We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colorful with Some Unusual Fruits”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Floating Market

Floating Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.00*
and up
Curacao Island and Mambo Beach Tour
Ranked #33 of 107 things to do in Willemstad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Where Venezuelan merchants dock and sell their fresh fish, produce and spices.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Colorful with Some Unusual Fruits”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Imagine shopping off the afts of small boats all harbored in downtown Willemstad, Curacao? The boats all come from Venezuela, are colorful, and fun to browse their fruits. Also, it's a great photographic opportunity, The main Curacao market is in a circular building right behind the floating market- should also be visited. When in Curacao...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank metoread2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    80
    76
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
278 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Just a Giant Fruit and Vegetable Stand”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you're a local, it's probably a nice place to buy your fruit and vegetables. Being a tourist and eating mainly at restaurants and not cooking much, I really didn't have much use for the place. If you're already in Punda, you might as well check it out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandLovinTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 720 helpful votes
“Oh the fruit is so colorful”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you are in Punda and have about 20 min that you want to burn visit the floating market. You can pick up some fresh fish and fruit. The fruit caught our attention as it was very colorful and seemed very fresh. This was a unique site as we haven't seen a floating market before but its not really worth the trip just to see the market. If your in the city visiting the pontoon bridge, Otrobanda, etc, it doesn't hurt walk by and browse.

After visiting the market we were talking with some resort workers and they mentioned that the boats that come with fresh fish are family owned and a lot of the times the families live on that boat and selling fish is their only source of income.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JustDiveIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwendijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
410 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Easy to visit”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice to visit once when you are in the neighborhood, but not spectacular. It is a nice presentation of colorful fruit. It is near the center of Willemstad, so you can easily visit it, otherwise I would not recommend it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fedor-and-Rivka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I actually went back the next day to town to find this because I forgot to the previous day... not what I was expecting. I thought you could go to the boats and buy stuff, instead of them having stalls by their boats on the dock.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FazzersN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Floating Market also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Santa Catharina, Curacao
 

Been to Floating Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing