We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again...A Very Nice Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Again...A Very Nice Stay!”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed at the Plaza months back and had a nice trip. I even said I would stay here again.

But when I had the chance to return to Curacao recently, I looked at other hotels in Willemstad, compared prices and fully did my homework. I selected the Plaza Hotel & Casino again and I have a very nice stay.

The Plaza is not the fanciest hotel in town, but it's very comfortable, clean and the staff have real personalities. They are friendly, profesional and themselves!

Plus, the location is the best. The views are awesome and they must have close to 10 restaurants at the hotel, a great breakfast buffet and fantastic croissants!

So, I returned to the Plaza Hotel and would do so again!

Room Tip: I had a Classic King room and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConventionGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
We love when guests return to the Curacao Plaza Hotel, it shows that we are doing our job correctly and providing the services, cleanliness and hospitality travelers’ demand.

And we are glad that you compared the other nearby hotels, yet selected us.

You're right, our croissants are awesome!

Thanks for your continued support.

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    90
    58
    72
See reviews for
74
133
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were booked into the Plaza Hotel & Casino, read the mixed reviews and had a fantastic time at this hotel. In fact, we are glad we stayed here, it was fun, clean and service was fine.

We came to Curacao for the North Seas Jazz Festival and loved our trip. We stayed at the Plaza because it was close to all the attractions, plus it offers free WIFI. We were very happy with our hotel selection.

We ate 2 of our nights in the Plaza Hotel's "FORT", which has about 5 or so great ocean front restaurants in it. Grill King was excellent and Perla del Mar was beyond awesome!

Anyway, if you want a nice hotel, well located and affordable; the Plaza is ideal. If you seek to spend more, maybe you should try the Marriott.

We loved our stay at the Plaza and left wondering; who wrote that stuff, because this was not even close to what we experienced?

We would return in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We had a Superior King room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
THANK YOU. What kind words, they really mean a lot to us!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino and that you were able to dine with us on several occasions. The North Seas Jazz Festival was a very busy weekend for our staff and I am glad we took great care of you and your family.

Thanks for telling TripAdvisor about your wonderful experience in Curacao.
Come back soon!

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed six nights as the room was prepaid through an Expedia vacation package. The front desk staff was not friendly nor helpful. Once we got checked in and up to our room, we discovered only 2 small thread-bare bath towels. We went down and asked for extra towels and the desk clerk said "How many guests?" I answered 'two' and he smiled in a condescending manner and nodded "Two guest, two towels" I asked could we at least have face towels to wash with. Needless to say, we didn't get extra towels. The sheets were torn on the edges and holey. The room bare bones. No clock or any other amenities to speak of. Their idea of cleaning the rooms merely consisted of emptying the trash and changing the sheets. By the time we left, the bathtub was filthy. I didn't believe we needed a luxury hotel because 95% of our days were out exploring and enjoying the island and it's peoples. But we thought we could at least be comfortable.

Worst of all, that pond in the open air lobby needs to be emptied of it's fish and water and closed for good. It was just a breeding ground for swarms of mosquitoes. You didn't make it to the elevator fast enough to avoid getting bitten. We had to apply mosquito repellent before leaving our room just to survive exiting and entering the hotel! I eventually had to find a pharmacy to purchase some calamine lotion to soothe the stings.

The description given in travel guides and Expedia for this hotel is off the mark. If they must include the Plaza Hotel Curacao, it should be with a cautionary note.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and avoid any hotel built in the 1960's. Not all historical sites have &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midwestIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thanks for taking the time to send your comments to TripAdvisor. Every review helps us improve our services and standards.

We have taken your comments very seriously and have made several changes as a result of your posting. The comments you reported from our desk staff and not acceptable nor are the housekeeping services you experienced.

Many guests love their stay at the Plaza Hotel, I wish we had made your visit as pleasant. True we have no clocks in our rooms, but this is by design thus allowing guests to focus on relaxing and not on time. Additionally, we have in room safes, coffee, tea and other amenities.

Nonetheless, we appreciate your comments and hope you will stay at the Plaza should you return to Curacao.

Thanks for helping us improve the Plaza Hotel for our guests.

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

They had lost our reservation when we booked directly on their website. The squeezed us in a room for 2 when we were 4. Their welcome and behaviour were pathetic and cleaning was not conducted. We had to ask 3 times to get our due extra towels.
Eventually after 5 attempts to meet with management we got the appointment and extracted 20% discount

Hotel is very well located but it is going into a shabby status

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlv31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
We are sorry that your stay with us was less than you expected and less than perfect. But we are glad you enjoyed the Plaza Hotel's unmatched location and that you have taken the time to help us improve our guest service efforts.

Your review has helped us solve a problem with our booking platform and eliminate lost reservations. This situation had happened once before, but we now have it resolved. Thanks

Additionally, we have made changes to our front office staff and we are looking to hire more housekeepers, since we made some changes just days before your arrival. Nonetheless, we apologize for the unpleasant stay and are working hard to improve our standards.

While I wish we could have provided a perfect stay, I hope you will stay with us on your next trip to Curacao.

Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel is beautifully location in the centre of the World Heritage Unesco site - Willemstad - surrounding but the blue carribean sea. Its a simple 3 star hotel with great views from the rooms. A stunning view from the pool area and a lovely reception area.
walking distance from many restaurant - cinema - shops - markets.
rooms are a bit outdated and so is the pool. Free Wifi in pool area and lobby. Parking is available but usually very busy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Thanks for the review, it's fair and accurate. Plus, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the free WIFI services!

We represent the Plaza Hotel as a solid "3 Star hotel", clean, friendly, with great views and a spectacular location. It seems you agree.

Yes, not all of our rooms have big flat screen TVs, in room mini bars, or all the latest trend in the hotel industry. We strive for a more relaxed and comfortable motif and let the big chain hotels charge extra for the elegant and sophisticated offerings.

Thanks for selecting the Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino.

Come back soon!

RH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Great hotel in the heart of Willemstad. Could not have asked for any better. We used the free shuttle for the beach, every other attraction is walking distance. Loved the hotel. Great breakfast buffet..We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
We agree. And we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and "loved the hotel".

The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino has a location in Curacao that is second to none, perfect for business travelers, honeymooners and family vacationers. Willemstad is such an exciting city!

Thanks for the great review; it will most certainly be shared with our staff!

RH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed in the Plaza not quite sure what to expect from the reviews I read here. Overall I was very pleased with the level of service and the quality of the room. I stayed in one of the rooms in what I gather is the older part (two storeys, facing back towards the pontoon bridge). The only negative comment I have was that at first the shower was a bit hard to adjust to the correct temperature and did not have a big spray and the water seemed to drain very slowly.

Apart from that, everything was pretty well perfect. The room was always spotless, the bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was on 24/7 ( thereby avoiding humidity in the room and the odours that may go with it) and was easy to adjust. In many places the temperature stays the same no matter what you do, but here it actually let you choose your desired temp.

The dining room seemed of very high standard although I only had breakfast there twice. The food provided was of a very high standard, however I chose to eat in nearby Wilhelmina Plein to share my tourist dollars with smaller local businesses. The hotel is in Punda so you are only a five min walk away from lots of shops and bars.

The pool and the ground were clean and well maintained.

I would say that the Plaza is clearly from a different era and shows its age in some ways. Its clientele is therefore of a similar vintage, by and large but overall it is a wonderful hotel with loads of charm and provided excellent accommodation for me.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boot4Football
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Thanks for staying with us at the Plaza Hotel & Casino and letting the world know how much you enjoyed your stay with us!

We have been working very hard to insure that we exceed our guests expectations. And it sounded like you had a great visit.

I have made a note about the shower head in your room and we will look into replacing this one with a better one. Thanks.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Curacao and look forward to your return.

RH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
E M City Hotel
E M City Hotel
#31 of 32 in Willemstad
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Curacao

Property: Plaza Hotel Curacao
Address: Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini - Welkom - Welcome. The Plaza Hotel & Casino is Curacao’s most recognized hotel and a favorite vacation destination for generations of world travelers. Discover our stunning oceanfront location, breath taking views and gracious Caribbean hospitality. Built atop the historic Waterford Forte, a 1700's stronghold; the Plaza Hotel Curacao stands as the gateway to the Willemstad's shops, open air markets and local culture. Whether your visit to Curacao is for a relaxing family vacation, a romantic getaway, a destination wedding or you’re here on business, you will love our convenient location and modern comforts. And with free WIFI, a fitness center and almost a dozen great restaurants and lounges on site, there’s something for everyone to enjoy! The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino is close to Hato International Airport, major corporate headquarters and a few steps from great duty free shopping and the world famous floating Queen Emma Pedestrian Bridge. Plus, we’re only minutes from some of Curacao’s favorite family and dive beaches. Relax on our giant party deck, swim in our large pool and enjoy the vibrant sunsets overlooking the sea and historic Willemstad. Dine, dance and enjoy the very best of the Curacao. Feeling lucky, come test your skills in the Royal Casino, our Caribbean inspired Casino and a local favorite. Come win a fortune or have some fun playing blackjack, bingo, roulette, craps, poker or the slot machines. We look forward to your arrival in Curacao and taking great care of you at the Plaza Hotel & Casino. Come explore Curacao. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Hotel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Plaza Hotel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing