We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Nice hotel and a great location”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here in January and the hotel was nice, clean and very well located. Brought our children and enjoyed the pool and town.

This is a good hotel for families, 3 stars and comfortable. If you want extreme luxury stay somewhere else and pay alot more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear KellyD,

Thanks for bringing your family to Curacao and for staying with us at the Plaza Hotel. We appreciate your business and we are glad that your family had a great vacation!

You are right; our pool is a major benefit that our guests enjoy, as is our central location to the shops, cultural sites and numerous beaches on Curacao. It sounds as if your family really enjoyed the Plaza, historic Willemstad and Curacao.

And while we are not the most luxurious hotel on the island, we do provide a clean and comfortable hotel with great values, incredible ocean views, and a location everyone loves.

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, we appreciate the kind words.

RH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    90
    58
    72
See reviews for
74
133
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
third rock
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We've spent 2 nights mid January 2012 at the plaza hotel & casino in Willemstad. The hotel has an excellent location and our view from room 318 was great, over the swimming pool and sea. The hotel lobby looks nice and exotic (with a few mosquitoes).
The bed was large and comfortable.
That's all the positive i can say.
On the negative side: our room was worn terribly, things falling off, the door key/lock is a joke (almost falling out of the door), things are growing in the bathroom, the fake ceiling elements are damaged and falling out, the window is not possible to open and very very dirty, etc etc.
And the staff downstairs though nice to talk to, is very busy, usually there was only one person at the desk so ...trankilo, trankilo.
The whole thing is just very outdated and worn. Could be made into an excellent 4-star place with some investment... but at this moment it's like a cheap roadside motel.

Room Tip: think whether sea view is more important, or to get a room in good shape. (If there are ANY in good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csabatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I recently travele to Curacao with my family for Thanksgiving holiday and can safely say that I have never stayed in a hotel that I was more dissatisfied with than the Curaco Plaza Hotel and Casino. This is due in large part to the laziness and poor attitude of the staff. When we arrived, it took an extremely long amount of time to check in and I was also asked to pay for the room up front as opposed to when I checked out of the hotel. The attitude of the staff was the most ridiculous display of customer service that I have ever witnessed. I realize that things move a little slower on the island than in the U.S. but every issue that we had with the hotel was handled with a terrible attitude. We arrived on our floor and it appeared to still be almost completely under construction. The walls were open and exposed leaving wires and drywall exposed as well. Our room ( which was not the model we paid for) was left open by the cleaning staff whom had never finished cleaning prior to our arrival. After a long flight, my fellow travelers and I were ready to relax, instead I had to inquire with the front desk as to why the room wasn't neat and clean before we arrived. Once again, I was met with a poor attitude at the front desk and a poorer attitude by the housekeeper who begrudingly walked up to our room ( in flip flops) to put the pillow cases on our beds and clean the bathroom.
It was one thing after another from check-in to check-out a few days later. The only staff members that I found to do a great job were the bartenders. I wanted to speak with the manager on staff only to learn that the general manager wasn't ever on site. I would have expected more from this hotel based on the reviews I had read but it was a gross dissappointment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Jennifer B,

I am dissapointed that we let you and your family down while here in Curacao. It seems that some of our staff did not perform as expected and for this I am very sorry.

It also seems that from your comments, some of our staff did a great job and we are happy to hear this.

I am happy to inform you that since your stay, we have hired a new General Manager. He started on December 1 and has already had a positive impact on our service standards.

In regard to your seeing areas under construction, this is correct since we were renovating both guest rooms and hallways in the area of your guest room. While this is unfortunate, some projects take days to complete yet they must be accomplished.

Nonetheless, we regret that we let you down and should you be back in Curacao, we would love for you to stay with us again. This way you will be able to post a new review showing our improved service and accommodations.

Thanks for helping us raise our standards.

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Enjoy the room and the dinning. The fort is interest as it is an old historical site. The location to shopping and the flea market was perfect. Swam and went diving off the shoreline at the hotel. The water was perfect temperature, bottom sand at the waters edge, the coral beautiful. There are plenty of beautiful fish.

Room Tip: I personally perfer a roon with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stormduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Stormduck,

I am glad that you had a "GREAT STAY" with us at the Curacao Plaza Hotel and that you enjoyed the room and our dining. This is always wonderful to read on TripAdvisor!

You are so right, the Waterfort Fort is stunning and our location to great duty free shopping and the markets are PERFECT!

Anyway, thanks for staying with us and telling the world about your GREAT STAY at the Curacao Plaza Hotel.

Come back soon!

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

the hotel is in the middle of the "city" and the city is not noisy. Ask for the low rise with a balcony. We paid $130 plus plus which was a reasonable price for what you get.
Wifi and multi channel tv was included. The rooms are clean but tired. They should invest in better pillows.
The staff were accommodating but not overjoyed to see you.
Yes there are moskitos by the pool in the reception but heh, welcome to the tropics.

There is no information in the room of what's available so we didn't eat, use the pool or the bar.


Anyway it's far better drinking and eating by the pontoon bridge watching the world and it's wife go by.

We've been in a lot worse for more money- just don't expect 5 star

Room Tip: when booking ask for the low rise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 530peterchristine530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear 530Peterchristine530,

Thanks for staying with us at the Curacao Plaza Hotel and posting your review on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate hearing from our guests.

I am glad that you found our location GREAT, our staff “ACCOMMODATING" and our rooms "CLEAN". I realize that while you enjoyed your stay, we can still work a little harder to make your next visit PERFECT!

We believe the Plaza Hotel to be a perfect 3 STAR property and try to convey this to our guests. Some guests seek a 5 Star experience and unfortunately, we are not suited to meet their needs. Then again, our prices reflect those of a 3 STAR HOTEL and everyone seems to enjoy the great value the Plaza offers!!

Anyway, we appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

the entire family loved the plaza...Could not have asked for a better location, walking distance from everything there is to visit...Rooms were clean and the staff was always helpful...
Will not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terrychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
It's always great to read nice reviews about the Curacao Plaza Hotel on TripAdvisor and to see that we have served our guests well. We are constantly working to exceed our guests’ expectations and it looks like we did a good job for your family!.

We really appreciate your trust, business and kind words.

Thank you.

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I stayed for 5 nights via a prepaid booking. The hotel is very old and dilapidated not even
the quality level of a Motel 6.

AMENITIES
The internet is not free and there is no airport shuttle. The "shuttle" only takes guests to the Seaquarium Beach for $3 roundtrip. There is $15/day resort fee. The "basic" rooms do not include a couch and other furniture. The pool was not cleaned and had large piles of dirt at the bottom. The hotel restaurant food is overpriced and bland. The hotel store is also overpriced - ask for pricing on the front end.

ROOM/COMMON AREAS
The tile on the floor was mismatched and cracked with dirt in every possible crevice. The ceiling tile was moldy and black. The bed was hard, lumpy and lacked a mattress pad. The pillows felt like cardboard and all three were required. The towels and bedding were stained and musty smelling. The bathroom fixtures were broken and coming out of the wall. The sink fixture did not put out a lot of water so much patience is required.

STAFF
Some of the staff were very indifferent to the needs of the guests. For example, guests, including myself were standing at the front desk waiting for a personal conversation to finish between the staff before being addressed. In one instance, a worker walked away as they saw me approach so I waited for several minutes for them to return after smoking a cigarette.


RESOLUTION
I wished I had booked the Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort Spa and Marina. I would not wish this place on my worst enemy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSANNJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Honestly, your review is very concerning to us at the Plaza Hotel. This is not because of any criticisms or areas where we can improve, but because many of the items you discuss makes us question if you have written about the right hotel.

Let me explain...

First, at the Curacao Plaza Hotel Internet is FREE. Yet, you said it is not.

Second, you mention a "$15 /Day Resort Fee", which we do NOT charge. Perhaps you were charged one, but the Curacao Plaza Hotel does not charge this fee. Other hotels do this, but not us.

Additionally, you mention that there is "no airport shuttle". This is true, but the Curacao Plaza Hotel never advertises or states that we do provide this service. In fact, Curacao law prevents hotels from providing this service, unless it is built into our room rates and specifically noted.

In regard to our restaurant, you stated that "food is overpriced". I am sorry if you feel this way, but this is quite the opposite.

The Curacao Plaza Hotel’s "All You Can Eat Breakfast Buffet" is $15 and includes an egg station featuring eggs made to order, assorted omelets, pancakes and French toast. Additionally, we feature bacon, sausage, ham, breakfast potatoes, assorted cheeses, 3 types of juice, fresh pineapple, cantaloupe, watermelon and often mango. Plus we have2 types of yogurt, fresh baked muffins, croissants, rolls and assorted breads, cold cereal and granola. And coffee, tea and milk are also included. This is a fantastic value!

As for dinner, our prices again start at $15 and that's fora 4 course meal!

Finally, while we love your comparing the Plaza Hotel to the new Hyatt Regency Curacao Golf Resort Spa and Marina, we just don’t compare; not in price, location or offerings! The Hyatt is brand new luxury resort that offers a stunning spa, 18 hole golf course, 3,000 square foot pro shop and a 1,500 foot private beach. But thanks, for the comparison.

Anyway, we do take all comments very seriously, especially regarding guest service, guest room cleanliness and overall property maintenance. And we are constantly working to improve our guests experience at the Curacao Plaza Hotel.

So, thanks for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. As always, we appreciate the feedback.

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
#15 of 32 in Willemstad
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
E M City Hotel
E M City Hotel
#31 of 32 in Willemstad
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Curacao

Property: Plaza Hotel Curacao
Address: Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini - Welkom - Welcome. The Plaza Hotel & Casino is Curacao’s most recognized hotel and a favorite vacation destination for generations of world travelers. Discover our stunning oceanfront location, breath taking views and gracious Caribbean hospitality. Built atop the historic Waterford Forte, a 1700's stronghold; the Plaza Hotel Curacao stands as the gateway to the Willemstad's shops, open air markets and local culture. Whether your visit to Curacao is for a relaxing family vacation, a romantic getaway, a destination wedding or you’re here on business, you will love our convenient location and modern comforts. And with free WIFI, a fitness center and almost a dozen great restaurants and lounges on site, there’s something for everyone to enjoy! The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino is close to Hato International Airport, major corporate headquarters and a few steps from great duty free shopping and the world famous floating Queen Emma Pedestrian Bridge. Plus, we’re only minutes from some of Curacao’s favorite family and dive beaches. Relax on our giant party deck, swim in our large pool and enjoy the vibrant sunsets overlooking the sea and historic Willemstad. Dine, dance and enjoy the very best of the Curacao. Feeling lucky, come test your skills in the Royal Casino, our Caribbean inspired Casino and a local favorite. Come win a fortune or have some fun playing blackjack, bingo, roulette, craps, poker or the slot machines. We look forward to your arrival in Curacao and taking great care of you at the Plaza Hotel & Casino. Come explore Curacao. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Plaza Hotel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing