We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home on Curacao”
Review of Avila Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avila Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our home on Curacao”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This quaint hotel has become our "home" on Curacao. Just completed an eight night stay; we see no reason to stay anywhere else. Location is convenient. Right on the ocean, short walk to downtown area, buses and taxis always available directly in front of the hotel, (Budget Car Rental also on premise), quality restaurants within walking distance. Snorkeling is fairly good right off the private beaches, especially just beyond the rock pier and ropes. We stay in the Blue Wing, (rooms on the pier) which provides a great view of the whole property and ocean with easy beach access. Our room had already been upgraded and as we were leaving, the rest of the Blue Wing was being upgraded.

This is a full service hotel, with plenty to do, drink, and eat, yet small enough that the staff knows your name and/or room number. Guests are diverse, with the majority being Dutch. Language no problem, as staff seems to speak all of them. If you are looking to party loud and long into the night, this place is probably not for you; but, if relaxation, romance, quality, and service is what you seek, this is the place. I do wish the Coffee Factory would open an hour earlier though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    402
    108
    56
    23
See reviews for
178
691
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned home from a wonderful experience at Avila.
The hotel and private beaches surrounding it are beautiful. We stayed 12 nights in an Octagon Superior room in the Octagon Wing with ocean view. The room was luxurious, spacious and clean. The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a glass wall, but other than some other reviewers mentioned, it's not transparent and we didn't experience privacy issues because of this.
The quality of the hotel restaurants and bars is acceptable, but we mostly enjoyed the restaurants and bars in the neighborhood.
The beaches are perfect for snorkeling.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Octagon wing are the luxurious renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just came back and had an amazing time. At first we were overwhelmed because of the luxury, but we got used to it very fast.

- Location: excellent. Just 15 min walking to all the "Pontjesbrug". A safe and nice walk - opposite to earlier reviews
- Rooms: we stayed at the main building. Rooms were luxurious and we had our own balcony. Only con is the bathroom which is seperated by glass (not see-through) so hear eachother's "noises".
- Hotel: the beach is amazing, enough beachbeds, pool was great, gym (incl sauna & jacuzzi) was free and very nice.

Most prominent con: the prices at the hotel are very high and no value-for-money. Grab your lunch and diner in one of the many restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_ToscaAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Avila Hotel. Friendly staff, beautiful hotel. Our hitelroom was oerfect, with the sea just outside our balcony! And the beach just a few steps away! We enjoyed it to the fullest and are surely going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaatje82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spend the first 5 days of our honeymoon in Avila hotel. Really loved the place! They had everything, you didn't have to leave from the hotel property. Although, we liked to have lunch and dinner outside after trying the hotel supply, for a change :) Own sandy beach was really nice. And you could actually see fishes while snokeling there :) My husband liked the gym very much and the pool was enough big to get a little exercise. Would recommend to everybody :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Avila Hotel is a good base for exploring Curacao. It is a short walk to the world heritage waterfront in downtown Willamstad. Facilities are attractive and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good restaurants on site and many are within walking distance. We rented a car and explored the small island, visiting beautiful beaches and snorkel sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lp5402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We loved our stay at Avila. Perfect little beach in the middle of the hotel + nice pool area. The gym was well equipped with a great ocean view and outdoor spa suitable in the evening. Friendly staff at the pool bar with great cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.8 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.4 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
637 reviews
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
437 reviews
5.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Beach Hotel

Property: Avila Beach Hotel
Address: Penstraat 130, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel comprises the islands original governor's mansion dating from 1780. Located on two romantic private beaches, the hotel is just minutes away from downtown Willemstad. The new Octagon Wing features 68 spacious rooms decorated in sophisticated neutrals with splashes of vivid Caribbean colors and has transformed the hotel into a contemporary luxury resort & spa. Avila Hotel nevertheless continues to be a reflection of the island of Curacao. Friendly. Intimate. Understated. Welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Avila Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Beach Resort
Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing