We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Plaza Hotel is located in a beautiful spot on the island. Everything you need is in walking distance, which isn't a struggle because of the scenery. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are slightly outdated, but clean. The restaurant is delicious, but that doesn't make up for the old structure of the building. Although, you can tell that they are trying to update the building. Renovations take time, and they have begun to do some. The staff expresses great hospitality, and the owners are great, you can tell they want their guests to enjoy their time in Curacao.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

I read all the reviews before I booked my vacation and was pretty nervous before I arrived. I have to say it was the BEST vacation I have ever had. I have never stayed at a hotel with a better view and it is located in the best part of the island. Oh and did I mention the packages they offer are the best you will find with any hotel! I was nervous when I came, but I have already booked my trip to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Plaza is situated in what has to be the best place on the Island. The views are stunning and everything you need is only minutes away on foot. Whilst it is in the heart of Willemstadt on the coast adjacent to the harbour entrance it also quiet and peaceful. You miss nothing when staying here. The sight of Cruise Ships entering and leaving is a regular amazing experience. Built in the 1950's the design is quite "colonial' with the appropriate character and the entrance and foyer are both beautiful and reminiscent of those years - that said it still has a current appearance. The rooms are very comfortable with King Sized beds, spacious bathrooms and very good air conditioning. Maid service is excellent. The pool and bar areas are most pleasant with weekly outdoor movies and entertainment on weekends. The Dining areas are as nice as I have seen and although we were board only, the occasional breakfast and evening meal that we took there were extremely good. There is an adequately stocked shop in the foyer, cash facilities, manned tourist information and free, fast wifi accessible throughout most of the hotel. The Hotels Casino within the premises is lively most nights of the week with plenty of scope to decide how to speculate and hopefully win. The Casino also contains a self contained Sports Bar. We stayed at the Plaza for two weeks on this occasion and have done previously. We had a lovely time, the staff were most pleasant, the owners who live on site were friendly and informal but attentive. The Plaza is good value and most definitely helped make our holiday one of the best.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

A little out dated but clean. Beds are huge and very comfortable. Breakfast is complete, a personal chef to prepare your ommelette is a treat. Friendly staff. Fitness room is old fashioned, better go to BodyBeach next to Lions Dive. Entree of the hotel is huge, with grandeur.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank TessaVeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Besides this hotel being super outdated, it lacks mayor maintenance. Everything is old and/or broken in this place. I had a queen bed that had a crater in it, I could not roll off even if I tried. And it cracked and squeaked with the slightest movement. The bathroom is plain dangerous. Super slippery tiles and water that gets super hot in milliseconds either random or when you flush the toilet. Besides the rooms, the hallways give you a sense of getting robbed any minute. The hallway ceiling looks so bad with filthy stains, rotten foam tiles and the feeling that the entire construction might drop down. Windows in both rooms and hallways have never seem to be cleaned. The exterior of the building shows rebar sticking out on almost all parts of the building. Paint is filthy and peeling off. Absolutely the worst place I have ever stayed in. For that matter, Curacao is not the place to go. The area surrounding the hotel is the center of the capitol and the hot spot of it all. And there you have homeless people almost harassing you for money. First and last time Curacao. What a DUMP, both hotel and the island. The single dot I gave is for the view I guess...

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. Period... Besides the ocean view and the location being down town, the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank don_macaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Keep it short. No hot water supply in the room. Bad air quality in the room. Poor poor poor poor poor poor service I will not stay here again.
No no no no no no no no no no no no no no no mo no no no no no more!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Black mold on the roof tiles. Yes, that is the dangerous type of mold.

Leaking A/C and a smelly bathroom. Furniture that hasn't been updated since the eighties. No internet.

Staff is friendly though.

Overall, the hotel is cheap and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChocoMuffin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao
0.3 mi away
E M City Hotel
E M City Hotel
#31 of 32 in Willemstad
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Curacao

Address: Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: £51 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini - Welkom - Welcome. The Plaza Hotel & Casino is Curacao’s most recognized hotel and a favorite vacation destination for generations of world travelers. Discover our stunning oceanfront location, breath taking views and gracious Caribbean hospitality. Built atop the historic Waterford Forte, a 1700's stronghold; the Plaza Hotel Curacao stands as the gateway to the Willemstad's shops, open air markets and local culture. Whether your visit to Curacao is for a relaxing family vacation, a romantic getaway, a destination wedding or you’re here on business, you will love our convenient location and modern comforts. And with free WIFI, a fitness center and almost a dozen great restaurants and lounges on site, there’s something for everyone to enjoy! The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino is close to Hato International Airport, major corporate headquarters and a few steps from great duty free shopping and the world famous floating Queen Emma Pedestrian Bridge. Plus, we’re only minutes from some of Curacao’s favorite family and dive beaches. Relax on our giant party deck, swim in our large pool and enjoy the vibrant sunsets overlooking the sea and historic Willemstad. Dine, dance and enjoy the very best of the Curacao. Feeling lucky, come test your skills in the Royal Casino, our Caribbean inspired Casino and a local favorite. Come win a fortune or have some fun playing blackjack, bingo, roulette, craps, poker or the slot machines. We look forward to your arrival in Curacao and taking great care of you at the Plaza Hotel & Casino. Come explore Curacao. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Plaza Hotel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing