We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of Amsterdam in the Caribean..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel Curacao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Willemstad
Florida
1 review
“A piece of Amsterdam in the Caribean..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

A vacation in the Caribean was due and my wife and I decided to visit Plaza Hotel. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we felt the Dutcht Caribean architectural beauty on the island and the historical buildings with their pastel colors. Our room was a junior suite with balcony overlooking to the Atlantic and the other side of the city called Otrobanda. My wife thought she was seing things went she thought the bridge was moving but it was moving because it was a floating bridge that would open up to let the ships go by and it would later close for people to commute. The location was prime, the best, close to restaurants, museums and shops. There is a free shuttle service for hotel guest that took us to the beach and back and it's constantly running. The breakfast is a must have, a full breakfast with a great variety of juices. The staff was attentive and willing to exceed expectations. For those who would like to try their luck , the hotel runs its own casino. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lomoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    90
    58
    72
See reviews for
74
133
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed here on Aug. 15-17, 2009. I'm sure it used to be a grand hotel, the best here, back in the day. It's still a great location and the front desk was pretty helpful on questions. I didn't have any problems with checkout or payment. The rooms are clean, just old. We had a deluxe room with a balcony and were on the 11th floor with a nice ocean view. It was luxury compared to other places we had stayed the other 7 nights of our trip so we were happy. Aug. is low season and there weren't many people there, hence I got a super deal for $90 US/night on travelocity.com. It was way higher on the hotel website.

Things like this were in need of repair:
- pool needed to be resurfaced
-drapes dirty, like had been flooded
-dirt on the ceiling (probably same problem as above)
-saggy, soft mattresses and old bedspreads
-wood shabby on the way to the pool

You can't beat the location and it was fun to watch big boats go right by us and through the passage with the pontoon bridge opening. It was a safe location as well, and walking distance to lots of things.

I recommend this hotel, but don't think it will be like a new clean American Marriott, Holiday Inn, or Hilton. It's grand and spacious, but old.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gringatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

Plaza Hotel Curacao is in the perfect spot to enjoy the best of Curacao. We found the staff to be really nice, friendly, and welcoming but not too overbearing either. The rooms have a great view but could use a bit updating. However, Curacao is sooo bueatiful and Plaza Hotel Curacao is so centrally located, we spent a lot of time enjoying the city and the staff was really helpful with giving us recommendations and guidance.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

The hotel is in very poor shape.
We were lucky the balcony didn't fall down with us.
Everything is old and worn. No information in room about what so ever.
Nice location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller0063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Bonaire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed in the Plaza hotel at the end of July 2009. We live in Bonaire but we traveling from Panama and had to stay in Curacao for our transit the next day. We come often in Curacao for work as well as for leisure. We arrived on a friday night and the rude counter employee told us that the standard rooms were all booked. I was surprised because a few hours before I checked the internet (website plaza hotel) and there were a lot of rooms available (standard). The employee responded irritated and told us that we should have booked when looking at the website. very rude and macho behaviour. He told us that only the expensive rooms were available. So we had to take one because it was already 02.00 AM. The overall service in the hotel is bad. And today again, a friend of mine called the hotel, spoke in English and again the hotel told that the standard rooms were occupied. Impossible, it is low season. I know from experience that when you talk papiamentu (local language), the hotel will give you a standard room for the local rate. They just want to make money during the low season. You are warned.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FritsBonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

I had no idea where i was going, the plane touched down in waht seemed to look like the carib, got to williamstead and i felt like i was in europe. Got to the hotel . The Plaza Hotel , and i was dropped at heavens door. The temptations began. From the hot parties, in the hotel , to great staff, and a whole lot of food. Dropped off bags , and took a beach tour, i have never drank so much in all my life on a boat , i visited 5 beaches in about 7 hours, it was amazing. Anyone travelling alone, its true what they say, never bring sand to the beach , and i mean curacao has it by the tons. I was told the hotel was under new owner ship/management. I must say they are doing a great job, satff was polite, and punctual. food was good, and the island vibe was really good.
neil

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kybamiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay Village
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

This hotel is great! It is on walking distance to everything. The view from the room is spactacular and they recently upgraded several areas of the hotel including the room I was in. Nice linens and comfortable bed. Very clean. I was told there is new management. One can see and feel something is happening here. The breakfast was great and included in my rate. I could order any style of eggs and the buffet was huge. There is free internet access throughout the public areas. That was great. We took the free shuttle to the beach and had a good time. The waters overthere are fantastic. We had a good time and will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.2 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 33 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 33 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#11 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#2 of 33 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Curacao

Property: Plaza Hotel Curacao
Address: Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini - Welkom - Welcome. The Plaza Hotel & Casino is Curacao’s most recognized hotel and a favorite vacation destination for generations of world travelers. Discover our stunning oceanfront location, breath taking views and gracious Caribbean hospitality. Built atop the historic Waterford Forte, a 1700's stronghold; the Plaza Hotel Curacao stands as the gateway to the Willemstad's shops, open air markets and local culture. Whether your visit to Curacao is for a relaxing family vacation, a romantic getaway, a destination wedding or you’re here on business, you will love our convenient location and modern comforts. And with free WIFI, a fitness center and almost a dozen great restaurants and lounges on site, there’s something for everyone to enjoy! The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino is close to Hato International Airport, major corporate headquarters and a few steps from great duty free shopping and the world famous floating Queen Emma Pedestrian Bridge. Plus, we’re only minutes from some of Curacao’s favorite family and dive beaches. Relax on our giant party deck, swim in our large pool and enjoy the vibrant sunsets overlooking the sea and historic Willemstad. Dine, dance and enjoy the very best of the Curacao. Feeling lucky, come test your skills in the Royal Casino, our Caribbean inspired Casino and a local favorite. Come win a fortune or have some fun playing blackjack, bingo, roulette, craps, poker or the slot machines. We look forward to your arrival in Curacao and taking great care of you at the Plaza Hotel & Casino. Come explore Curacao. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Plaza Hotel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Plaza Hotel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing