We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Full Service Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Islamorada, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Full Service Hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My wife and I spent four days of total relaxation at this wonderful hotel. Our room over looked the harbor entrance and you could almost touch the many ships coming and going. Each day was started with the Plaza's full buffet breakfast, followed by a new luncheon and dinner menu that was started the day we arrived. Each afternoon we spent a little time at their "Shooters Bar" overlooking the ocean and at night we did a little gaming in their casino. The service staff were wonderful and helped us with our daily plans. We would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting to see Curacao

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    90
    58
    72
See reviews for
74
133
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonaire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Booked online, no problem. I know plaza for the good location.
Was amazed that the hotel is still in the 1960s.
Outside structural wall are showing the metal supports, broken up concrete wall exposing the inner support bars that are already rusted.
Hotel still uses old fashion key with big keychains.
Room is spacious but in a state of decay, work in progress I guess.
Arrived told them I had no hot water, they try to fix it but I didn't us hot water at all.
The safe batteries were dead told them to fix it not done.
Overall not very happy for what I paid for.
For some extra bucks could have stayed at renaissance hotel in otrabanda.

Room Tip: Check higher level for the best view of the port of punda/otrabanda
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ethuriel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

today is the last day of my vacation here in at the Plaza in Willemstad and I'm terribly sad to leave. Not only is the location ideal--- right above a potpourri of restaurants, and conveniently located right on the coast with great snorkeling and swimming-- but the plaza itself is a gem. walking into the lobby with its high ceilings, wicker fans, and koi pond is walking into an authentic Caribbean experience. the staff is friendly and attentive (they remembered me day after day when I took the reasonably priced $3 shuttle to the luxe cabana beach!) and the atmosphere is friendly and casual. it is very obvious that this is not some faceless chain hotel, as the decor is unique and the ambience is genuine. we had an awesome room overlooking the hotel pool and the vast ocean-- great for spotting incoming ships and tugboats. each morning, we feasted at the delicious breakfast buffet provided by the hotel in the outdoor restaurant with the open sea breeze, and we spent several nights at happy hour at the hotel bar, shooter's. some nights there were even free films, shows, and events at this cozy little bar. when I wasn't relaxing in the comfort of
or uncovering the rich history of this historic hotel, the entire town of Willemstad was right at my fingertips. it is a short walk across the pontoon bridge to otrabanda, and we even rented mopeds one day to take our trip a little further. overall, this was by far the best vacation I've had. I was treated with the utmost kindness by the personable staff of the hotel and received a+ service. with its great location and accessibility, nothing worthwhile was out of reach. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking an authentic, personal experience at this historic, local establishment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellenekeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

For such a central location, the Plaza Hotel is really disappointing. The hotel could use some attention to detail, if they are going to charge $150/night. I've stayed at much better hotels for half that price. Here's what you'll get, based on my experience:
Moldy ceiling tiles (seriously, these are easy to replace. Why are there so many moldy tiles in the ceiling?)
Strange winged ants crawling out of the space between the grout and the bathtub, by the dozens. I killed about twenty of them before they stopped crawling out. That's not to mention the smaller sugar ants that came later. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention the unidentified bugs that infested the dresser.
Cheap, 20-inch analog TV. Do they realize that most of the world has switched to HD well over 4 years ago? Not only is it analog, but it's impossibly tiny to see from your bed, as it's hung near the ceiling in the corner of the room.
No toiletries, save for tiny soaps.
Stained sheets. Ours had pink nail polish stains. Who knows what else you might get?
Indifferent service: How much time talking to your friends are you going to spend before you realize that customers are waiting for you, reception lady?
Skip this place.
I would recommend skipping Curacao altogether, but that's another review.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I spent 3 great weeks at Royal Plaza in may 2012. Planning to return soon. The place is beautiful, the best restaurants and staff is exceptional. My room had a great ocean view and scuba diving right there at the arches. Best shore dived at the hotel. My stay was fun filled days and live music at night. I love this place! !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliesManateeStore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The Plaza was a great place to stay for the three weeks that I was in Curacao. The staff are friendly and willing to help at all times. It is clean and tidy. The pool area is great, with free cinema night every Wednesday showing comtemporary film, free of charge.
My room was spacious with en suite jacuzzi and air conditioning. The hotel is central to Willemstad and is an easy, short walk to the shops.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the pool as most come with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louisb1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Even when they were not actually working. I was sitting next to the Sales and Marketing Manager, Monica, on the flight from Miami. She explained a lot to me about the island. (BTW, I would rather sit next to her chatty daughter Isabelle, rather than a screaming child any day). I think she may have gotten me an upgrade, as I was staying on the 14th floor overlooking the sea, if so, thank you. Michael the F&B Supervisor was also very helpful in explaining the hotel and local attractions. I was first worried after I saw other reviews on here. I experienced none of those horrors. The rooms and common areas were very clean and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was a delight (except the bacon, too crispy for my tastes) and reasonably priced. However, with the exception of Friday night, there is no nightlife. For a hotel that was 80% full, I hardly saw anyone at the bars or pool area. If you are traveling with kids, this is not the place to stay. The only ammenity for kids is the pool, otherwise you need to look outside the hotel for activities to entertain the little ones. Overall, I had a very relaxing vacation. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
0.5 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Curacao

Property: Plaza Hotel Curacao
Address: Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini - Welkom - Welcome. The Plaza Hotel & Casino is Curacao’s most recognized hotel and a favorite vacation destination for generations of world travelers. Discover our stunning oceanfront location, breath taking views and gracious Caribbean hospitality. Built atop the historic Waterford Forte, a 1700's stronghold; the Plaza Hotel Curacao stands as the gateway to the Willemstad's shops, open air markets and local culture. Whether your visit to Curacao is for a relaxing family vacation, a romantic getaway, a destination wedding or you’re here on business, you will love our convenient location and modern comforts. And with free WIFI, a fitness center and almost a dozen great restaurants and lounges on site, there’s something for everyone to enjoy! The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino is close to Hato International Airport, major corporate headquarters and a few steps from great duty free shopping and the world famous floating Queen Emma Pedestrian Bridge. Plus, we’re only minutes from some of Curacao’s favorite family and dive beaches. Relax on our giant party deck, swim in our large pool and enjoy the vibrant sunsets overlooking the sea and historic Willemstad. Dine, dance and enjoy the very best of the Curacao. Feeling lucky, come test your skills in the Royal Casino, our Caribbean inspired Casino and a local favorite. Come win a fortune or have some fun playing blackjack, bingo, roulette, craps, poker or the slot machines. We look forward to your arrival in Curacao and taking great care of you at the Plaza Hotel & Casino. Come explore Curacao. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza Hotel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Plaza Hotel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing