We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very old hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very old hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location in downtown curaçao, but is very old and needs lost of renovations. At least my room was clean, quiet and with a very good view (12th floor). Still has the old big TV's, the air conditioner works great. The bed was comfortable, but in general the room needs some renovations because Aparently the hotel is 4 stars but I think it was when it was opened. I have to called two days in a row to get a fridge on the room because I was staying for a whole week. The lobby staff should get more customer service training because they could be more polite with guests. The only reason I stayed there was because I was working there but I don't think I'd stay there with my family for vacations

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank jaimeborjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    90
    58
    72
See reviews for
74
133
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Plaza Curacao for our honeymoon after our travel agent was unable to book the hotel we wanted. The location was fantastic but the room was terrible. We requested a King bed but was given two very small and uncomfortable doubles. The room was dirty (stained bedding, stained curtains, stained towels, bathroom tub not clean, etc) the air conditioning worked but you had to keep it arctic cold so the floors would stay dry. Very slippery floors when the air was turned up (very dangerous). We were on the 12th floor and the view from the large window was superb, looking over both the sea and the city. The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful when we had questions. Good enough hotel for a night or two but definitely not a good honeymoon hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gypsynik74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We had a most enjoyable stay at the Plaza Hotel from 6 thru 13 March 2013 with my family of 6 persons (all adults).
We had the Royal Suite at the 14th floor with 3 connecting bedrooms. These bedrooms were the normal standard rooms of the hotel but are connected with (lockable) doors to the suite. Each bedroom also had its own main entrance from the main floor aisle. Despite some critical reviews on the web we decided to stay here as it really is the best spot in case you want to be at the beautiful and historic Punda center of Willemstad, not to mention the fantastic view, both on landside (spectacular view over the Anna bay, Queen Emma pontoon bridge and Queen Juliana Bridge) or seaside. There are also nice rooms facing the pool area. One should bear in mind that this is a 3-star hotel with very reasonable rates. I decided to write this article as only few people take the time to write something positive regarding a hotel experience and most of the time “only” the bad ones appear on the web……. Moreover, our experience was really good and a few “minor” problems were solved in a very quick and efficient way.
Good internet reception (wifi free of charge) at main lobby and pool area. We stayed on the 14th floor that also had a good wifi connection to the internet.

Rooms:
Yes, the furniture can be a little “dated”, but the rooms are clean and were cleaned every day to our full satisfaction. All beds have been renewed recently (box spring) and offer a very comfortable sleep with clean and crispy sheets.
Yes, the only bathroom amenities offered are small pieces of soap (good quality) next to nice white towels. No huge towels, but sufficient for the purposes needed and this is only normal for a 3star hotel.
Only the first day we had one large and one small towel per person; but after consulting the room maid and a small token of appreciation of 10,- Curacao guilders (US$ 6 / Euro 4,40) per room, we had double large towels every day. In my opinion one should always give a tip at the beginning of your stay. It is very much appreciated and you will certainly have benefits for the rest of your stay……

Services:
In general we have experienced very friendly and helpful staff. We had our 91 year old mother with us and forgot to ask the hotel in advance for some extra facilities like a toilet seat raiser with armrests and a rubber anti slip mat for the shower cabin. After our request this was arranged within one day at no extra charge! And yes, sometimes service can be a bit slower than 4/5 star hotels; but since there is no air conditioning in the main lobby/reception one should bear in mind that the tropical climate of the island doesn’t allow you to move fast constantly. (However, the main lobby and reception are connected with the “open air” and have sort of fans at the ceilings that offer some cooling). I think that everyone that stays at Curaçao or any tropical country will admit that one should not move/walk fast to avoid losing too much energy and get tired unnecessary. So don’t expect flying and running staff all the time, or just stay in a 4 or 5 star hotel with air conditioned reception/lobby but pay far way more…..
But again, the staff is very friendly, helpful and will always try to service you the best way. Don’t talk too fast; bear in mind that English or Dutch is NOT the mother tongue of most of the staff. They all speak Spanish fluently and of course the local language Papiamentu. They understand and speak good English and Dutch but you will notice that it will be much appreciated in case you don’t speak very fast. The result is always service with a smile! I witnessed a couple complaining about their room location and the staff swiftly moved them to another room (they could inspect it in advance), and it was solved…. The hotel offers a complimentary service of good beach-towels for all guests. There is a regular mini-bus service to the beach (reasonable price) but you can also relax at the nice pool area of the hotel. Bar prices are really reasonable and during the daily “Happy Hours” extremely cheap!

Problems:
We had 2 minor problems, one time I blew a main fuse (safety precaution) as I connected two electric water kettles to the same wall socket with two connections. One morning we didn’t have hot water. Both were solved within very short timeframe after reporting to the reception.

Conclusion
Just for the records: I am a frequent visitor to Curaçao and have stayed in the luxury 4/5 star hotels like the Kura Hulanda, Hilton, Marriott, Kontiki Beach etc. They were all good, and were chosen for particular reasons like location (beach), available business center, particular business purposes, small grandchildren etc. However, if you would like to stay in a pleasant and good hotel at the center of Willemstad for a reasonable price, I would choose for the Plaza Hotel again. I can recommend anyone to do the same but bear in my mind that this is a 3star hotel. Clean rooms, good beds, friendly service at a very reasonable price! And in the event you have a complaint……..just report it to the main desk and you will notice that they will take it serious and will do their utmost to solve it.

The Hague, The Netherlands. March 2013. Huibert Th. Boreel

Room Tip: Depending on your preference: land/annabay side gives spectacular view over the Anna bay incl. the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Huibert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockholm
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Perfect location right behind Handelsgaat but the whole place smelled of mold and looked like it was built in the seventies and never renovated since. Some of the staff at the front desk was helpful but others new nothing about Curacao and they were all insanely slow. We could stand and wait for towels for 20 min at times. Nice pool area though! Safe and clean (except for mold) and huuge beds, plus amazing view of the ocean through a huge window! Although our cleaning lady forgot to close our door one day.. Breakfast is not included. But you really can't live anymore central. I guess it was ok if your not too too picky.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kletusdenvite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

In a nutshell...they lost our reservation and were ready to put us on the street at 10pm at night. The lady at the front desk simply did not care and was plain rude. After much discussion they managed to find us a disgusting room to stay in. The floors were dirty and sandy, bathroom old, gross, and rusty. Windows filthy. Beds totally uncomfortable. I got totally sick from something or other there. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I have never experienced a worse customer service before. The rooms are old. Shampoo and conditioner are not provided. The hotel is far from all beaches. The closest one is Mambo. They have a shuttle that returns at 5:15 the latest. I would not re commend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralunicoleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Your typical old hotel gone a bit stale. That said, we could see with our own eyes every day that there were carpenters, electricians and others working on improving a large number of rooms along our hallway, so things may be improving.

What COULD be fixed immediately is the service level at the hotel. No one working there seems to know how to smile, and when you show up at the reception, the big woman sitting on the chair there had better not be alone, because she will not voluntarily get up and be of any use to you.

The pool is fine and there are great views from several spots on top of the old brick wall that the hotel is built into.

There's no airport shuttle, and if you ask the reception, they will say that a taxi to the airport is 30 dollars. You can save some money by walking across the bridge from Punda to Otrabanda and then get a taxi, as the distance is much shorter from that side, and it's a short walk as well. OR you can get on a normal bus from the nearby market in Punda, or from the bus terminal in Otrabanda, also nearby. It should cost just a couple of dollars per person.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaside room, as the views of the ocean and the ships passing are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uspn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.2 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 33 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 33 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#11 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Curacao

Property: Plaza Hotel Curacao
Address: Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini - Welkom - Welcome. The Plaza Hotel & Casino is Curacao’s most recognized hotel and a favorite vacation destination for generations of world travelers. Discover our stunning oceanfront location, breath taking views and gracious Caribbean hospitality. Built atop the historic Waterford Forte, a 1700's stronghold; the Plaza Hotel Curacao stands as the gateway to the Willemstad's shops, open air markets and local culture. Whether your visit to Curacao is for a relaxing family vacation, a romantic getaway, a destination wedding or you’re here on business, you will love our convenient location and modern comforts. And with free WIFI, a fitness center and almost a dozen great restaurants and lounges on site, there’s something for everyone to enjoy! The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino is close to Hato International Airport, major corporate headquarters and a few steps from great duty free shopping and the world famous floating Queen Emma Pedestrian Bridge. Plus, we’re only minutes from some of Curacao’s favorite family and dive beaches. Relax on our giant party deck, swim in our large pool and enjoy the vibrant sunsets overlooking the sea and historic Willemstad. Dine, dance and enjoy the very best of the Curacao. Feeling lucky, come test your skills in the Royal Casino, our Caribbean inspired Casino and a local favorite. Come win a fortune or have some fun playing blackjack, bingo, roulette, craps, poker or the slot machines. We look forward to your arrival in Curacao and taking great care of you at the Plaza Hotel & Casino. Come explore Curacao. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Plaza Hotel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing