We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Feel like a VIP”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just came back and had an amazing time. At first we were overwhelmed because of the luxury, but we got used to it very fast.

- Location: excellent. Just 15 min walking to all the "Pontjesbrug". A safe and nice walk - opposite to earlier reviews
- Rooms: we stayed at the main building. Rooms were luxurious and we had our own balcony. Only con is the bathroom which is seperated by glass (not see-through) so hear eachother's "noises".
- Hotel: the beach is amazing, enough beachbeds, pool was great, gym (incl sauna & jacuzzi) was free and very nice.

Most prominent con: the prices at the hotel are very high and no value-for-money. Grab your lunch and diner in one of the many restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_ToscaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Avila Hotel. Friendly staff, beautiful hotel. Our hitelroom was oerfect, with the sea just outside our balcony! And the beach just a few steps away! We enjoyed it to the fullest and are surely going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaatje82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spend the first 5 days of our honeymoon in Avila hotel. Really loved the place! They had everything, you didn't have to leave from the hotel property. Although, we liked to have lunch and dinner outside after trying the hotel supply, for a change :) Own sandy beach was really nice. And you could actually see fishes while snokeling there :) My husband liked the gym very much and the pool was enough big to get a little exercise. Would recommend to everybody :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kipa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Avila Hotel is a good base for exploring Curacao. It is a short walk to the world heritage waterfront in downtown Willamstad. Facilities are attractive and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good restaurants on site and many are within walking distance. We rented a car and explored the small island, visiting beautiful beaches and snorkel sites.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lp5402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We loved our stay at Avila. Perfect little beach in the middle of the hotel + nice pool area. The gym was well equipped with a great ocean view and outdoor spa suitable in the evening. Friendly staff at the pool bar with great cocktails.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I stayed that Avila for our honeymoon last week for 7 days. We stayed in the Blues Suite which was perfect because it had a kitchenette and we were able to cook a few meals and get some groceries. We were in room 290 which has the perfect view from the balcony. The staff was super accommodating and were the nicest people I have encountered in a while. We ate at every restaurant on the property and even though it was a bit expensive, the food was amazing (especially at the Blues Bar). Being a newly married gay couple, we were treated as any couple and there were other gay couples in the hotel. We had a very romantic dinner on the beach and it was perfect to end our stay there. I am so impressed with this property. You could literally not leave the property and there is plenty to do. The water is beautiful and the location is amazing. We walked to the downtown district and to nearby restaurants and bars all week. It may be a great idea to rent a car like we did to check out the island. We went to Knip Beach, the Seaquarium and the Ostrich Farm and each place was amazing. The one negative about the property was the spa. We did a couples massage, which they still put us in separate rooms. The massages were more of a rubdown and the place seems old and shabby. Other than that, our experience was amazing and it was perfect for a honeymoon. We are already talking about our next trip out there. Curacao is great. Despite the oil refinery on the other side of the mountain, this place has so much to offer in food, drinks, shopping and entertainment.

Room Tip: Blues Room 290 is perfect if you are staying there for more than 5 days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clayton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights in this lovely fullservice hotel. The beach is great, poolarea great, there's laundry service and a well equipped gym. Breakfast buffé is absolutely awesome and The staff extremely helpfull and nice. Good restaurants within walking distance. Tried The hotel restaurants for lunch and The food was good. Aswell as The drinks. Went fot burger night in The Blues restaurant which was kind of average I must say. Also a bit dissapointed with The complementary snacks that was supposed to acompany The happy hour, and didn't intill The happy hour was over. However those are small things in an overall perfect visit to Avila Hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ylva82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.9 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
1.6 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
365 reviews
5.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: £133 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing