We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2007

My boyfriend and i recently went to Curacao last December and we loved the Holiday Beach Hotel & Casino. We had a great room right on the ocean with our own kitchen. The beach at the hotel was small but very nice and quiet. The location of the hotel was perfect. It was about 5 minutes from downtown Punda where all the shopping and restaurants are.The staff there was extremely nice and treated us like family. They helped us find nice restaurants, beaches and places to go every day. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    47
    48
    29
    45
See reviews for
47
47
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2006

The Holiday Beach has the benefit of a terrific location. It is within a very short (three blocks) and very nice (along the marsh - lots of birds to see) walking distance of Otrabanda, the western downtown shopping area. It features a beautiful lagoon that has a safe swimming area for children as well as wonderful beginner and advanced snorkelling. We enjoyed the beach, the pool and the outdoor bar enormously.

On the down side, there are multiple easily corrected problems that create an unfriendly and rundown atmosphere and made us very ambivalent about our choice of hotel.

Our first assigned room had the distinct odor of mildew. It was strong enough that we asked to change rooms. The next room we were assigned had no shower. Still, it smelled all right, so we decided to keep it until another option was available. We told the staff about the shower, but they seemed to think we were joking about wanting a room with a real shower, perhaps because of the language and cultural barrier. The supervisor, who was excellent, hard-working and very capable, told us she would move us to a "nice room". The hotel was full so it wasn't until two days later we were able to move to an acceptable room.

The level of cleanliness is at a different standard than we are used to in American hotels. This seemed to be a general thing throughout the island at local restaurants and shops, so I'm not sure it's just at the Holiday Beach, but I've never stayed at a hotel with plants growing out of the sink. We noticed it one morning before the maid came, and decided not to mention it if it were removed when she cleaned. It was still there that afternoon, so we took the picture you see here.

The curtains on the sliding door are overlong, for some reason, and, since there is about two feet of cloth tucked up in the bottom of the door, they were dingy and needed a good washing. (Perhaps the source of the smell in the first room?) You can see this in the second picture.

Finally, our primary complaint is the general attitude of the staff. At most hotels, if you walk up to a door at the same time as a member of the staff, they will pause and wait for you to go through or even open the door and hold it. Here, they almost race to beat you through it. Walking through the lobby one afternoon a security guard was talking to another staff member and gestured, turning and nearly hitting me in the face. I understand accidents - the gesture wasn't the problem. His reaction, however, was to laugh loudly and point at me, rather than apologizing. The pool towels were never available at the pool. I went to the laundry to get a pool towel, and the woman who got it for me continued to eat her donut while she walked to the dryer, opened it, and retrieved and folded a towel for me.

On the positive side - every room had a clean, working refrigerator and a secure safe with a numeric lock for keeping our personal items. They each had a little patio with chairs and table, and secure patio doors. The floors were tiled, and mopped daily, which I liked - they were very clean. We had the option to have the sheets changed every day or not, which I also like. While clean sheets daily are lovely and crisp, I always feel a bit guilty about the wasted water and energy. The maids were responsive to requests for glasses, towels, or whatever we needed. The drawers were in good condition and very clean.

All of the hotels businesses - the bar, the restaurant, the casino, and the gift shops automatically converted our bill to US dollars, presenting it in both NF (florins) and US so that we could use whichever we had available. There is an ATM in the lobby and a postal box. The gift shop had stamps so that we could write and mail our postcards right away.

There are no clocks in the rooms - if you decide to stay here, bring one! Wake-up calls were prompt, though.

Denny's is nearby; connected to the hotel by an outdoor walkway. The staff there is very friendly and the food was what you'd expect at Denny's - good and filling - although the coffee was sometimes left on the burner too long.

The casino was fine; we played blackjack and slots. Don't go to Curacao for Texas Hold 'Em despite the advertised poker rooms. It's simply not popular there, and our Texas Hold Em player never got to play a single hand. Fortunately he likes SCUBA and Anton and Tilalia saved his vacation.

Although we had issues with the rooms and some of the staff, we award FIVE STARS to the PADI dive shop. Anton, Tilalia, Richard, and the rest were absolutely terrific! They scheduled two unplanned dive trips for us at extremely reasonable rates, even refusing to take a well-earned tip for their efforts. They fitted and prepared our snorkel gear and the SCUBA rental equipment was well-stocked and well-maintained. I would stay here again for the Dive Shop alone.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kathnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2006

The Holiday Beach Hotel & Casino almost ruined our trip. It is horrible. The rooms are dirty. Linens are cheap and worn out. The staff is not helpful. There is no concierge for day trips. They couldn't even help us rent a car. The only response we got was "Nothing or No."
Unless you are looking for a cheap, cheap spot to drop your bags, DON'T stay here. The beach and pool are small and the grounds are not kept up. You have to sign your life away to get a beach towel, if someone is even at the office where you pick them up.
The only restaurant choice is Denny's, which grows old after 2 breakfasts. The casino is usually empty unless there are locals.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2006

Nice location except for the desalinization plant next door. There is a nice beach with very good diving out back. Food is good, drinks are ok, prices are decent but service can be very slow if there's more than 10 people at the bar/restaurant. Hotel is old and showing it's age but the rooms are in ok shape. They are putting some money into it(courtesy of Uncle Same, there are lots of GI's staying there). There are much better places on the island but if they give you a great rate and you can't beat it, try this place unless you are used to 5 star resorts, then look elsewhere. Oh and the casino is soooooo not Vegas, quite old and dumpy but most in the Caribbean are.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2005

I stayed at this hotel for four consecutive months during a business trip, so I have pretty good insight as to what the goings on are at the hotel and beach area.

First and foremost, US travellers must remember that they are not in the States anymore. Some of the amenities that you may be used to in the US just aren't possible in the Carribean. Patience and understanding are the keys to a good trip.

For the most part, the people in and around the hotel are very pleasant. English is a third or fourth language to them, so be patient. They try hard to speak and understand English. Most are very well versed.

The rooms are fine for a week or two stay. They are cleaned daily by trustworthy staff. I have left money out in my room for the duration of my trip and never once did I have to worry about it disappearing.

The private beach is really nice. Be aware of the fact that topless sunbathing is allowed. If you find that offensive or have small children with you, you may want to consider an alternative. There is a wall of coral that surrounds the lagoon so that the waves from incoming ships do not affect swimming or diving. Many types of fish can be seen in the cove.

The casino is smaller than some of the other ones on the island but that suited me just fine. There are plenty of slots and tables for everyone. I won pretty big at the hold'em table! It was great.

The Tanga Bar, which is the outside bar at the hotel, is really nice. It serves good food and has a great view. Service is slower that what you would expect back home, but that is the norm on the island. Happy hour is from 5pm to 7pm and drinks are dirt cheap.

A few of the detractors from the hotel are not major but irritating nonetheless. Try not to rent a room on the ocean side of the hotel. If there is a party at the Tanga, you will be up all night due to the loud music. Bring mosquito repellant! They will eat you alive if you don't. Use the lock on the door. The maids have been know to faintly knock and then walk into your room. The satellite TV service allows you to watch 5 Fox News channels, two CNN channels, and a couple of local Spanish/Papiamento language stations. Other than that, I have no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2005

I found this hotel well located close to town with it's own beach and nice large pool. The staff was attentive and helpful, with adequate English considering they need to know 4-6 languages for their job. The dive shop was laid back but responsive. The food at the restaurant was very good; breakfast was a very good deal and the pasta was great at dinner.
We say dolphins from the beach and while snorkeling just the otherside of the beach wall, I saw octopus. There is a very nice reef for shore diving from the hotel.
We booked through Expedia with all taxes and charges included.
Do ask for a courtyard side room, however. The water desalilnation plant next door is not an attractive view from the patio.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2003

Just wanted to warn anyone interested in this hotel in Curacao, that they have hidden charges they add to your hotel bill upon leaving. The charges include:Maid service $17.50 a day, whether you want it or not.Electricity used about $3.00 a dayLocal Taxes - about $10.15 a dayThese are based on a single room, 1 adult.Plan on spending an extra $30 a day over the cost of any internet pricing of a room.The rooms are only adequate, the bedcovers looked as if they were 10 years old. The only good thing that I saw was the close proximity to a small private beach and the cost of a Corona. The staff doesn't speak English very well. Now I know why this is only a two-star hotel. It is my belief that this hotel is not worth the amount of money they want for a room.

Helpful?
36 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.8 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 33 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#10 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 33 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Plaza Hotel Curacao
#29 of 33 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#19 of 33 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao
Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao
#27 of 33 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino

Property: Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Address: 31 Pater Euwensweg, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a private beach, this Otrobanda resort is within a 15-minute walk of Curacao Museum, Renaissance Shopping Mall, and Rif Fort. Riffort Village and Queen Emma Bridge are also within 1 mi (2 km). Resort Features Spend the day relaxing on Holiday Beach Resort and Casino's private sand beach or at a casino before returning for a meal at one of the resort's 2 restaurants. Room Amenities All 108 rooms offer WiFi, balconies or patios, and TVs with cable channels. Guests will also find refrigerators, hair dryers, and safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel Willemstad
Holiday Beach Hotel And Casino Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing