We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem worhty of a return visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem worhty of a return visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

My wife and I just returned from a two week stay at the Lion’s dive and aside from one minor bump the hotel and staff far surpassed our expectations. The minor bump, was some construction that was going on at the Seaquarium resort across the breakwater from the Lion’s dive. Apparently they were doing some dredging and retooling the breakwater but even the minor noise, and disruption was not enough to spoil a truly great experience at a truly well run resort.

Both my wife and I are divers, so the focus of our trip was water related. As far as the local dive scene at the Lions was concerned, we didn’t bother due to the clouding of the visibility that the construction, but from what I heard from the local snorkelers, it wasn’t al that bad.

The beach itself was lovely, the restaurants and amenities well worth the price. A word of caution to my fellow travelers; the entire island truly on island time, so if you’re looking for the fast food type of all inclusive, Curacao may not be for you. But if you’re looking to slow down and enjoy the bounty that the island has to offer, than read on.

We booked an Oceanfront room, and received a very nice third floor corner unit; which was perfect for both sitting and enjoying the sunsets, and drying out the dive gear. the rooms were immaculately kept, by the housekeeping staff, and we really wanted for nothing.

When asked for a power converter to run our 110 appliances and laptop, it arrived in minutes, was set up by a very friendly maintenance fellow. The folks at the front desk saw to our every need, in a fast (island time) and friendly manner.

The bar staff at Hemmingway’s (cheers to Francesca, Natalia, and Clay) was top notch and there with a cool drink, friendly smile and charming manner every time a fresh drink was needed.

We rented a car for our entire stay, and that gave us opportunity to explore the islands many beaches, and dive sites, and the staff at Ocean Encounters was very helpful with much needed gear repair and dive site advice.

If you want truly carefree mornings, I’d suggest that you opt for the breakfast package. Te food was plentiful, well prepared and made getting out of bed a bit easier and more relaxing.

All in all I would say that the Lion’s Dive not only met but surpassed our expectations, in just about every way. The Lion’s Dive resort is truly a relatively undiscovered gem of a resort, but with accommodations, and service like we experienced it won’t stay undiscovered for long.

We’re looking forward to another stay with them in the near future.

  • Liked — Clean, and comforable
  • Disliked — Construciton at a neghboring resort.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RWhitbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    274
    66
    31
    12
See reviews for
195
316
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2008

We loved this place. We had a lovely clean room with a terrace in the older part of the hotel, not directly on the beach but still only a one minute stroll away.We were able to snorkel every day as the reef is right by the resort. We had a wonderful view of the ocean, although partially blocked by the new condos acoss the marina. One of the pools was just 20 feet away. Free access to the Seaquarium was a benefit as we walked over every day in the morning and at sunset.

We were originally located on a second story room but wew were promptly and courteously moved the next day. There was a small problem with a light and maintenance was there within 20 minutes and fixed it.

The whole staff was wonderful.

I particularly liked the free, twice daily bus to both the city and a grocery store. With a small refrigerator in the room it was easy to pick up snacks,beer and wine.This service saved us a lot of money as we only rented a car for three days and it was only $100.00. (HOLLAND CAR RENTALS) . It is necessary to have a car if you want to tour the island and visit other beaches although there is a daily charge for most of them.We ate three times at the restaurant and were pleased with the quality and price.

We visted the "big" hotels like the Marriott and believe Lions Dive to be the best. Just down the street is Breezes and it looked good for an all inclusive.

There are about 4 or 5 restaurants on the beach.

  • Liked — Service, beach, and resort bus service
  • Disliked — paying $5.00 for 30 minutes of internet
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsyCline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands, Helmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2008

In May of this year we stayed at the Lions Dive Hotel en Beach Resort and it was love at first side. This hotel has the luxury we expected and has also the atmosphere of a real Caribbean environment. We met a very friendly staff and in two days already they could us Dushi. We liked that very much, because they treated us as Friends. Than we saw the building of the slide for “Te land, ter Zee en in de lucht”. (on land, on Sea and in the air) One word to the Staff was enough and suddenly one of us was participate for the game. Ranking 12 in my boat was the big result. When you don’t believe it, look on the list of ranking of Cor van Koert van Te land, ter zee en in de lucht”. We had a beautiful Holliday for two Weeks long. We had only one problem. We don’t want to go back to Holland and Yes, we ware back on the end of October, just on time for the Amstel Curacao Race. Another beautiful culminating point on this friendly Island, with a lot of cosy party’s for- and afterwards. Start and finish on the front door of Lions Dive. We belong to the Lucky ones to lived two weeks in the new apartments. Very complete with a great living and a very big balcony. Oké, there was some noise from the building of more new apartments and a 50 meter swimming pool. However, the apartment has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The choice wich bedroom was easy, as far as possible from the noise and we had no further problems. During the very nice Sunset, the noise was over. Beside, we get a very nice discount for inconvenience. One is for shore: In May 2009 we will back for Te land ter zee en in de lucht and we looking forwards for another say in the new apartments and to swim in the 50 meter swimming pool.

With kind regards,
Elly and Cor van Koert
Helmond, Holland

  • Liked — Friendly and cosy staff and personell
  • Disliked — Big and luxurry apartments
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cor159El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

As a party of three we stayed at the Lions Dive, renting two apartments. The hotel was recommended by local friends as nice, friendly and having a great beach.
We were in for a surprise:
major construction was going on, starting every day around 7.30 am. Upon arrival we were not informed that the only rooms available were right next to the construction site. Nor were we offered any alternative.
A major feature of the apartments is a nice balcony, furnished with chairs and a dining table. We were not able to use those, due to the dust and noise from the construction right below us.

So we tried to find peace and quiet on the beach. Which was equally impossible. Construction was going on there as well, a new building was under way, old stairways were taken down. The noise level was extremely high.

Throughout our stay the noise and dirt level was extremely high and on being confronted by it, the management did not budge an iota. We paid 350 US$ per night for the apartment and were only offered an discount of 75US$. No efforts were made to better our situation what so ever. (a room with more peace and quiet or the offer to check another hotel property in the area never accured to the staff).

Breakfast at the Lions Dive is right at the beach, open air. This is nice, but causes further problems. No refrigeration and unsanitary circumstances at the breakfast buffet. Also there are so many pigeons hunting your breakfast; they become a major nuisance as well as a threat since they do not shy away from stealing your rolls right from your plate.

The staff, reception desk, general management as well as the waitressing staff at the beach bar seem to be very disenchanted with the guests. Taking your order, serving coffee in the morning or answering questions is met by an overall attitude of "don't bother me". They are just short of rude. This disenchantment shows itself through sluggish service, unclean rooms, picked through breakfast buffets that will not be replenished...

Even after the construction will be finished, I can not recommend staying at this hotel. There seems to be such a major lack in motivation und courtesy throughout the staff that any holiday experience will the tainted. It is just not worth the money.

  • Liked — Nice beach
  • Disliked — attitude of the staff and management
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pointreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilianCuracao, Resort Manager at Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao, responded to this review, 17 November 2008
Dear Future Guests,

We are very happy with sites like tripadvisor.com ; therefore we made a direct link at our own website. Always good to know the experience of others. Unfortunately things are not always told correct and/or honest.

A quick reaction on this review. Via a local (business) contact 1 appartment (up to 6 persons) and 1 single Ocean Front room were booked for 5 nights.

We upgraded their friend from a single Ocean Front room to a new apartment as well. This way they stayed next to each other. A apartment has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen and a great living with big balcony.

We agree that the apartment are in the construction site. Due to high demand of rooms on Curacao we pre-opened these apartments. We compensate all parties with 75,- US$ per day per apartment. From the first day both parties could see they were at the construction site. They accepted this with the compensation and with an extra compensation of free breakfast per person per day. At the end of their stay they came to us and said that it did not fulfill their expectations and that they wanted to compensate more. A other 75,- US$ per day, which means per person per day. We refused that, because why do you come at the end of your stay and why do you accept at the first day the compensation? When you are not happy with your room we could have offered a other room or a other hotel at the first day or maybe the second day?

What we also want to point out is that their friend did not complain at all!? He was very friendly and react a bit surprised at our staff when he heard about the reaction of his travellers.

It is a pitty that we cannot put pictures in of the great view every one has from our new appartments, but you can see the pictures which are sent in also in an other way. You see the new 50 meter pool which will be unique. The total new plan, including this pool and kidspool, new restaurant and terrace will be ready before Christmas this year. We are working on this new project for 14 months now and it is totally seperated from our existing 110 rooms and all our amenities like beach, restaurants, pools, sportschool, etc. A bit disapointing to learn about the 'construction' on the beach. We are very sorry, but we also need to do maintenance at our beach. A few weeks ago we had the storm 'Omar'. It took about 5 hours that day to make our beach as beautiful as always. Ofcourse this did not meant that nobody could use the beach. We worked from one site to the other site. Areas which were ready were in use imediately....

I tried to keep it short, but that did not worked out. Thanks for your time to reading our version of the story too.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

We had a perfect vacation at Lion's Dive! It was even better than expected. I can honestly say that we did not have any complaints whatsoever. The check-in was very quick and when we got there we were accidently given a room with 2 double beds. we let them know that we requested a king and were immediately given the room that we wanted. Everything about the resort is beautiful. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and affordsable. The grounds are beautiful with lovely landscaping and colorful flowers everywhere.

A few things to point out:

This is a great place for people with disabilities-there are no stairs-only ramps. We saw many children with autism and other disabilities. I suspect they were there due to the dophin academy that was adjacent to the hotel. (you get free admission as a guess of lion's dive). I highly suggest the dolphin swim-it is amazing!

It is mostly European (Dutch) clientel though everyone speaks English. We did not see many Americans there and we loved this as we found it very low key and relaxing. This is the exact opposite of Aruba where everyone is from the states.

Some Americans may be a bit shocked to see that most women sunbathe topless at all ages and small children tend to play on the beach naked. Do not be alarmed! This is perfectly normal outside of the US and no one will look at you strangly if you do not partake.

Most guests were families or couples in thier 20's or older. People of all ages, just no singles-not the place to meet some one in other words. We saw some younger people in groups at Mambo Beach which is practically right next door. Do remember that we went while school was in session (september-october).

It is VERY affordable. We felt like each meal was gourmet and we never spent more than $100 including alcoholic drinks and tip. You can use US dollars.

"Ocean view" rooms are OCEAN FRONT!!!! You are facing the ocean!!! You are not on the side of the building as in many hotels. The "ocean front" rooms are the ones that you can walk onto the beach front. We liked our "ocean view" room because we had a balcony and no one could see into our room from the beach. We just walked 10 extra feet to get to the beach and we saved about $60/night I believe.

You never need to leave the resort to eat out or be entertained. The beaches are perfect and clean with plenty of chairs and huts. You can snorkel right in front of the hotel in the crystal clear water. (we do not dive but we saw many people doing practicing and taking out boats every day to do so). There is a casino in walking distance if you like that sort of thing as well. There are many resturants and bars right on the beach in front of approximately 4 different hotels connected together on the beach to choose from. There are bands and DJ's on the weekends so be ready for some late night music that you may hear from your room until about 10/11pm. The weekdays are very quiet though.

There is a shuttle to downtown and the market for food that runs twice a day from the hotel as the taxi's are a bit pricey. It cost only $35 taxi to the hotel from the airport and approx $15 to town. we chose to eat at the resort to save $$ and because we liked eating on the beach.

We loved this island and cannot say enough great things about this hotel! On a sidenote my boyfriend also asked me to marry him while we were down here so it will always have an extra special place in our hearts.

Feel Free to contact me if you have any questions!!

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chelseagrrlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whetstone, AZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

This resort is a great place to stay. The beach area is super. There are different restaurants and transportation twice a day to town. The Sea Aquarium is right next store with sea lions, dolphins, etc The Dive Shop is very good albeit crowded boats. The hotel is perfect. No problems no issues.

  • Liked — The layout with the beach
  • Disliked — The menu at Hemingways restaurant could use more seafood.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stoobggu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

Lions Dive and Beach Resort in Curacao is a well-kept secret, but not for long. I don't even dive but I wanted a place that had charm and beauty and offered an experience of the islanders. I can honestly say... the water is bright turquoise every day and the people's smiles are unforgettable!
The landscape of this property is full of color and I am told the diving is excellent. I mainly went to snorkel and relax in beautiful surroundings. It seems there were birds always singing. There are tons of cabanas, well-maintained, and offering the kind of privacy travelers enjoy.
Everyday there is free entrance into a lush sea aquarium within a short walking distance; also there are dolphin and sea lion shows and much more for people of all ages to enjoy.
For a change of pace, there are free shuttles running daily that take you into the colorful town of Curacao.
I highly recommend Lions Dive and Beach Resort to anyone wanting a relaxing, carefree vacation in the Caribbean.

  • Liked — lovely room, clear blue water, and natural surroundings
  • Disliked — pools could be larger
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lisaann6760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.3 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
3.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
1.2 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 33 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao

Property: Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Address: Bapor Kibra, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the longest white sandy beach of Curacao, just minutes away from the picturesque Dutch colonial city of Willemstad, is sportive 4* Lions Dive & Beach Resort. The resort offers every desired accommodation; a stay in a comfortable hotel room, with your family in a large apartment or a romantic stay in a suite or penthouse. For the sportive guest, the resort has a lot of opportunities: train in the 50 meter sports pool, discover the underwater world with diving school Ocean Encounters or a workout at Body Beach Wellness Club. Of course Lions Dive is also the place for a sun, sea and beachy holiday. Have a massage on our private beach or relax in the Santai Spa. Enjoy our culinary features at the 4 bars and restaurants in the resort. Or just walk to the next-door boulevard with various shops and restaurants. With the personal touch of management and staff, we will give you a real Caribbean Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Dive And Beach Resort Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Lions Dive Beach Hotel Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing