We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Barbados
1 review
“Good location, but old hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent and provides a fantastic view of the harbor and the bridge. However the hotel is old and the rooms are dated. I would not stay there again unless the much needed renovations are done.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 177Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    90
    58
    72
See reviews for
74
133
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a recent 4 night stay during Carnival. We stayed in a room on the 14th floor with a balcony and separate sitting area. The bed was comfortable, there were some great views from our room. The bathroom was cleanish, but overall the room was average in cleanliness for the Caribbean. There was ample parking, and the hotel is well situated to many sites within walking distance. We didn't have meals included in our room rate, but ate breakfast at the buffet twice. At about $15 US per person, it's cheaper than breakfast at many big city hotels at home. Pool is nice, and was rarely busy, likewise there were many pool loungers. Wifi connection was so-so, but good enough to get online. If you're not an overly fussy traveler, who can do without the unnessecary ameneties offered by 5 star resorts, then don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorderCityBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed at Plaza Hotel last year. We chose it because of the location and we were not disappointed. The hotel in located near all the attractions of Willemstad and you enjoy great views of the city from the rooms. Yet, the floor we were staying at was being refurbished and there were holes in the wall and leakages everywhere, including in our bathroom where water was dripping from the ceiling. The location of the breakfast area is nice, right next to the sea; the breakfast buffet itself however was not worth the price; much of the options were gone when we arrived around 9 a.m. and the remaining food was pretty tasteless. Staff at the reception were helpful in giving tourist information and indications about hotel services; we were however not allowed to change our room to get away from the leakage in the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Have stayed here twice, and it is a great old building with an incredibly lobby that has such huge potential; however, she is dying an agonizingly slow death unless someone steps in to help. Our room was crumbling, and small; although that is simply because this is an old European-style hotel. But the state of disrepair in the room, and the entire floor we stayed on, was inexcusable. The other issue: if your room is on the street side, then the music from a nearby club on the weekend goes on forever making sleep difficult. Here is the saving grace: a very nice breakfast buffet on a beautiful terrace with the pool and incredible views of the Caribbean beyond. If you stay here, do it for the potential for old world charm, not as a five star, world-class resort.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceans-side room. If you stay over a weekend and have a street view room then you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EpiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I had a nice room with great views of the sea and harbour on the top floor, but there was no wifi working in the room, only in the lobby. The hotel is old but has nice views.
There is a small pool with a nice view too, but to go to the beach you have to take a shuttle that costs $3 and then the beach costs $3 too.
The negative points is that you are on your own. The tour desk is always unattended at any time and the staff could not care less about any request you may have. I had to chase them up to book a tour and then my tour was canceled in the middle of the night before because of not enough participants, and they would not care about that, nor help me find something else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have great views but no wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globesurfer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Positives: good location, fresh bedclothes, wi-fi works at room.
Negatives: dirty floor at the room (smbd's hairs, trash), very old furniture and doors, only 3 towels for 2 persons (double std) and all of them are dirty.
Reminds a student dormitory. But you should pay for it as for a hotel***.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZlobinDmitriy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Plaza has recently changed owners and has begun a serious renovation. The Plaza is well located in Willemstad. It shares a portion of the old fort's wall with conveniently located restaurants and a new scuba and snorkel dive center. The hotel also sports its own dining facility, swimming pool and bar and a small Casino. The hotel provides a spectacular first impression with a large art deco reception hall complete with koi pond and waterfall, multiple old style large leaf fans and marble floor. Our room was spacious, clean and well air conditioned. BUT the hotel has been retrofitted to have air conditioning and the owner is dealing with serious moisture condensation from the system. This has caused significant mildew opportunities which are under abatement. The abatement process is still in implementation, so there remain occasional areas of mildew. It also appears that the hotel has only sufficient inventory of towels and bath mats for each room and no spares. Each day the towels disappear when the room is serviced, and do not return until near the end of the day.
Most serious, however, is the hotel’s complete apathy to its customers. Throughout the full week we were there we never saw a single smile from front desk staff to anyone. Anytime there were issues with promised but not delivered service, the front desk claimed a lack of ability to reconcile and deferred to a never present manager. Our particular package was to include being picked up at the airport and delivered back at the end of our stay. We were also to have had a rental car for a day. We were never met at the airport – we had to take a cab. While we finally got reimbursed, it took all week to accomplish and we never were able to confront the absent manager. We made reservations for our car the day we arrived, but in spite of having all week to make it available, we were never able to get the car. We anticipated significant delay in returning us to the airport, so we started way in advance. We were not wrong. We were first given a voucher for cab fare but even cabs parked in front of the hotel would not honor its value. 45 minutes past our scheduled departure from the hotel, we finally got the front desk to step out to the curb with cash to pay a cab.
Published hours on dining rooms, associated services (hair salon), and travel agents bore no resemblance to reality. Even though the hotel required an additional $100 deposit, we were never able to charge anything to the room – not meals, drinks, towels.
The sole professional responder was the maintenance team. We discovered that the shower hot water control had been stripped. We got a response quickly by a team member; he assessed the problem, promised and delivered a quick return with a new valve. Later our old TV finally would not remain in synch, the same repair man returned with another old CRT TV and quickly reinstalled service, albeit a poorly aligned color picture.
My other positive experience was with the new, small diving center. Mark and staff provided personal and effective service and a gracious tour of the house reef. They also arranged transportation to local dive venues.
Arrogance, indifference and self-involvement characterized my host’s staff. It made sure we will never patronize the facility – ever!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a floor that has completed renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
#16 of 32 in Willemstad
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
E M City Hotel
E M City Hotel
#31 of 32 in Willemstad
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Curacao

Property: Plaza Hotel Curacao
Address: Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini - Welkom - Welcome. The Plaza Hotel & Casino is Curacao’s most recognized hotel and a favorite vacation destination for generations of world travelers. Discover our stunning oceanfront location, breath taking views and gracious Caribbean hospitality. Built atop the historic Waterford Forte, a 1700's stronghold; the Plaza Hotel Curacao stands as the gateway to the Willemstad's shops, open air markets and local culture. Whether your visit to Curacao is for a relaxing family vacation, a romantic getaway, a destination wedding or you’re here on business, you will love our convenient location and modern comforts. And with free WIFI, a fitness center and almost a dozen great restaurants and lounges on site, there’s something for everyone to enjoy! The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino is close to Hato International Airport, major corporate headquarters and a few steps from great duty free shopping and the world famous floating Queen Emma Pedestrian Bridge. Plus, we’re only minutes from some of Curacao’s favorite family and dive beaches. Relax on our giant party deck, swim in our large pool and enjoy the vibrant sunsets overlooking the sea and historic Willemstad. Dine, dance and enjoy the very best of the Curacao. Feeling lucky, come test your skills in the Royal Casino, our Caribbean inspired Casino and a local favorite. Come win a fortune or have some fun playing blackjack, bingo, roulette, craps, poker or the slot machines. We look forward to your arrival in Curacao and taking great care of you at the Plaza Hotel & Casino. Come explore Curacao. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Plaza Hotel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing