We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical spot - especially for boat lovers”
Review of Maritime Museum

Maritime Museum
Ranked #28 of 109 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1999 as one of many projects undertaken to commemorate Curaçao’s 500th anniversary in 1999.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great historical spot - especially for boat lovers”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is a wonderful small museum with lots of history, pictures, maps and artifacts in it. We were pretty thorough and it took us about 90 minutes to walk through. There is also a restaurant on site, although we didn't eat in it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taraanne0675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    107
    42
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a neat place!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This museum shows the history of the island through its maritime past. It is not just for history or maritime buffs. It can be a treat for all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I visited while on honeymoon. It was our only museum stop for the trip, and I enjoyed it. Lots of interesting ship models and the video was interesting as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Afb1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Maritime Detail”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A lot of well documented and displayed history is a small area. From the early days of sail until the present it is all here if you are interested. If maritime history is your thing...set aside an hour and a half for this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria VA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good introduction to Curaco history, lovely building”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Air conditioned! Need I say more in August? Yes, well it is also interesting - better than reading the pages in the little guidebooks this 3 story museum tells the history of Curaco from a maritime point of view - which is basically most of its history. We got a quick but good guided tour of the main floor, walked and read all the exhibits, and watched the movie - definitely watch the movie if you want the whole picture of the history of the harbor. I agree with another reviewer that more about how the pontoon bridge works would be good. Right now there is a very nice mult media art exhibit celebrating 150 years since slavery was abolished - some of the pieces were excellent. Seeing the exhibits that showed how the building itself had deteriorated and was restored was great - these things take time, dedication and energy. You don't just have to be interested in boats and shipping to enjoy this history lesson. Did I say it was cool in there? And just over the bridge from the floating market.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebsAlexandriaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing