We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Three Star Hotel for a Reason”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Three Star Hotel for a Reason”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Do not forego other four star hotels for this one. This is a below average three star hotel on a really great beach.
There is no shampoo, conditioner or lotion.
First two nights my husband and I slept separate beds, because choice between king and double is apparently only a preference and is not guaranteed. When we were finally moved to a king bedroom the mattress was crooked with a huge lump between the two sides, they might as well have put a chastity wall in between, because trying to move closer to your spouse at night was impossible. The bed also came with two tiny blankets big enough for only one person, so any kind of cuddling was out of the question.
Don't eat at the hotel or Augusto's next door - the food is awful!. For breakfast they serve those juices out of a can that are dissolved with water - I'd resort to that if I was climbing ice-covered Mount Everest, not on a tropical vacation.
Did I mention that the blankets came in sheet sleeves with one end of the blanket exposed? And since they don't clean the blankets ours had a blood stain on it? Also the nightstands haven't been dusted in probably a week because they were completely white and even had dust bunnies.
Other things were annoying to, they hard cold tile floors, but didn't offer slippers. No iron in the room and when I called the front desk to ask for one, the employee said "I have to see if we have one available" and then hung up. He never called back to tell me if there was or wasn't one available and never sent one.
Oh, and that great service other reviews mention? Only of you are lucky. About 50% of the time you will get a smiling person trying to help you, the other 50% they just don't care. When I asked where I could buy sunscreen at the hotel, the person told me I'd have to go to the city, turns out there was a shop in the same lobby that she sat in that sold sunscreen. Same when we asked for an alternative place for breakfast - we were told we have to go to the city. Turns out there is a Surf & Turf that serves breakfast and is a 10 min walk away (we didn't end up eating there, so I don't know about the quality, but the locals said it was good).
Don't rely on the free shuttle. It is only twice a day 9am, coming back at 11:30 and 2pm, coming back at 5pm. The taxis charge per person, so a trip to the city for two is $15, and $15 to come back.
If you do stay in the area, eat at Mambo - it is good for lunch and dinner. Although it is supposed to be pricier that at the hotel, it really is not. The hotel food isn't cheap, just tastes cheap.
That said the beach is great and snorkeling is wonderful along the wave breakers. All the fish hang out on the ocean side of wave breakers, tons of parrot fish and other colorful ones.
There are tons of great places to eat outside of the hotel, but you need a car to get there. Indonesian places are fantastic. Try also Steak & Ribs at the Riffort mall in Otra Banda. Their seafood soup and red snapper are great.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrinaRostova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    295
    72
    31
    13
See reviews for
228
342
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Me and my family had a wonderful time at the Lions dive! It's great with young kids, the sea aquarium is just next door and the snorkeling in front of the resort is spectecular!

We stayed in an apartment around the olympic size (!!!!) infinity pool. The apartments are really neat, 2 bedrooms + 2 baths, a kitchen, a big living area and a very big terrace! A lot of space which is great when travelling with small kids running around all the time!

The staff was very helpful and recommended great restaurants and day trips as well, like the osterich farm which is lots of fun with kids. Personell at Hemingway was also friendly.

So when looking for a perfect caribbean experience with a family go to Curacao and the Lions Dive! We will certainly try to come back to the Lions dive soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycetaylor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This January me and my wife traveled to Curacao and stayed at the Lions Dive & Beach Resort and we loved it! The location of the hotel is just perfect, right on mambo beach with several bars and restaurants close by and only a few minutes from downtown Willemstad (with free shuttle bus!!) the service in the hotel was good, really friendly front desk and the view from our ocean front room was just stunning (you would have to pay extra for that, but it's worth it) the only thing was that sometimes you had to wait some time before you got your food at the beach bar Hemingways but the location right at the beach at the water makes up for that! We're definitely going back in the future!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy46671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed at Lions Dive for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is a quality operation. This is a place where you can bring small children. After 10 pm it is silent == no loud music or wild parties. The staff goes out of their way to ensure that everyone has a good time. The rooms are clean; the air conditioning is nearly silent; the dive operation in the hotel is very well managed. The beach is very long and protected by a breakwater. Swimming and snorkeling is easy and there are a lot of fish out next to the breakwater. Be aware that although there are three other beachfront hotels on this beach, Lions Dive has about 75% of the beach reserved for its guests.

The diving: There is one shore dive. It's a fairly long swim out to the reef, maybe a couple of hundred yards. One of you should be pulling a dive flag, because the dive boats use the same channel to return to the dock. The reef has a lot of nice coral and sponges; visibility is about 50-100 ft, and water temperature in January was 81 degrees Fahrenheit. The odd thing about this dive is that we didn't see a lot of fish. The dive is outside the breakwater which protects the beach. When we snorkeled along the inside of the breakwater, starting from the beach in front of the hotel, we saw lots of fish! (an eel, a barracuda, two squid, schools of blue tang) as well as nudibranches, sea urchins, and some small coral. Visibility was poor however (the water was very sandy). The hotel dive operation sends out two or three well-equipped dive boats every day to good dive sites; they have lockers next to the dock and people to help you with your gear if you ask for it. A nice operation.

The food: with a long beach, shared by four beachfront hotels, there is room for a lot of restaurants. From left to right, facing the beach, they include Augustos (Italian), the fast-food counter at the Aquarium, Hemingway (Lions Dive), Piazza (Lions Dive), Michelley's Ice Cream (Nestles chocolate is excellent), Aloha Beach Club (Dutch and American fast food), Mambo Beach, and Cabana Beach. Augustos, Hemingway, Mambo Beach, and Cabana Beach all ran us around $50-$60 per night for two, without drinks or dessert. Aloha Beach will run around $10 for two if you can be happy with a burger and fries or a plate of fried Dutch snacks. Piazza had good pizza for about what we would pay at home. Our favorite overall restaurant was Augustos; our favorite meal was the Indonesian Rijstaffel buffet at the Cabana Beach on Monday nights. Also be aware that on Sunday night there is a special Cuban buffet at Hemingway and a Barbeque night at Mambo Beach; both are very popular, and you will not get in without reservations.

The music: the Avila Chamber Music Festival was happening while we were in Curacao (last week in January). Tickets were only sold at the front desk of the Avila Beach Hotel, but one of the Lions Dive staff heard that we were interested and went to the other hotel to buy the tickets for us. This festival features some of the top musicians in the US and I strongly recommend it if you are here in late January. There is a similar chamber music festival in March.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latenights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We stayed for a week in Lions Dive resort, in a standard room that was a little run-down furniturewise, but had an excellent bed and a kitchenette. The shower sometimes ran out of hot water. Service was very friendly. Lions Dive has its own beach, which is very nice with palm trees and loungers, but it's behind a breakwater so no waves. If you want a proper sea swimming experience there are other beaches, but this is very safe if you're less experiences. There are also some pools, the 50-meter pool is great for a morning workout. The restaurants are so-so. Hemingway does not have a sophisticated menu, while Nemo is too expensive for what it offers. We had a rental car, so we dined in Willemstad most of time time (and we visited other beaches). I would recommend anybody staying in Curacao for more than a few days to get a rental car, the hotel offers shuttle services, but you're much more flexible with your own transport. Overall a very nice place to stay, with a good beach, but close enough to Willemstad to easily enjoy the facilities of a bigger town.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joris_zwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This was the second time we stayed at the lions dive hotel, and again it was perfect. The new 50 meter pool is phenomenal as well as the new apartments! The kids enjoyed the little kids pool and the beautiful beach whole day so we could also relax. I already recommended my friends about the hotel, and i will do it again after our second stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallofdsafsdaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The Lions Dive Resort has all you need to enjoy a relaxing holiday. The staff were friendly and efficient, beach clean, rooms very good , fantastic sunsets, a vibrant bar in the evening and a good choice of restaurants either on site or very close by at reasonable prices. What more do you need? I'll be back.

GRB944 must have had a chip on his shoulder as the beach is very shallow and had kids playing in it all day, not many provide free internet, there are lifts and the long thin pool is 50m by about 10m with a shallow end. He also wrote the review on the same day as his Negril post, he should stay at Breezes next door then he would really have something to complain about!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbeaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
630 reviews
5.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
342 reviews
3.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
1.8 mi away
Avila Beach Hotel
Avila Beach Hotel
#7 of 32 in Willemstad
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao

Property: Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Address: Bapor Kibra, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the longest white sandy beach of Curacao, just minutes away from the picturesque Dutch colonial city of Willemstad, is sportive 4* Lions Dive & Beach Resort. The resort offers every desired accommodation; a stay in a comfortable hotel room, with your family in a large apartment or a romantic stay in a suite or penthouse. For the sportive guest, the resort has a lot of opportunities: train in the 50 meter sports pool, discover the underwater world with diving school Ocean Encounters or a workout at Body Beach Wellness Club. Of course Lions Dive is also the place for a sun, sea and beachy holiday. Have a massage on our private beach or relax in the Santai Spa. Enjoy our culinary features at the 4 bars and restaurants in the resort. Or just walk to the next-door boulevard with various shops and restaurants. With the personal touch of management and staff, we will give you a real Caribbean Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Lions Dive And Beach Resort Curacao
Lions Dive Beach Hotel Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing