We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So close yet so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So close yet so far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

My husband and I recently returned from one week at Lions Dive. The hotel is very clean and the staff extremely helpful. The shuttles to Willemstad and the local grocery store were a great convenience. The beach was fantastic! Ocean front rooms are worth the extra cost.

The 50 meter pool is spectacular and there is one lane that is divided for lap swimming all of the time. An important note for management is to post a sign near the fitness pool (50 meter) asking children to stay out of the lap lane. On two different days, kids who knew we were swimming laps jumped in and just missed my husband’s head- it would have been a horrible accident easily avoided my a pool safety posting. With a practically Olympic size pool, and just 2 people swimming laps, there is absolutely no reason to jump in the one lap lane.

The one drawback to this hotel-and it’s a big one- is all of the smoking! We simply could not get away from cigarette smoke which was at times unbearable. I’m not talking about one person having an occasional smoke here and there, but many people smoking one after the other. With all the great, healthful amenities at Lions’ Dive, “the natural place to stay,” we were dumbfounded by all of the smoke and the toxic environment that is created by allowing people to smoke everywhere. It was disappointing to see cigarette butts in the white sand and disgusting to have smoke blown in our faces especially after a workout or while trying to dine al fresco. We paid to have an ocean front room, which was lovely, but found out quickly that sitting outside to enjoy morning coffee or sunset would be polluted by people smoking on their balconies in every direction.
Living the U.S., we have become accustomed to smoke free environments and do not expect (although it would be fantastic) the same when traveling. The staff was responsive and felt badly when we complained and told us that there are no laws against smoking in Curacao. If upper management should read this, I would suggest that at the very least to create designated smoking areas on the property. In addition, perhaps a block of rooms downwind would be available for smokers. Even though guests are not supposed to smoke in their rooms, hence the balcony problem, we found that we could not even sit in our room with the doors open because the smoke on both side of us was forced back and channeled through our room.
If they address the smoking issue, we could easily see ourselves back for vacation with family and friends. The weather was perfect and there is something for everyone. The apartments have nice kitchens and dining areas to enjoy meals in and help with costs. There is plenty of shade on the beach and around the pools to help with the intense UV rays. We had a wonderful day trip snorkeling and sailing (booked through the hotel dive shop) and highly recommend the excursion. One of my dreams came true when we swam with dolphins at the Dolphin Academy next door to the hotel! It was fun being able to walk down the beach for dinner at different restaurants and hotels. I was in heaven swimming in the sea all day and working out in the fitness pool.
Overall great stay except for the cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: Go for ocean front. Newly built apartments near the fitness pool are very nice if you are traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCMermaid_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementLionsDive, Manager at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for your review of our resort. It is nice to hear you enjoyed our facilities, except for the cigarette smoke. All our rooms and apartements are non-smoking, but in open-air area's of the resort including the balconies smoking is allowed as it is on the entire island of Curacao. We do regret the inconvenience this caused you and maybe also other guest of our hotel, so we will discuss this matter internely and see if we can come up with a solution, suitable for smokers and non-smokers. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope we may welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    279
    68
    31
    12
See reviews for
204
325
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed at Lion's Dive recently for a Curacao dive trip with 7 other people. It was comfortable and fairly nice, but not the best that I've experience. Restaurant food was okay but service was painfully slow. The beach looked out upon an inlet with another hotel on the other side. Not the most scenic. Main reason for staying here was the proximity to the Ocean Encounters dive operation which was convenient (I've reviewed this separately).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

What a great place to stay. I came with my family for 2 weeks in january and it was amazing. The hotel is a beautiful place and my kids loved the beach and the big 50 meter pool. The food from the restaurants was good, i only miss some spanish dishes on the menu!
I am a good english speaker but for the kids it was great that a lot of the people working in the hotel also could speak spanish. Nothing bad to mention about this hotel! i will recommend it to my friends

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment at the big pool. We had a kitchen, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorge m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Lions Dive

There’s so much to say about this amazing hotel. First of all it has a fair price for the beauty it is offering. Arriving in the hotel we have been warmly welcomed. We didn’t want to wait for the bellboy so we decided to carry our luggage to the second floor, which was of course not a very good idea. But we were so eager to see the beach that we didn’t want to wait.

Arrived in the room we saw that we had a beautiful view to the beach, although we booked a room without view. So I would say it was luck =))

Our room number was 1305 which was located above the lobby. Before arriving we read a lot about the noises, but I have to say that we haven’t heard anything. Our room was clean, no bed bugs or something.

Our vacation started at the Heminway bar, which belongs to the hotel. I wouldn’t say it was the best cocktail I’ve ever had, but they were good.

Jet lagged as I was I woke up very early the next day and went to the beach to see what’s going on. The staff was preparing the breakfast buffet and some others were cleaning the beach.

The breakfast, which we decided to have the first day, was a little expensive for that buffet, therefor we decided to go to the supermarket. The shuttle of the supermarket is picking up the people from the hotel twice a day. We bought all we need and had our breakfasts in our room.

Heminway is open the whole day, so we found some snacks that supported our breakfast. The frites (French fries) are really good and for dinner I had the homemade chicken skewer with peanut sauce twice. They were really delicious.

The Piazza restaurant which is open for lunch offers some Pizzas which wasn’t that good. And is located at the big pool without a view to the beach, so it wasn’t really interesting for us.

The resort is located at the sea aquarium so you have a pretty good snorkeling experience here. The Sea Aquarium & Dolphin Academy is located in 3 min. walking distance. The dive shop of the resort the Ocean Encounters was also very helpful, but this is another review ;))

I would say the resort is a family friendly place, not really interesting for single travellers ;)

There is only one thing to mention negatively; the service at the Hemingway is really slow, it seems like they are much more interested in chatting with their friends than serve you something. We recognized this especially when a trainee starting working at the beach. She was running up and down to serve people their needs, I think her name was Lissi. The days before the service was sitting at the beach and was playing on her phone. But this is only for the restaurant side. The bar is fast and the guys behind the bar are really kind. Especially John =)

Finally I would highly recommend the Lions Dive & Beach Resort =)

Room Tip: Higher floors have a view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebnem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This resort will teach you how to slow down and relax. Dining takes a long time, from ordering your food to paying your bill no one is in a hurry. In fact many times I thought I'd put on my "can't see me suit" and had to check that indeed I was wearing a t-shirt and shorts.

Room Tip: Ask not to be anywhere near the Pelican Boat.. drunks come and go all hours of the night and no one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMachead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Even though we don't dive, the Lions Dive Resort was a fantastic place to stay. Booked an ocean view room and we are overlooking the pool and the ocean. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and the room was kept very clean. The beach was well equipped with chairs and lots of shade from palm trees. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramonthepoolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Excellent service-staff is very friendly. Dalies and CJ are excellent workers at d reception. Highly recommended for divers who wants to dive, tour n relax. D divemasters in Ocean Encounters are very good-especially Danko.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubamasterdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
2.3 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
3.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
1.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao

Property: Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Address: Bapor Kibra, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the longest white sandy beach of Curacao, just minutes away from the picturesque Dutch colonial city of Willemstad, is sportive 4* Lions Dive & Beach Resort. The resort offers every desired accommodation; a stay in a comfortable hotel room, with your family in a large apartment or a romantic stay in a suite or penthouse. For the sportive guest, the resort has a lot of opportunities: train in the 50 meter sports pool, discover the underwater world with diving school Ocean Encounters or a workout at Body Beach Wellness Club. Of course Lions Dive is also the place for a sun, sea and beachy holiday. Have a massage on our private beach or relax in the Santai Spa. Enjoy our culinary features at the 4 bars and restaurants in the resort. Or just walk to the next-door boulevard with various shops and restaurants. With the personal touch of management and staff, we will give you a real Caribbean Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Dive And Beach Resort Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Lions Dive Beach Hotel Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing