We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Avila Beach used to be a good hotel, but today it's not more than a 3 star hotel. If somebody claims that it's a 4 star hotel, he or she is not used to a real quality. Everything is below average. Check in, quality of reception staff (even forgot my wake-up call on my last day!!) and bar is poor. Breakfast is also really poor. Rooms old and noisy, bad airco. Never again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    367
    102
    51
    23
See reviews for
160
636
46
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a nice and comfy place to stay at.
The service is good since arriving at the gate till next morning and over and over again.
All employees are handling with a big smile. My business partner stayed there and all I got was good words for recommending him this place.

There is a nice and cozy beach, a nice restaurant with a various menu to choose from, sweet jazz music on Wednesdays, a cute little bar near the beach side.. nice place to relax after doing business.

Really .... for everything under the sun!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilkRosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We visited the Avila Beach hotel in the beginning of February with another couple for 6 days. The hotel premises, the location and the beach were excellent. However, on arrival we were told that our reservation of two separate rooms had without our previous consent been changed to an apartment with two bed rooms. We told the receptionist that if we had wanted to share an apartment we would have made the reservation accordingly and refused to accept the change. The receptionist got very irritated and after some rather unpleasant discussions gave us the keys for two rooms, which she said would correspond to our order. One of the rooms was quite OK, but the other one was quite deplorable, located on the ground floor with no daylight what so ever and absolutely no view (the only window overlooking a dim untidy garden) and without a private balcony or patio. At first the lights in the room were not functioning, either. The hotel was fully booked and we later found out that the room which was originally reserved for us had been given to a couple, who had refused accept the poor ground floor room. We found this procedure absolutely outrageous and are very disappointed in the behaviour of the reception. An additional distraction was that every morning right after six o´clock members of the staff started walking around the ground floor speaking (or shouting) in a loud voice thus waking up the hotel guests. Also all by passers had a direct view into the room forcing the occupants to keep the curtains closed day and night.
Everything else in the location was very pleasant, the beach clean and well equipped and the views beautiful. We also enjoyed the excellent meals in the high class restaurants in the neighbourhood very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Overall: Polite staff. Good beach. Relaxed environment. Good food, but slightly overpriced, and just as requested, we had a clean second floor room in the Blue Wing with a King size bed and a great view.

Surprise #1: We didn't realize that almost everyone gets dressed up for dinner at this hotel as well as most local restaurants . Men wearing long sleeve shirts and slacks with dress shoes. The ladies are wearing dresses, shawls and high heals.

Surprise #2: Willemstad is an easy 15 minute walk, but only in the daytime. We were warned on numerous occasions that it's a bad idea to walk after sunset. However, you can still get downtown for a $10 taxi ride.

Avila was good value for the money.

Room Tip: The top floor of the Blue wing was clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank digitalpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Avila is a nice hotel with a friendly staff. It is clean and in a good location. The beach is tiny (there are no large sandy beaches in Curacao) the pool is small and the patrons are predominantly from the Netherlands or Holland. Very nice happy people but eventually their English wears thin and our Dutch amounted to two words. There are no day time activities and the on site pay activities desk was extremely limited in days and times available. Nice place but not we anticipated.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doetinchem
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Maybe there's another Avila hotel on Curacao cause even if I wanted, I cannot give them an overall positive feedback! Well, they do have positive points: the location is great, nice beach, good rooms. So far the positive, we have visited a lot of hotels all over the world and I can honestly say that we have never encountered such a bad service, especially in a hotel which is so "high-class" as they claim to be.
There's the personell who are just so not interested in helping you, we haven't had one morning at breakfast where we didn't have to beg for coffee or tea, and witnessed other people having difficulty too. We didn't even try to get a second cup. Just one of the many bad examples we encountered: at the beach bar one of the waitresses lost a receipt by wind, I chased it, gave it to her, she didn't glance at me and went on with her work, I ordered two coke with her collague, after 10 minutes I got it without glasses, I ask for glasses, got one (!) after 5 minutes and when I asked for another glass (hey! I got two cans, helloooooo!) she was very irratated and almost threw the glass at me (oh and it were plastic cups by the way, no glasses witch Irequested, but I didn't bother anymore).
Maybe we were cursed because originally we had booked at the Kura Hulanda hotel, witch went broke, and were booked through our travelagent to the Avila. We had to change room because the plumming wasn't working and we almost suffacted on the fumes. Our safe in the new room was closed, after asking for two days finally someone came to open it, they wanted to charge us for breakfast, but we had booked and payed breakfast aswell. After we had sorted this out, there were no problems with breakfast, however when we were checking out on our bill....right!!
Maybe they were not happy with us as being "dumped" with them from the Kura Hulanda resort, but so neither were we.
The clientele is mostly over 65 years old and are quite full of themselves.
I would never, ever recommend any friend, family or any person for the above reasons to the Avila hotel.
They only reason they got a two star rating from us is for the room and location, otherwise it would have been a one!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missleola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a great vacation at Avila Hotel. We loved the beaches and the blues bar was great!
It was close to Willemstad. Great service that you can rent a car at the hotel. Front desk staff vas very serviceminded and helpful. We would very much like to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IaFia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing