We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would do it again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would do it again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for 8 days, and we were very pleased with the resort. It was the right size -- not too big (no lines during meals, staff uniformly cheerful and helpful) and not too small. The food was better than at other all-inclusive resorts we have stayed at, and the choice of 3 locations (Nemo's, Piazza and Hemingway's) made for nice variety. The seafood choices (local and foreign-caught fish, and shrimp) were varied and changed every night. The room was comfortable, and the air conditioner blessedly quiet (it is suprising how important this is -- don't notice it until it keeps you up at night, turning on and off every five minutes). The beach area had a nice mix of chairs, lounges, roofed and un-roofed, and the swimming area was protected from the ocean by a wall of boulders, which was good because some days the ocean was rough. Will return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DenizPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    276
    67
    31
    12
See reviews for
198
316
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Ontario
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Location was excellent, although the facility was a little worn down and slightly overpriced. The staff charged for such items as bottled water that they had said was complimentary and the meals were quite expensive.

The beach was crowded, but very attractive.

My last stay was at the Sunscape and would have preferred to have returned there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drummond89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Went here on honeymoon on Jan 2014. Visited first Aruba and after the very well maintained hotel over there, Lions Dive was a bit a disapointment. The room was not that good. It would do good to put some new paint on the ceiling and walls. One of the most irritating thing was that there is no floor drain in the bathroom. Eventough teh showe is over a bathtup the water will find it's way to the floor after which the floor stays wet unless you use the beach towels to dry it.

We had a room with seaview and nice and big balcony. The seaview was only partial but the gardenlike out door areas of the hotel are nice. I guess you will have nice view from your balcony no matter where you stay.

The beach is nice with good swimming and snorkling possibilities. The sea aquarium is next door and you can really see sharks swimming about behind a fence while snorkeling near the aquarium.

There is also three restaurants at the hotel premises. We tried the Hemmingways and the pizzaplace. The Hemmingways was ok despite all the bad reviews it has got. (We first went there to see if the service quality is really that bad.) The pizza place was also good enough. Nothing special tough.

There is also a mall next to the hotel with some shopping options and restaurants to choose between fast food and ala carte. The Hawaji fast food joint was excelent. Also the restaurants upstairs are ok. If you like to party like an animal, it is possible atleast on some nights at the mall. Lots of 20-something jerseyshore types drinking them selves numb with DJ's playing over it all.

There is no grocery store near the hotel which is a big bummer. But there is a shuttle to some market. Unfortunately we discovered this during the last days of our visit. There is also a hiking/biking trail going behind the hotel along the coast. You can trek or jog there with some nice views.

The rooms could be better. Place and activity possibilities are excelent. Service was good enough. Kudos for the 50m pool!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Johns, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our family visited Lions Dive Dec 28 - Jan 3, 2014. We had an awesome experience. Upon check in we were upgraded to an ocean front room which was amazing with a great porch and incredible view of the beach and ocean. The resort was very beautiful and my only complaints would be that the ceiling fan in our room was very noisy and should have been replaced and the service in the restaurants is not like you would see in the US. Let me explain, in the US if you order water the server will refill it when it is empty and when you are ready to leave they will bring you your check. It is very laid back there so you usually have to ask for your bill and for more water if you want it. Small complaint for a great trip! The beach is very nice and clean with great entry to a protected area. You can swim/snorkel either in the protected area or swim through the rocks to the outside area. We also did a shore dive in that area. Very nice! The hotel has basically 3 restaurants and the food was very good at all 3. I wish that they served a small breakfast on the menu because the buffet ($17US) was more than we ever wanted in the morning, toast and eggs would have been fine but was not available. The grounds of the hotel are very nice and the concierge was very helpful when asking about what to do in the area. A bus can take you every day to the grocery store which was great, we stocked up on snacks and some water, although the water in Curacao is very good. We loved all the iguanas all over the place. One thing that was unexpected was what happened on New Years Eve. Apparently New Years is a very cultural event. Fireworks started at noon (the very loud kind), they had a really nice New Years party with a live band and the party went on until wee hours of the morning. The fireworks went off until almost 4am and they were loud. This isn't a complaint but an observation and I am sure it would be the same any New Years. We will definitely be back. The onsite dive show Ocean Encounters was very convenient.

Room Tip: Ocean Front is awesome, over looking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellysreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We just returned from a week at Lions Dive (LD) and are happy to report a great experience overall. We had narrowed our choices down to Sunscape and Lions Dive and after staying at LD and walking through Sunscape, we were glad we chose LD. Our room was an ocean view with a single bed. The mini fridge worked great and bathroom included a tub, which was very nice. Everything was clean. LD emphasizes conservation/”green” and we support that so opted for no change to bed linens and minimal towel changes. The TV worked great, the free WiFi worked in the room and on the beach (rather than just in the lobby as with other places), the ice machine always had ice, and the air conditioner worked very well. We brought our own granola bars for breakfast and had leftovers from the previous night’s dinner for lunch, so saved on food costs. We tried 2 of the 3 on-site restaurants for dinner: Hemingway’s (large portions, great service, excellent taste, reasonable price) and Piazza (excellent happy hour special of pizza and soda, very tasty pizza). We skipped the fancier Nemos due to price. We also tried Augustos (walking distance east) and El Mexico (walking distance west on the Boulevard)….liked the Mexican place best. Another tip is to frequent the small canteen store across from the front desk for snacks and sundries. The service on the beach was very good (drinks, snacks, etc.) and there were plenty of well shaded chaises longes (or chaise lounges for the non-French). Be careful with the hot water- it’s heated by the sun and comes out at just under boiling temperature. A little bit goes a long way in a tub. Lots of entertaining and beautiful birds and iguanas. The temperature combined with the trade winds made for a perfect climate.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the restaurants if you like to go to bed early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PittsDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

but our experience should sustain us until spring arrives in NC, USA. We had an amazing time in beautiful Curacao, and so enjoyed the attentive hospitality of LionsDive - the accommodations were top notch. It was super to join together on shared terraces and balconies and to enjoy the nice kitchenettes (plenty of space for plenty of cold beer!) You are the most wonderful hosts a group could wish for. Every staff person I encountered was competent and professional and friendly. Im so pleased that Hemmingways has raised the bar in its food and service, and that we can now add Chill to our list of local favorites! Of course the Doug Stern Pool is a main attraction, and from our terrace, I enjoyed the training of your local club. Fine work!

Room Tip: our room was in the 300 block, suite by the pool and with ocean views, wonderful for sunset parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

“Burrrrr! I’m cold!” Suzanne said as we climbed aboard the “Curação Princess” dive boat from our second morning dive.

“Me too!” I agreed with a chuckle. Fortunately, we were quickly warmed by the bright sunshine and 80 degree+ breeze. I caught Suz’s eye and big smile remembering we had left the frigid Missouri winter to dive the tropical waters of Curação for “another day in paradise.”

We dove with friends from Captain Nemo’s Dive Shop in Columbia, MO and stayed at Lions Dive and Beach Resort. As always on Capt. Nemo's dive trips, we had a great time. Lions Dive had several nice restaurants and several more were within easy walking distance.

The Piazza had great pizza, salads and sandwiches at a reasonable price. The service was great! Just remember you are on island time and ask for the bill when you are ready to go. I learned it is impolite for a waitress to bring the bill before being asked.

Our best meal was at the old Fort Nassau overlooking the capital city of Willemstad. Very reasonable price for great view and good food.

On previous dive trips each day we had two morning dives and one afternoon dive. Only two morning dives were provided by Lions Dive plus unlimited shore diving. Suz added a dive skin under her wetsuit and I dove with a long sleeve polyester blend t-shirt under my shorty. The little extra was all we needed to stay warm and enjoy the many tropical fish, moray eels, sponges and coral. Suz even found an octopus and two tiny seahorses!

Our dive masters Julie, Flor and Mouse were great! It always amazes me how the small young ladies can move around the heavy scuba tanks and weighted dive BCs with such grace and agility!

The free afternoons gave us plenty of time to explore downtown Willemstad and the Maritime Museum where we learned how important Curação and the Dutch Navy were in protecting the Venezuelan oil from German U-boat attacks during WWII.

We also had time for Suz to enjoy the warm afternoon sun in an European beach atmosphere (no pictures available). Several of us returned to the beach each evening to toast the beautiful sunsets.

The good food, good friends and warm tropical beach made it a winter vacation to remember!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.3 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#13 of 33 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
1.2 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 33 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao

Property: Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Address: Bapor Kibra, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the longest white sandy beach of Curacao, just minutes away from the picturesque Dutch colonial city of Willemstad, is sportive 4* Lions Dive & Beach Resort. The resort offers every desired accommodation; a stay in a comfortable hotel room, with your family in a large apartment or a romantic stay in a suite or penthouse. For the sportive guest, the resort has a lot of opportunities: train in the 50 meter sports pool, discover the underwater world with diving school Ocean Encounters or a workout at Body Beach Wellness Club. Of course Lions Dive is also the place for a sun, sea and beachy holiday. Have a massage on our private beach or relax in the Santai Spa. Enjoy our culinary features at the 4 bars and restaurants in the resort. Or just walk to the next-door boulevard with various shops and restaurants. With the personal touch of management and staff, we will give you a real Caribbean Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, HotelsClick, HRS, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Dive And Beach Resort Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Lions Dive Beach Hotel Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing