We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location fantastic,pleanty of entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Paramaribo, Suriname
2 reviews
“location fantastic,pleanty of entertainment”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Travelling a lot on buisness,i found the location of plaza hotel fantastic central smack bang in the heart of the small city
on entering the foyer to the hotel (which is magnificant with its large fish pond tiled floors and welcoming staff) there were pleanty of tours that are organised plus a car hire desk
i spent most of my time on the internet by the pool,sipping cocktails and taking in the breathtaking view of the ocean and the cruise liners sailing by i did not have to go far at night as there is a casino on the premises
the hotel had 15 resteraunts attached in this historical fort overlooking curacao with venezuela in the background next time i plan to take my family and if my boyfriend accepts i will propose and have my wedding at plaza

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balbaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelCuracao, General Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear Balbaki,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you had a good time.
It would be our honor if you would have your wedding at our hotel.
We look forward to meet you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    90
    58
    72
See reviews for
74
133
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urk, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We went to this hotel for 4 weeks. We were on the twelfth floor and enjoyed a great view of the sea, the entrance to the harbor and the rest of the island.
During our stay we were treated well by the personel.
The pool was delightful, the rooms were big and the beds were nice and clean.
Overall we had a very pleasent stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamvanUrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelCuracao, General Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear FamvanUrk,

Thank you for your kind review!
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We spend one night at the Plaza Hotel. We checked in late in the evening. When we arrived in the room we were really shocked. We are traveling a lot and this is really one of the worse hotel rooms ever. Because we traveled the whole day an were tired, we decided not to complain. We'll never go back to the Plaza...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard7163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelCuracao, General Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 11 June 2010
Dear Richard 7163

We are trully sorry you where assigned a room that was below the standards. We are well underway with renovating all our rooms in the mean time we took our non finished rooms out of inventory.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future and host you in one of our deluxe ocean view rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2010

i would like to thank this hotel for his good service!!! I was today at the waterfort restaurant for a holy party of catherine batista!! it was verry good!! food was verry delisios!! drink were runn at the time!! I wanna thank the waiterss for they good service, always helping and the important thing always smiling !! i ask if i can see the penthouse and they let my see imadiatly !!! the supervisor was verry gentle and ask us every time if always was ok!! thank you nohaima i thing was her name!! i apriciate it !! we all !! thank you plaza hotel Curacao!! this was my best service in my live!!!
Nataly Dos Santos

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naty2569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelCuracao, General Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 14 May 2010
Dear Naty2569,
We are glad you had a great special event at The Plaza Hotel Curacao!
It is great to hear that the service was good and everything happened in a timely manner.
We appreciate your positive feedback. It motivates us to do even better.
We hope to see you soon again at The Plaza Hotel Curacao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

First let me say I am a very picky person when it comes to hotels but I must say this hotel was much better then I expected from the reviews. This hotel is right in the middle of the shopping areas where everyone wants to come. They have many trips to choose from to explore the island...we took Peter's Tour and our tour guide was the best. Our room was right on the water and the view of the Elizabeth bridge watching it open and close was amazing. The casino in the hotel was one of the best on island because it seems like their is a casino every block there. The food was excellent with a friendly staff who always smiled. The front desk associates were always helpful with everything we needed from exchanging money to giving us more towels.

While I was there I also proposed on the bridge by the hotel and of course she said yes! She just kept saying what more can I ask for! I was also there to view the facility for some the groups that I handle for going overseas. Did not get to meet the sales manager since I could access my email. But I pretty much got the ideal of the place and I am definitely going to recommend this hotel to many of my upcoming groups.

Pros:
Very friendly staff, great location, great food. Exotic elevator. Walking distance to shopping and many great landscapes. Weather was always beautiful. Quick maintenance work (water was only out for half a day, which is good considering the massive leak).

Cons:
Mosquitoes, Mosquitoes, Mosquitoes! Swimming pool needs a touch up. More options for dinner. And Mosquitoes...but they do spray weekly!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lets_Travel_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelCuracao, General Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear Letstravel4Ever,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
First of all congratulations with your engagement. We are honored that you proposed while staying with us.
We look forward to host your future groups at our property and hope to welcome you back sometime in the future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Terrible hotel! I'm in the hotel at the moment (511) and hj are without water all day ... went to beach and returned and we are still without water. We want to take a shower to go out and not possible! Problem is in the hotel, cause the rest of the city has water. Not found the manager to complain. The room is bad. I will never return!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simbario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelCuracao, General Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 11 May 2010
Dear Simbario,

I understand your frustration that resulted in writing this review while dealing with the water situation at the hotel. It is never nice to come back to your hotel after a day at the beach not being able to take a nice shower right away. We needed to do emergency repairs to the main water line and informed all our guests the moment it occurred. Our engineering team worked as fast as they could to remedy the problem and they finished the job during the early evening hours. Management was on hand to communicate the status of the project to our guests. I have personally spoken to several of our guests that day to keep them posted and offered alternatives and compensation for the inconvenience. It is unfortunate we did not have the opportunity to meet you in person that day. In the mean time we are back to hosting many happy guests at the hotel. Hope to see you back one day and we will take good care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We recently celebrated the most special day of our lives at the Plaza Hotel - our wedding day. After visiting several locations on the island, there was no other location that could top the Penthouse of this hotel! The impressive view on the city, especially by night, there could not have been a better decoration to our party! Mauritz Mathilda, the Banqueting Coordinator, went out of his way to help us plan everything since the very first time we met him. He was there all the way with us and made sure nothing was forgotten. We even got a free room and breakfast, which was a complete surprise! Our wedding was unforgettable and I can sincerely recommend the Plaza Hotel, also for its banqueting services!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyveke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelCuracao, General Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 14 May 2010
Dear Dyveke,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
I am glad we could help in making your wedding unforgettable.
We appreciate the recommendations.
The penthouse is indeed a very special place for parties and special events such as yours.
We hope to welcome you back sometime soon to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
E M City Hotel
E M City Hotel
#31 of 32 in Willemstad
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Curacao

Property: Plaza Hotel Curacao
Address: Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini - Welkom - Welcome. The Plaza Hotel & Casino is Curacao’s most recognized hotel and a favorite vacation destination for generations of world travelers. Discover our stunning oceanfront location, breath taking views and gracious Caribbean hospitality. Built atop the historic Waterford Forte, a 1700's stronghold; the Plaza Hotel Curacao stands as the gateway to the Willemstad's shops, open air markets and local culture. Whether your visit to Curacao is for a relaxing family vacation, a romantic getaway, a destination wedding or you’re here on business, you will love our convenient location and modern comforts. And with free WIFI, a fitness center and almost a dozen great restaurants and lounges on site, there’s something for everyone to enjoy! The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino is close to Hato International Airport, major corporate headquarters and a few steps from great duty free shopping and the world famous floating Queen Emma Pedestrian Bridge. Plus, we’re only minutes from some of Curacao’s favorite family and dive beaches. Relax on our giant party deck, swim in our large pool and enjoy the vibrant sunsets overlooking the sea and historic Willemstad. Dine, dance and enjoy the very best of the Curacao. Feeling lucky, come test your skills in the Royal Casino, our Caribbean inspired Casino and a local favorite. Come win a fortune or have some fun playing blackjack, bingo, roulette, craps, poker or the slot machines. We look forward to your arrival in Curacao and taking great care of you at the Plaza Hotel & Casino. Come explore Curacao. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Hotel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Plaza Hotel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing