We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We arrived at the Plaza Hotel at around 10:30pm after traveling for a many many hours. First they told us they did not have our reservation. We had our copy of the reservation and confirmation code. They said that they didn't see us in the system at all. The lady helping us seemed ready to simply turn us away. Luckily she referred to the front desk manager and she accommodated us by putting us in a room they "normally do not give to guests." At this point we were happy to not be put out on the street. The room was very basic and I assumed it just hadn't been remodeled. We were not very happy, but figured we didn't go to Curacao to hang out in our hotel room. We had also been told to return to the front desk at Noon the next day and they would move us to a new room. We returned at Noon after sharing a very uncomfortable bed (they said they would bring another bed to our room, but did not). Once at the front desk, they told us to return at 2pm! We had plans and told them so. So they managed to find us another room at that time. To our disappointment it looked exactly they same, plus one bed and some different tile in the bathroom. Let's get to the details: The tile floors were dirty and gritty and literally made the bottom of our feet dirty; there was black mold throughout the shower;rusty pipes made for yellowish shower water; broken bathroom door would not close; paint falling off the bathroom door; vomit or something...all over the toilet bowl (which I asked to be cleaned but it was not until the following day); zero blankets in the room; rough sheets; horrible television reception; no instructions for use of the phone and "0" did not get to the front desk; the ice bucket was full of water from the last guests; the drinking glasses were covered in paint? splatter; the pool is tiny; very slow service all around-island time is no joke. The only positive was the helpful older gentlemen at the bell desk.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacific27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    84
    90
    58
    72
See reviews for
74
133
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noord, Aruba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

we arrived to the hotel on a Friday 3th of September at 8pm, we were late for the jazz concert,.my mother and I make the line that took around 15 minutes , the lady didn't even look at us,you can miss her, she have this long,curvy, green fake nails, with a particular ugly, green rose ring.
her colleague was busy in the phone, he look at us, because we had this face like, 'come on, hurry', she start to help some one else, that wasn't in the line.
he finish the phone call, i gave him the paper of the reservation, and ID`s then when i sign for the room, i check in, he said; "we were so busy the whole day, we don`t have a room for you'
my mom freak out, the concert ready start , her favorite artist was performing, and there we are, in the hotel, with a lousy service.
i ask the guy how long we have to wait, he said could be 30 minutes or more, he doesn't know.
i told him, we are in a hurry because the concert start and we need the room, we wanted to change outfits,refresh our selfs,the guy look at me like, what are you taking about? i said, the sea north Caribbean jazz festival! he didn't have a clue, i mean it is the busiest weekend they gonna have in the following weeks and he doesn't know?. my mother walk away , she was furious, i follow her, because the guy didn't help much,, we went outside to get a taxi, no taxi service, instead a weird guy approach to us asking how much we gonna offer him to bring us whatever we want to go.
so i went inside again, asking for a taxi, then a lady that looks, a manager arrived, i said, look it is my mother birthday, we gonna be here just for a few hour, we had the flight 7am, i mean, i paid for this 2 weeks ago, how is possible they didn't have a room?
the taxi arrived, we had lot of fun in the concert, in the end it was up to us to make the rest of the night better.
in the end, concert finish 2am, we finally got a taxi 3am, we had to be in the airport 4.30am so i slept in the floor in the airport, my mother just seat there until the airline people arrived.
i pay in advance, the travel agency had a confirmation of my reservation, plus they didn't know about the biggest event they ever had on that island, come on!!!! that place sucks,, big time

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stoute_princesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Manchester, England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

This hotel has a great, central location within easy reach of all the nearby amenities such as shops and bars and is far enough away from the town centre to have a peaceful nights sleep. The room was adequate and had everything that I needed including a great view. The casino was a pleasure to visit and I didn't lose too much money! Some of the reviews are quite scathing but some are good. I would pitch in between.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringpull16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Classic, cozy, and center of all there is in Curacao.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank burksag28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level Contributor
200 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

What was supposed to be a three nights dream's stay in Curacao was in fact a very very bad experience and definitely the worst stay at a four stars hotel in the whole Caribbean region, for me who has been travelling for over 25 years in this area of the world it was certainly the most unpleasant stay of all.... Comming from Aruba 's Westin four stars hotel with all commodities one can expect from such a category of hotel our stay at the Plaza Curacao was the total opposite, the dark side of our vacation....
When the taxi drops you in front of the steps of the hotel there are nobody day or night, no security , no bell man, no concierge but the four stars are on the carpet as you enter the lobby, then the reception is almost in the dark at the end of a vast all which was probably awesome in the late fifties when this hotel was inaugurated ..... Only one person at the checkin, no greetings, no welcome , just a polite " your passeport please ! " Twenty minutes for checking in and we were only the two of us at the counter, the man was also dealing with reservations by telephone , a second person came to finish what he had started, very unpleasant lady... I don't know why ... Since the hotel has 14 storeys we asked to be up in the floors , the hotel not being very full we got a room on the 8th floor only ( ? ) Yes the view was indeed there... but because the windows you cannot opened had not been clean for i supposed several months one could not see much of the fantastic view this hotel has to offer being right above Fort Amsterdam and the wonderful roofs of the UNESCO world heritage site that is Willemstad, the main reason of our visit and choice of hotel.....
The room is very small, occupied by two king size beds so no one can move around, a very small cupboard, no fridge, the bath room has no amenities and probably not been repainted or modified since the hotel opening, some days you get four towels the next only two and no bath carpet ( ? ) No ice machine in the whole hotel, on any of the 14 floors so you have to go to the restaurant during opening hours only to get some ice, there only one waiter, very busy, not paying attention to you will make you wait from 10 to 15 minutes and will give you ice without a sign or a talk.... I will not mentionned the poole, water unclean, old and tired environment , a fee of 25USD for renting a beach towel ( !!! ) avoid the restaurant , unless you have a few hours to spend to eat a simple very basic sandwich for 12USD ! The service is absolutely NON EXISTANT in this hotel at every level, you see no one , no front desk manager, no housekeeper, no concierge, no security guards days or nights..... The check out took us 25 minutes, just because we wanted to pay with two separate credit cards ........ A very, very big disapointment ! this hotel could be fantastic , it would need to be closed down and taken over by a big brand ... has it is become a wreck which is very sad, and not a positive image for Curacao being the main inner city hotel... Dommage !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 75014PARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

The staff were unfriendly. Poor security system. Limited choice of food. I hated the bathroom. Great location, i had a magnificent island view.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami, fl
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We had our baby son with us. $179.00 per night.
For what you pay, the service on ALL levels really sucks. We know that Curacao in general is not all that customer orientated, but we thought that maybe in the hotel/tourist industry, it would be better.
Firstly, on enquiring days before we arrived about the possibility of having a crib in the room, we were told it would be done.......it wasn't until the 2nd day after much debating by front desk staff as to whether it was something they offered or not.
The food, well, if you like your steak boiled in water then placed on you plate, ....bon appetit.
The room floor was so dirty, even after maid service, that we ended up with dirty feet if we walked barefoot in the room.
The coffee/tea in the room, well, no creamer, and then from the second day onwards....they never bothered to replace the sugar or the coffee either.
We went to the restaurant lunch time, (13h45) & there were 4 people dining at 2 tables. We asked for burgers to be brought to the room and were told that they were too busy to bring them to the room. When i asked how they could be busy with 4 patrons dining, they said they were setting up for dinner.
The TV....disgraceful, the few channels that there were, som ehad the Dish Network screensaver during the night, others had home shopping instead of the channels listed. The channel list was not up to date, and the picture quality is terrible.
My impression of this hotel.........it has a great location.....it probably used to be a great hotel...but all it has now is the location. Such a pity.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veesxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaHotelCuracao, General Manager at Plaza Hotel Curacao, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
Dear Feesxm,

Thank you for your feedback.
The comments made will be taken seriously as we can learn from them.
We hope when you return to the Island someday that you will reach out to me personally so that I can show you that we can do a lot better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
0.5 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Curacao

Property: Plaza Hotel Curacao
Address: Plaza Pair, Willemstad, Curacao
Region: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini - Welkom - Welcome. The Plaza Hotel & Casino is Curacao’s most recognized hotel and a favorite vacation destination for generations of world travelers. Discover our stunning oceanfront location, breath taking views and gracious Caribbean hospitality. Built atop the historic Waterford Forte, a 1700's stronghold; the Plaza Hotel Curacao stands as the gateway to the Willemstad's shops, open air markets and local culture. Whether your visit to Curacao is for a relaxing family vacation, a romantic getaway, a destination wedding or you’re here on business, you will love our convenient location and modern comforts. And with free WIFI, a fitness center and almost a dozen great restaurants and lounges on site, there’s something for everyone to enjoy! The Curacao Plaza Hotel & Casino is close to Hato International Airport, major corporate headquarters and a few steps from great duty free shopping and the world famous floating Queen Emma Pedestrian Bridge. Plus, we’re only minutes from some of Curacao’s favorite family and dive beaches. Relax on our giant party deck, swim in our large pool and enjoy the vibrant sunsets overlooking the sea and historic Willemstad. Dine, dance and enjoy the very best of the Curacao. Feeling lucky, come test your skills in the Royal Casino, our Caribbean inspired Casino and a local favorite. Come win a fortune or have some fun playing blackjack, bingo, roulette, craps, poker or the slot machines. We look forward to your arrival in Curacao and taking great care of you at the Plaza Hotel & Casino. Come explore Curacao. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Plaza Hotel Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing