We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again an other super week on Curacao”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Again an other super week on Curacao”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Last week I was again a week in the Avila Hotel on Curaçao. Especially the Schooner bar is one of the nieces bars in the world. The beach and the water is also very nice. The hotel level is not five star in my view, but a four star hotel, but nevertheless very nice.

Room Tip: All rooms are now nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermbloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    395
    108
    55
    23
See reviews for
172
681
48
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel was part of an Air Canada Vacation Package. We had checked Frommers and Fodors and Avila had great reviews. Our past experience has been that upon arrival, hotel staff greet you with cool facecloth and a complementary punch. Nothing here. Our room was in the Blues Wing. The location was perfect as our balcony was over the water and we had views of the hotel beach and of downtown. We arrived late afternoon and didn't really have a chance to look the room over. After dinner, when we returned to the room, we discovered that the toilet was blocked and about to overflow. Maintenance came quickly and fixed it. Next morning, we discovered that the sheets had holes in them (not changed for a few days), the towels were thin and non-absorbent, the patio door did not have a lock and a stick was used to keep it closed; curtains were dirty; top of ice bucket was worn and dirty; dirt and mould around air conditioning grill; had to ask for soap a few times during the week (soap was so small); there was duct tape around the base of the faucets in the bathroom to hid the hole from corrosion; ants all over bathroom and counter in bedroom. Service at breakfast was terrible. Ridiculous price for breakfast. We ate downtown for half the price and had fresh food not food that had been sitting around. Dinner was worse. Food was mediocre and service was terrible. Wine was ordered at same time as food. When food arrived much later, the server asked if we wanted wine. Then they brought the wrong dessert. We found three wonderful restaurants within walking distance where we went for the rest of the week. We asked the front desk to make a restaurant reservation for us because we were going out on a day long tour and restaurant was not open the day before. When we arrived at the restaurant later that night, we told them we had a reservation. None had been made. The owner found a table for us. The only good thing was the bar. The manager of the bar was excellent. Some of the bartenders were good and others didn't know what they were doing. The brochure for this hotel states that Royal Family stays there. Maybe in the old days. Now the younger generation stays at another hotel. It is really too bad because this could be a charming hotel. It needs a complete renovation and some serious staff training and supervision.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

AESTHETICS / CLEANLINESS / MAINTENANCE
I really wanted to like this hotel – I really did. At a glance, the property appears nice and modern. We stayed in a deluxe room in the “new” Octagon building. The interior and exterior design were pleasing, sleek and modern, but the façade proves false very quickly. We checked in after dark and even then, the room just looked rather shabby and old. I’m not sure how “new” these rooms are because they demonstrate the wear and tear of rooms that have been used for years. Mildew, mold and humidity staining had firmly established themselves in the bathroom. The curtains had ballpoint pen marks scribbled on them, the bedding was a bit worn out and stained, the towels were threadbare and dingy. The walls were scuffed and dirty, the large wooden-frame sliding door looked as if it had never been cleaned and the ice bucket was full of water from who knows which prior guest. Whenever the air conditioning was turned off the room quickly began to smell very strongly of mildew and mold. We had to constantly run the air-conditioner and freeze to death to keep the odor confined to the bathroom. With some upkeep and a proper, thorough cleaning the room would have been quite nice, but in its current state it just feels old and dirty.

SERVICE
The service at the hotel was pleasant and polite, but largely ineffectual. On our arrival we noticed that a light in the dressing room fixture wouldn’t turn on. Someone came to look at it right away, couldn’t turn the fixture on either, removed the light bulb and said someone would come by tomorrow to fix it. The next day we found that the problem wasn’t the bulb, there was a switch to the fixture in a strange location in the off position. I stopped by the front desk to point this out and ask for a replacement light bulb. The woman behind the desk smiled pleasantly and told me one would be brought by – and it never came. We pointed out multiple issues such as the mildew smell and a poorly draining sink to the front desk. They gave a friendly smile and promised they’d send someone over and nothing ever happened. Not at all, for the entire week. I called room service to ask for a corkscrew, and was told one would be sent up by room service shortly. After an hour my husband walked to the bar and borrowed one, no one from room service ever came. You’re warned at check in that if you lose your towel cards you will be charged a $25 fee. I never saw anyone at the beachside towel kiosk and helped myself on the honor system for days.

FACILITIES
Both beaches provided great swimming and fair snorkeling but they were a bit crowded for sunbathing. The sand was a treasure trove of foreign objects ranging from cigarette butts to tissues and sharp pieces of plastic. Regular sand raking would improve the area immensely. The pool has a nice view, but is unheated and infested with children – understandable because it’s the only pool. I tried to use it a few times myself but gave up when I started to worry about the urine content (I can’t imagine that unsupervised 4 year olds aren’t peeing in the pool) and couldn’t tolerate the screaming and splashing anymore. We had breakfast at the buffet and drinks at the bar a few times and I have no complaints in those areas. The service, food and drinks were all fine.

LOCATION
Our room was located on the first floor of the Octagon Wing on the opposite end of the hallway from the pool. The hallway is open-ended and provides a beautiful vista of the pool’s infinity edge meeting the ocean and the ocean meeting the sky. However, the hallway proved an excellent sound conductor and the beauty was completely negated by the constant screaming all day from the pool – but at least we always knew what our neighbors were up to… The overall location of the hotel is great – just on the outskirts of the town area. It is a 5 minute walk to some nearby restaurants and a 15 minute walk to the central downtown area.

Overall, I loved visiting Curacao and would return in a heartbeat and would certainly stay elsewhere. It’s never good when you are visiting someplace wonderful but wish you could go home every time you had to return to your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r-gun623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I return every year to Avila to deliver a course on the premises, and what stands out at this hotel every time is how friendly the staff is. Avila is one of the "older" hotels in Curaçao, but they have managed to keep up with the time while keeping a certain style of their own which you can only find in Avila. It's a very quiet hotel with two very nice private beaches a nice restaurant and two bars, which is my only complaint, close to early. The hotel consist of three different room-styles, the old part with colonial like spacious rooms, a new and modern part, and a section which is built on a pier. Within walking distance there are at least 5 very good restaurants.
If you're looking for a hotel where you can totally rest and want some peace and quiet with friendly staff, this is the place in Curaçao.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArubaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We had our vacation here and although nothing was really wrong, there is room for improvement.

What is nice is the great private beach and luxury location near Willemstad (15 min walk). The service and the older rooms (airco) can be improved.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobbertJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a romantic weekend here in March. We live in Aruba so we know what to expect from island life, but the Avila exceeded our expectations.
From the friendly greeting by Renzo the doorman to the swinging jazz evening in Blues.
We loved the beach and snorkeling right in front of the hotel and Simone was the best chef in the poolbar where we ate lunch every day.
There was no reason to leave the property and we can't wait to go back!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to stay in room 191, where you can see the fish swimming in the ocean from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed in the Octogon section and the stay was excellent. The food service throughout the day was good. However, our meals at the Blues Club and Terrace for dinner were average at best almost institutional. The atmosphere of both restaurants couldn't have been any nicer. The food quality at dinner didn't measure up to the many good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel's service was great and the coffee/sandwiches at the Barrista were very good. We had breakfast buffet daily in the cafe it cost about $52 US for 2 adults and a child. Snorkeling was excellent just off the beaches of the hotel and we did not feal crowded at all at the resort. Definitely a stay to remember.

Room Tip: Choose the Octogon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
630 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
434 reviews
5.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing