our room was in the 'Blues Wing', a wooden structure which juts out onto the ocean. The Avila was extremely accommodating, in putting us in the exact room we requested - one looking directly out onto the ocean, and surrounded on three sides by water. The room itself was in need of some major updates, and a bit of a 'facelift'. Just to mention one, the pillows were probably the worst we have come across - not just foam, but bad foam pillows. Room service was also 'touch and go'. One night, the bed had been made up, but was lacking a 'top sheet'. The room was totally missed about 3 out of the 7 days we were there.
One other 'slight annoyance', was the shortage of hot water for a morning shower. The staff were wonderful; friendly, helpful, and not afraid to joke around with you. As for the vast majority of the guests at the hotel, we found them to be extremely unfriendly, and often extremely rude. The food was amazing, although we found it difficult to find anything substantial to eat outside of the regular dining times, once either of the two restaurants had closed. We don't have any children, but it didn't appear to be a 'family' type of resort. Attractions outside of the hotel area seemed limited. We were excited to visit the Dolphin Academy - perhaps our expectations were a bit too high. If you are wanting to swim with the dolphins, scuba dive, or take the 5-man submarine excursion (at $699/person), you will likely enjoy the Aquarium. If like us, you are planning to visit simply to see the 'aquarium' portion, you will likely be very disappointed. There is really very little to see. Of what there is, the tanks looked poorly maintained and unappealing.
Once excursion we thoroughly enjoyed was a tour of the 'Hato Caves'. The main section of Willemstad, where the cruise ships dock, and the 'postcard' view of the coloured buildings is spectacular, is well worth the short shuttle ride from the hotel. All in all, if you enjoy spending your time on a beach, are a bit of a 'foodie', enjoy snorkelling, and are simply looking for a relaxing vacation, I would highly recommend this hotel. Although the 'Blues Wing' rooms sound very tempting due to their location, I would suggest that you take a look at some of the more updated rooms in the main buildings.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay in the Blues Wing, a room facing the ocean, actually faces West. Althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winstonsmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
630 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
434 reviews
5.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing