We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If your hotel is important to your vacation enjoyment, don't stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Southern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If your hotel is important to your vacation enjoyment, don't stay here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Was probably nice at one time, (perhaps 40 years ago), but very old, not clean, hot and even dangerous.

The dangerous part is the shower. The floor is angled ~15 degrees downward to aid drainage. Unfortunately, it also makes falling not just a possibility, but an eventual reality. It's only a matter of time. Fortunately, I changed hotels after the first day to the Rennisance which, although expensive, was much nicer.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    90
    58
    72
See reviews for
74
133
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tobago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

This was my 2nd trip to Curacao, but 1st time at Plaza. Did not regret it at all. The location is ideal, in the midst of everything, shopping, restaurants, and the famous Queen Emma Bridge. Good value for money.

But what was outstanding was the service. The Front Desk staff, Restaurant, the Entertainment desk as well as the Housekeepers were all very friendly and helpful. They all contributed to an enjoyable and unforgettable vacation with my family. Keep up the good work!!! Look forward to seeing you again same time next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trace565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

The family spent 5 days at the Plaza Hotel and could not have asked for a better vacation..The kids are still talking about it...Service was great, great view from our rooms, relaxing....great location walking distance to shops and attractions...
Thank you for the memories!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

This is hotel although it has great views, is extremely dated and in need of much repair. The age of the building is nice considering culture however, someone needs to take care of all the mold. The housekeepers were rude. I changed three rooms and all three had mold. One morning I woke up and found mushrooms growing from the wall of my room. Each room i tried leaked. The Front desk manager was very rude, unsmypathetic and needs to be released. The quality of the food was poor. The island is extremely beautiful but this hotel should be condemned.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventuregirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
I want you to know that many of your comments are being addressed and the Plaza Hotel is better today as a result of you TripAdvisor review. Unfortunately, you did not have the rewarding experience you expected, please accept my apologies.

For the past few months, we have been taking guest rooms out of service and doing plenty of maintenance and repairs, as well as deep cleaning them all.

In fact, we have hired a special team of 6 people whose sole job is to detail out the rooms and make them beautiful! We have also been training our "front desk" team and other departments.

I hope you can come back and see the exciting new look we have for our guests at the Plaza Hotel,

Thanks again

RH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

My wife and I visited Curacao and the Plaza Hotel for a mini get-a-way vacation and just loved the hotel and it's location. This hotel is the tallest building on the island and overlooks both the capital city of Willemstad, the harbor and the ocean. It's absolutely beautiful!

Our suite was clean, comfortable and offered a wonderful balcony where we enjoyed watching the crusie ships enter the port. It was so relaxing.

Breakfast was delicious and a great value as was our evening meals at Scampi's, an ocean front eatery right on the coast.

Anyway, we loved this hotel and the island of Curacao. You can spend hundreds more at other hotels...but don't!

Jason & Karen

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony...you will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConventionGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Perfect location, walking, shuttle, or taxi's available. The hotel is so centrally located you can walk anywhere easily. Snorkeling is great, the sun always shines and the people are polite. We saw no crime, the locals keep the island clean, no trash. Workout room at the hotel was great. Wonderful tour director to help if you want to take a boat ride or ATV tour. The casino was busy.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cattomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raasepori, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Check in time was att 2 pm, we got our room att 3pm av we had to ask many times before anything happend. The staf was very rud, the room was dirty, bathroom was in terrible condition.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catz_080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
0.5 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Curacao

Property: Plaza Hotel Curacao
Address: Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini - Welkom - Welcome. The Plaza Hotel & Casino is Curacao’s most recognized hotel and a favorite vacation destination for generations of world travelers. Discover our stunning oceanfront location, breath taking views and gracious Caribbean hospitality. Built atop the historic Waterford Forte, a 1700's stronghold; the Plaza Hotel Curacao stands as the gateway to the Willemstad's shops, open air markets and local culture. Whether your visit to Curacao is for a relaxing family vacation, a romantic getaway, a destination wedding or you’re here on business, you will love our convenient location and modern comforts. And with free WIFI, a fitness center and almost a dozen great restaurants and lounges on site, there’s something for everyone to enjoy! The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino is close to Hato International Airport, major corporate headquarters and a few steps from great duty free shopping and the world famous floating Queen Emma Pedestrian Bridge. Plus, we’re only minutes from some of Curacao’s favorite family and dive beaches. Relax on our giant party deck, swim in our large pool and enjoy the vibrant sunsets overlooking the sea and historic Willemstad. Dine, dance and enjoy the very best of the Curacao. Feeling lucky, come test your skills in the Royal Casino, our Caribbean inspired Casino and a local favorite. Come win a fortune or have some fun playing blackjack, bingo, roulette, craps, poker or the slot machines. We look forward to your arrival in Curacao and taking great care of you at the Plaza Hotel & Casino. Come explore Curacao. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Plaza Hotel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing