We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Avila Hotel”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
NY, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Loved the Avila Hotel”
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Although the Avila is not within walking distance to Punda or Otrabanda, the hotel itself is beautiful. Try to stay in the Octagon wing which is very modern and close to the infinity pool and restaurants. The Belle Terrace offers great food and the staff is uber friendly. The kitchen even special prepared a dish for us. The area in the back is really pretty - like something out of a painting. Would stay there again. You even get a phone call from the owner's daughter. How sweet!!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank missslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    385
    107
    54
    23
See reviews for
168
661
47
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

So few pros - so many cons

Pros...
- Great animal-life, birds, fishes (when diving) and lizards.

Cons...
- The surrounding area is not a placed I dare bring my camera.
- An absurd high pricelevel on everything! Ie. 6 bottles of water US $ 20,00.
- The main restaurant Belle Terrase is simply a joke! It's been a long time since I gotten food of such poor quality! Again price-level is beyond any sense. This restaurant is aiming towards a classy level which it will never get the potential to reach.
- Too few dining places the neighbourhood taken in consideration.
- Three different employes told us not to go outside the resort as it is not a safe area

Bottom line - if you're up for adventures, do yourself a favour chose a different destination! Too much poverty on this island breeds too much crime and unsafe surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexmikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Avila hotel is locatated perfectly: not so far from the lovely city of Willemstad on great own beach. Hotel has nice beach bar and two restaurants. The other restaurant is located on the pier and the food was pretty good. Every Thursday there is live jazz in the pier restaurant which is worth of listening! Value of breakfast is very good and is served in stylish restaurant with view to the sea.

Our room was in Blues Wing and although otherwise Avila is 4 star standard we thought that Blues Wing rooms are more like 3 star. They would need some restoration. Though it difficult to beat the view, our room was on the second floor and directly to the sea with own balcony. So first thing to see in the morning after opening eyes is the clear blue caribbean sea!
Cleanliness in the room and whole hotel area was perfect.

Service personnel was very nice in all other points but in reception where staff is not service minded at all. We actually thought the the gap between reception staff and other staff was quite surprising. Basically receptionists didn't pay any attention to the clients before they opened their mouth first!

If we'd go back to Curacao we'd definetely consider to stay in Avila again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvesteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

I just came back from a weekend wedding at the Avila, and it was an experience I won't soon forget.

The grounds are charming, clean and full of lots of nooks and crannies where you will be able to relax and have fun no matter who you travel with.

The wedding was a weekend long affair with a beach bbq Friday night and a full ceremony-reception-dancing gig Saturday and full brunch Sunday. The catering staff must need a week off after the amazing work they did. I will spare you the gushing over how beautiful the wedding is, just know if you are considering it, the staff will work to ensure you and your guests are given an extraordinary experience. In fact, we met no employee of this resort that didn't appear to work very hard.

My husband and I decided, once we heard the wedding would be in Cucaco, to make a week of it. Since we are new scuba divers and Curacao offers so many great dive locations we opted to stay at The Breezes which had a scuba shop on site. We were glad for that (though nothing else since that resort was a massive disappointment in every other area).

In fact, we were so disappointed with the Breezes we opted to stay at the Avila during the wedding weekend to treat ourselves. The front desk kindly assisted us in the last minute reservation - and even gave us the wedding rate.

We stayed in the Octagon rooms which I understand are the newest. The rooms aren't the biggest I've ever seen and the pillows were a little lumpy, but every detail is considered and beautiful. The decor is very clean and modern looking. We had a gorgeous ocean view balcony we got to enjoy as well.

While part of me was sad we didn't get to spend our entire vacation in this little oasis, they do not 'cater' to scuba divers. One of the larger scuba operations on the Island, Ocean Encounters, said they do pick up divers there for boat dives, Avila does not have a scuba shop on premisis. Without that, diving would have been too hard. If there was a shop you can bet we would have happily flushed our money at the other junky resort and stayed here.

If you go- do yourselves a favor and get the couples massage on the beach. I've had a LOT of massages in my life, and this one was in the top two.

  • Liked — Clean charming property, yummy food
  • Disliked — I wish it accommodated Scuba Divers better
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcbelle6732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2008

We stayed 11 nights at the Avila with our 12 year old daughter......................our February vacations are to just relax........and do what we want when we want. The Avila is perfect for that. No, its not a 5 star, but at least a 31/2 .......if you stay in a roomy suite, with a view.......... We had a 2 bedroom on a private small beach, also close to the other beaches. Avila is a
small Hotel, very safe. No one is trying to sell you jewelry or ocean activities on the beach. Front desk was not overly helpful or friendly, but we usually do our own planning and reservations anyway. i did not find them rude, i really didn't deal with them much.
Food was fair-good. Staff we found friendly......they will serve you on the large beautiful deck and the beach........ bartenders not very talkative or overly friendly, but professional.........the ambiance and sunsets were fantastic. Definatly go to the Floris Hotel for dinner... fabulous service and food! the beaches were nice, but go to others.......get a rent a car or you will get bored, at least for a few days. Taxis into town a rip off. We did a 4 hour ATV ride which was great!. thanks to Alex and the guys, You can find them near Seaqaurium, which was great too, we swam with the dolphins, if you can....do it! you will never forget it! Overall we liked Curacoa, the people, the architecure, the beaches, the Avila filled our needs, We would choose Curacao over Aruba anyday!

  • Liked — The beach, sunsets, the ambiance
  • Disliked — The food was not as good as we hoped. not enough choices, none for children.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moonlit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2008

I Love the Avila Hotel.
Me and my wife spent 9 wonderful Nights at Avila.

The Hotel is fantastic, it's clean, the feeling is very exclusive, it definately feels like a 5-star hotel to me!

The room we had was great. The bed was enormous, gigantic!
and the sleep have never been better.
We have both a bathtub and a shower, and every morning there was fresh pastry hanging on the outside of the hotel door.
We had 15meters to the pool, and 25meter to the beach.

The service from the personel was perfect,
from the hotel manager to the booking manager to the people in the bar.

The meals served at the breakfast buffé and at the Restaurant tasted excellent and the prices are fair, but what we truly enjoyed the most was that it was so calm, a place where your truly can relax. Our favorite occupation was having a drink at the fantastic Schooner Bar and bartender Javier is a personal favorite of ours.
Hola Javier, we love you :-)

Another good thing is the location of the hotel which is only 10-15min from the centre walking and we were walking to the Punda district many times.

We truly can recommend this paradise hotel to others

  • Liked — The calm, the exclusive feeling, the service from the personel
  • Disliked — that we had to leave..
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bjornekback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2008

I recently attended a three day business meeting in Curacao, whereby it had been arranged for the thirty of us to attend a private barbeque dinner directly on the beach at the Avila Hotel. The atmosphere was wonderful, much due to the beautiful setting with neat white-linen tables and candle lights overlooking the ocean. The friendly and attentive staff and the delicious food made this evening unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
620 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing