We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“simply wonderful”
Reviewed 28 September 2006

Beautiful beach, friendly staff, bedrooms were nice and clean with beautiful oceanview, food was very good, close to trendy clubs on the beach and close to Willemstad. Great place to snorkel and dive. Free enterance to Seaqarium to see the animals of the ocean and a show with dolphins. I had a fantastic vacation and can recommend this hotel to everybody!

  • Liked — the beautiful and natural beach
  • Disliked — There's nothing I can think of!
  • Tips/Secrets — See the beautiful sunset, but pay attention, because it happens very quickly!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Henrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    286
    70
    31
    13
See reviews for
215
331
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monticello, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2006

Our experience, from working with U.S. Dive & Travel, to Lion's Dive staff, to Ocean Encounters staff and the dives was so incredible that it brings tears to my eyes when I try to describe it to others.

Yes, at Miami Airport, you have to go outside security to find decent food - and it was not difficult to do. Upon our arrival in Curacao, we were picked up by Eduard, who had kindly waited over an hour for us when our flight was delayed.

In general, staff at Lion's Dive were friendly and helpful if we were clear about our needs. Housekeeping was friendly and kept our room quite clean. We were comfortable with the air conditioning. There were some ants in the bathroom but they did not become a problem since we kept any food well contained.

Our 14 year old is a novice diver. On the check out dive where we went by ourselves to see how our equipment was, he did not pay attention and quickly went down to 80 feet. We got him up safely but I asked dive staff to talk to him, which they did in a way to which a 14 year old could easily relate. And for the rest of our stay there, they paid special attention to him and his well-being. They made him feel very much a part of "the team."

We found every person on the dive team to be quite aware of his/her experience level. For example, there was a difficult situation when the dive boat broke away from its mooring and we ended up in the rough waters for much longer than anyone intended. Divemaster Kees, Guilermo (sorry about spelling), Lionel (the captain), and the rest of the crew did an excellent job keeping everyone together, accounted for, calm and safe.

The dives themselves were incredible. We saw flying fish, scorpion fish, moray eels, seahorses, barracuda, flounder, shrimp, crabs - just too many species to name here. The Mushroom Forest and Watamula were breathtakingly beautiful. Every dive had a different emphasis and we never felt like we were just seeing the same things over and over.

We had a package with unlimited shore diving. Just off the beautiful beach area is a reef that kept us entertained any time we were not boat diving. Chris, my son, opted for snorkeling that area and never got bored.

Our package included breakfast buffet. The food was fresh and correct temperature, plentiful and included numerous choices.

Quite honestly, the only down side we found on the entire vacation was that restaurant service all along the beachfront for table dining was expensive and incredibly slow - even when there were very few customers. Next time we would opt to consider going into Willemstad and dining there or going to the fruit and veggie markets to supplement the foods we brought - or being very assertive about our expectations.

We are not experienced world travelers/divers but I can say that a vacation at Lions Dive and/or using Ocean Encounters for your diving experiences will be wonderfully memorable. We met quite a few people during our dives - who have dived all over the world - for whom this was their 2nd, 3rd or greater trip to Curacao. That impressed us!

  • Liked — Dive staff and cleanliness of rooms
  • Disliked — Restaurant service
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out restaurants/prices and going to Willemstaad for dining
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Double-HC-Ranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2006

i have stayed for 7 days in the Lions Dive Hotel and i had a great time. The service was great and the rooms were really beautiful. We had Ocean view so that was really nice! also nice pools and Hemingway had great food. I had a wonderful time and i am coming again in December! i can't wait!

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hallofdsafsdaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2006

We choose this place to spend our honeymoon, the hotel room is wonderful! Tile floors (best for hotels on beach to prevent that musky smell), comfortable bed, TV with america broadcast and closed captions.

The hotel is located close to the city of Willmestad, and it provides free shuttle to the city twice daily. The hotel staff are friendly- all have great English- none of the broken English staff I have met in Dominica Republican. They will help reserve for your excurisons which most of them are close by and only cost 6 to 12 dollar cab fare per person. Show your hotel ID to the nearby sea aquarium and you get in free! This sea aquarium provides swims with dolphins, sea loins, and encounters with fishes. There is a scuba company PADI certificated with four to five different types of trip daily. Out back of the hotel is a great beach- great for snorkeling too!

The food at Hemingway restaurant is average- I would recommend reserving room with refridgator- there is a mini market nearby, a supermarket which is 15 dollar cab ride further to. The food in Curacao at the stores are much cheaper than you will find in US.

I would encourage renting car if you want to visit the western part of the island, for two days it will cost you between 150 to 250 depending on the size/type of car with insurance. It is easy to get around in the city and the western part of the island- no road signs like in Europe and America but if you are good with the map and your own sense of direction, and have a great navigator, all will go well. The hotel provides a rental center right in the lobby!

Beach towels are provided, and are big ones! :)

Recommendation for a great Excurison- take the Mermaid company- boat trip to Klein Island! Nothing like a 12 hour excurison for a price of 65 per person- includes breakfast and lunch!

  • Liked — Staff were helpful, great view on balcony, snorkeling right at the beach, luxury feel.
  • Disliked — Nemo's restaurant (overpriced for dinner), and mini refridgator was too small, thats it?
  • Tips/Secrets — SNORKEL! Go snorkeling! I am not crazy about it, but its the best experience here! Take a day in Willemstead to shop, dine... And Take the Mermaid Excurison!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DeafGlobalTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harderwijk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2006

I've spent roughly 2 weeks in The Lions Dive Hotel, and was absolutely thrilled! The rooms are about 25 metres away from the beach, and there are 2 restaurants at about the same distance. There's a lovely ambiance in these restaurants, and the food is just delicious.

Tthe staff is very kind and professional. There's a diving school in the hotel, in which one can become a certified diver and take diving trips on boats, which will leave you stunned because of the marvellous sealife.


For anyone going to the Caribbean, I would definately recommend this hotel, because i'm certainly going again next year!~

Hein van Straatten

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Hein_van_Straatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2006

All i can say is that i had a wonderful time. Everything was very well organised and i am going back to the lions dive for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WilliamNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2006

We spent 11 days with our 2 young boys in one of the appartment facing the sea at the Lions Dive.
We had a great time althought we were dissapointed on some points.

+ The location of the hotel is great. The beach is a real beach, even though there are some rocks but small. It is really large, and people tend to spread on the chairs so you do not feel crowded at all. One of the best beaches linked to an hotel for sure.
+ The appartement was large, well equiped, well maintained, with a great terrace with a fantastic view
+ the restaurant is fantastic to have a drink facing the sea at the sunset
+ renting a car is super easy at the front desk. We could rent from 4:30 in the afternoon till the next day same hour, which was great to go out for dinner, and go to the gorgeous beaches of the nord west coast on the next day
+ the free access to the aquarium is really great for children. We went 3 times to enjoy the dolphin show !
+ the diving center looks really professionnal even though we did not try it
+ the gym is well equiped, and you can have fitness, yoga etc... classes.
+ the internet access works.
+ we forgot the teddy bear in the taxi, and the driver came back to the hotel to give it back : warm greetings to that guy !

- the pool is small ; it is ok most of the time ; it can be really annoying at the week end, when some exteriors people from the hotel join in the splashing.
- we had a bad experience the first night, with a super lound band playing a concert on the beach, just under our ears ! with no special information from the hotel before !
- the reception people are lost and useless if you ask things out of the tracks, like a doctor on a sunday.
- The menu at the restaurant is clearly not enough for a week. If you do not take a flat with a kitchen, you may get bored. The breakfast is really poor.
- the atmosphere is not the one of a high range hotel. It feels more like a family place, and the service is sometimes too casual.

In general, take everything with you, as it is not easy to find stuff in the area. If you lack a buoy or water toys or nice sun cream, you will lose a lot of time finding them.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Delphine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.3 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
3.1 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
1.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao

Property: Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Address: Bapor Kibra, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the longest white sandy beach of Curacao, just minutes away from the picturesque Dutch colonial city of Willemstad, is sportive 4* Lions Dive & Beach Resort. The resort offers every desired accommodation; a stay in a comfortable hotel room, with your family in a large apartment or a romantic stay in a suite or penthouse. For the sportive guest, the resort has a lot of opportunities: train in the 50 meter sports pool, discover the underwater world with diving school Ocean Encounters or a workout at Body Beach Wellness Club. Of course Lions Dive is also the place for a sun, sea and beachy holiday. Have a massage on our private beach or relax in the Santai Spa. Enjoy our culinary features at the 4 bars and restaurants in the resort. Or just walk to the next-door boulevard with various shops and restaurants. With the personal touch of management and staff, we will give you a real Caribbean Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Lions Dive And Beach Resort Curacao
Lions Dive Beach Hotel Curacao
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing